We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

De Vere Tortworth Estate

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
De Vere Tortworth Estate
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for De Vere Tortworth Estate
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,341: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Take this review over all others. Having just come back, I am so surprised by the positive reviews for this place. We were very disappointed so take my advice, stay at a smaller place like a pub hotel - even a Holiday Inn would be better! Don't get swayed by the authentic estate aesthetic of the place... The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luci2811
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and for giving us your feedback. I am sorry that you felt that your visit here was disappointing. All of our staff work extremely hard here to look after our guests as can be seen from many previous reviews. We have a duty manager available 24/7 to discuss any concerns you may have...

Herefordshire
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just back from a third stay at Tortworth Estate (as it is now known); and a first stay since De Vere took over ownership from Four Pillars. We've always had a great time at this beautiful hotel, & standards are as high as ever across the board; with some added enhancements such as the new-look Atrium Bistro Bar, which now...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise_and_Lynn
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave a five star review on De Vere Tortworth Estate. It is great to hear how much you love coming to stay here and how our staff always make sure you are well looked after. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kind regards Mark Payne

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Although having lovely grounds the room standard is very low. Below you can see a picture of the children's bed. Also the management were very argumentative when asked for the slightest changes. Will not be staying in another devere hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. Our sofa beds are intended for the use of children during their stay here and not for adult use. Our housekeeping team converted the main kingsize bed into two twin beds for your second night. I am sorry that the room was not to your liking however we tried our best to accommodate...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

The fact this hotel is in the middle of nowhere is the reason we booked it! We wanted a long weekend away to the Cotswolds and this was close enough to it whilst being far enough from it to just unwind and relax. The hotel is well maintained, clean and the service is excellent. Our waiter and barman, Marius, was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav S
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your review on De Vere Tortworth Estate. I am so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and were able to make the most of our courtyard garden. Unfortunately our spa treatments do get very booked up in advance so please accept my apologies that you were unable...

Thornton le Moor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay in many hotels on business so when I go away with my wife I like something special. I was made aware of offers at De Vere and booked a junior suite based on the website photo over the cheaper standard or superior rooms. When we arrived at the room it was clearly a room and not a suite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikesalter
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies regarding the description of the room and we did indeed move you to another room, even though it was the same size it had a view over our rose gardens. We are in the process of reviewing our Junior suites and superior rooms. I am pleased that once this...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wonderful hotel beautiful soundings. Rooms have been recently renovated. Spa and gym surprisingly well equipped. Breakfast was served in a dinning room full of character. Bars would benefit from more choose of gins. Throughly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leon T
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely five star review on De Vere Tortworth Estate. I am pleased that you enjoyed so many parts of your stay and that you would recommend us to others. We look forward to your return visit soon. Kind regards Mark Payne

Reviewed 1 week ago

Gorgeous place with beautiful grounds. The room was standard with poor wi-fi which meant we had to change rooms. The spa was also fully booked when we went, as part of it was closed - disappointing. The service was brilliant and all staff were very friendly. We bought this through Groupon and was good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice F
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on De Vere Tortworth Estate. I am pleased that you loved the building and the grounds. Apologies about the wifi but I am pleased that we were able to move you to rectify this. Our spa is starting to under go refurbishment. At this stage all we have done is moved our 3...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Complacent rude, inconsiderate staff, ringing your room late at night with a baby chasing payment from restaurant when it was their fault for not clarifying I had to pay with card!! Ruined the night, what a waste of money, the staff couldn't care less, I will be asking for my money back

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Thomas R
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest I have investigated your feedback. It was our Restaurant Manager who called your room shortly after you left the restaurant that night as you had left without paying. You hadn't registered a credit card on check-in to enable this to be charged to your room so our staff had no option but to call your room for payment....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My girlfriend and I, booked this hotel as a late valentines getaway. We stayed on a Saturday night, eager to enjoy a peaceful change of scenery. Well firstly the staff we very helpful and friendly, advising us on where to go locally and one of the staff called Adam helped us to make sure we had our dinner reservation that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Chipington
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your five star review on De Vere Tortworth Estate. I am pleased to hear that your visit was wonderful from start to finish and that the staff looked after you both throughout. It is also nice to read how much you enjoyed the food here. We very much look forward to welcoming back for your...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Firstly I must give a huge thank you to the Excellent Louise Edwards from reservations for the outstanding service and communication prior to our stay and the staff we did meet after that were excellent as well , well what can I say about De Vere tortworth , Room : outstanding Staff : attentive and exceedingly pleaseant and helpful Facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe D
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful five star review on De Vere Tortworth Estate. It is lovely to read how everything from start to finish was a delight for you. Thank you also for your comments about Louise, these will be passed onto her personally so many thanks...

968 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (952)
Viewed
Room/Suite (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (353)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (371)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortworth
6.2 km away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
37.9 km away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,386 reviews
16.4 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
610 reviews
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
13.1 km away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, De Vere Tortworth Estate offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Tortworth Estate

Address: Tortworth Road | Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England (Formerly Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Price Range: RM378 - RM990 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Tortworth Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Tortworth Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Vere Tortworth Estate staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Tortworth Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Worth Upgrading Room”
Glennbarrett, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“the newly refurbished suites are very special. Afternoon tea was gorgeous so if indulging make sure you go for a late dinner!”
lindawM7137XQ, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 107 and 108 are brilliant if you have young kids who want to run around in a private enclosed grass courtyard.”
GauravS360, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother paying for a suite, it's just a room.”
  • The actual room they charge for as a suite
  • The actual room the describe as a suite
  • Their photo of what a suite looks like
Mikesalter, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you bring your swimming or gym gear the free facilities are excellent too.”
Aguerrooo, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5