We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Matfen Hall

TripAdvisorUS$146*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$155*
US$146*
Great Deal
US$150*
US$155*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Matfen Hall
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,485 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,482: English reviews
Start your review of Matfen Hall
 Click to rate
Aberdeen, Scotland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 nights on a course in the area - the visual impact of the Hotel is very stunning. The layout of the rooms can be a little confusing but is very well signposted so you only make a couple of wrong turns finding your way around. The room I was given was massive, large bed, table two chairs,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John R
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Came to Maften Hall for a 2 day work related course. The hotel is a lovely place to stay set in 300 acres of parkland with 27 holes of golf, practice areas, a par 3 course and driving range and also the Aqua Vitae Spa. The restaurants offer fine dining and the staff are all friendly and welcoming. Although here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim E
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great couple's break at Matfen Hall. Stunning hotel set in a stunning location. Excellent service. Superb food. And a GoApe in the grounds as well - what's not to like. Would definitely recommend for a couple's retreat. We had the best massages we have ever had!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mister_Blue_RL
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was given the stay at Matfen Hall as a birthday present from a wonderful friend. This was my second visit from one of my favourite hotels. It didn't disappoint the food ambience and attention to detail where outstanding. The room was fab with a balcony. The bed was huge and so comfy. The food needs a special mention. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 150freddie
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My sister and I decided to treat ourselves with a trip to the spa followed by a meal in the Library later that evening. From start to finish the service we received was excellent, staff were very friendly and attentive. The spa area was so relaxing, exactly what we needed! Lunch in the conservatory was lovely, good quality food and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wyneandsoda
Corralejo, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is outstanding. Staff very friendly and professional. Room was decorated to a high standard and very spacious. Cleanliness was like an operating theatre. Meals were first class and served by very attentive staff. Breakfast was cooked fresh and served when required. Spa was excellent. Great value for money, would I go again? cant wait, will learn to play golf...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gordon S
Witton Gilbert
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Working in this type of industry myself I can honestly say our stay was not worth the money( £195) especially the bathroom. Room size for a deluxe rooms was small. Milk portions, sugar sticks was not enough. Patio doors need upgrading as wooden frames were rotten. Being charged £9.40 for 2 bags of crisps at the bar is unacceptable but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cath B
PeterJDawson, Operations Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review

Dear Cath B, I’m surprised and disappointed to read your three separate reviews of the various areas of our resort. It’s clear that we’ve fallen short of your expectations and I’m very saddened to learn that. Having looked through your booking history, I can see that you were staying with us whilst attending a wedding which we were hosting at...

Northumberland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A friend and I have just returned from a lovely relaxing stay at Matfen Hall. All the staff were very helpful & friendly and the food in the Library restaurant was superb. I particularly liked the twice baked souffle, it was gorgeous. Our room was very spacious and clean, with a lovely view of the local church. I would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Soozysoo
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Confession, Matfen Hall is a special place to us, as we were married there in 2015. Due to the fantastic time we had and the top quality staff and facilities we decided to spend our anniversaries there each year. So we have and this was our 2nd anniversary and our stay was as amazing as the other experiences. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve Jen M
Northumberland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our association recently held our AGM at Matfen Hall. We met in one of the Cloister Rooms. The room had been perfectly laid out for us. There was very clear signposting for our members to find the room, the layout was as we had agreed, the technical equipment worked perfectly, as did the Wi-Fi. We had a superb buffet lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank manofthewall

600 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (346)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (183)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (76)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matfen
21.7 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,081 reviews
31.2 km away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
352 reviews
17.9 km away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 km away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
21.3 km away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
11.2 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Matfen Hall Hotel, Golf and Spa winner of Large Hotel of the Year 2015 at the Visit England Awards is located just 15 miles west of Newcastle in the charming village of Matfen and is the ancestral home of Sir Hugh and Lady Blackett. This stately home is set in 300 acres of parkland and has been a hotel since 1999. Enjoy true Northumbrian hospitality at Matfen Hall Hotel. The Hotel offers 53 bedrooms, individually decorated in traditional and contemporary styles. Our golf estate includes a 27-hole course, par 3 course and driving range. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Matfen Hall

Address: Near Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Matfen NE20 0RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Matfen
Price Range: RM530 - RM1,286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matfen Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Matfen Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matfen Hall Hotel Matfen
Matfen Hall Newcastle Upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Matfen Hall staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Matfen Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure to get a room with your own veranda”
Mister_Blue_RL, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Probably the older part of the building”
Andres1, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for view of golf course”
stanley104, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms in the old part of the hotel are huge.”
78jackieh, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with good ventilation.”
northerngolfers, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$146* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$150
PricelineUS$155
TravelocityUS$149
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates