We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

De Vere Tortworth Estate

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
De Vere Tortworth Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for De Vere Tortworth Estate
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,341: English reviews
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

We booked a 2-night break through Secret Escapes -inclusive of dinner b&b, afternoon tea on arrival, and champagne & chocolates in room on both nights. If I was the kind who revels in finding faults, I'd be hard pressed to find any at this hotel. The reception welcome and staff service generally were first-class. Our room was some distance, along...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hyweljones642
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking your time to express your stay at Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel and ratings us with five stars. It is always such a pleasure to hear our guests have thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of their stay, certainly the standards of service and quality of food provided. I do hope we will be welcoming you...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Stayed Sunday to Monday as part of a 50th birthday treat! Absolutely stunning place both inside and out. Probably helped by the sun shining for the duration of our stay! Staff very friendly although they can be forgetful of general orders placed when afternoon teas are being served! Dined in the main restaurant in the evening but did feel a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah W
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your tripadvisor review and rating Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel four stars. It is a pleasure to have been able to help you celebrate your 50th Birthday and am delighted to hear you will return. I would still like to take this opportunity to apologise if there was any delay after any orders and only...

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

This is a beautiful hotel set in beautiful surroundings, just a short drive from Bristol. Our room was clean & modern with parking next to room. The only negative was the size of the pool which got a little crowded & the sauna/steam room are upstairs on a different level to the pool (not ideal when walking from one to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 296russellp
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review and rating Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel four stars on tripadvisor. It is lovely to hear how beautiful you found the hotel and the arboretum as well as enjoying your clean and modern bedroom. The complimentary leisure facilities do have peak times throughout the day and the leisure...

Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

Our trip was made special by the restaurant manager who gave us a lovely table in the restaurant on a very busy evening and organised a special anniversary treat. What an asset to the hotel he is. Great hotel. Highly recommend breakfast room service as hotel extremely busy. We were on second floor and no issues with walking to room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maxwell C
Wangaratta
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The reception staff were super friendly and the Manor House was stunning. The dining room was exquisite - wonderful original internal architecture. Our room was fresh, clean and ultra comfortable. We certainly enjoyed our evening meal and breakfast. One of more expensive accommodation nights but money well spent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LikeTraveler
St Albans
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on a last minute trip and boy was it fantastic! Wonderful hotel near Bristol. Main building was amazing. I was located in wing and quite simply was blown away by the quality for the price. I had booked off the hotel web site and got a rate 30% less than standard rack rate. Room was large and modern....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cookie1112
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your five star review of Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel and for your high recommendation. We hope you will stay with us again next time you are visiting the Bristol area so many more memorable experiences can be made. Kindest Regards Mark Payne

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Room lovely. Went for a nice swim. Had a problem with our meal in the restaurant but the front of house manager (on his first day) dealt with exceptionally well. Sorry we didn't get his name. Hotel is remote but we knew that and service in bar for both drinks and food was very good. No problem with parking. Will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hollis302
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest It is delightful to know you have enjoyed your stay with us at Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel and taken the time to rate us four stars on tripadvisor. As disappointing it is to hear you had an issue with your meal thank you for bringing it to our attention and allowing the Restaurant Manager to rectify this...

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

I stayed here as a bridesmaid for a wedding. The hotel and ground were beautiful. Very clean. Parking was easy and right next to our room. The breakfast croissant's were very small and they don't give you much toast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rockrose1079
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest It is wonderful to hear that your time at Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel resulted in a four star tripadvisor rating. Thank you for commenting on the cleanliness of the bedrooms, the beauty of the hotel grounds and your enjoyment of the wedding day. Please never hesitate to pick up the bedroom telephone to ask for more croissants...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Impressive building and grounds, but disappointed to find ourselves in a Premier Inn style room in a warren of corridors away from the main building. So my advice is be very specific about the room you are paying for. I feel just under £200 was poor value for Premier Inn with portraits.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NeilMac58
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your individual feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We take all feedback negative and positive very seriously, and I am sorry we fell short of your expectations during your stay with us, if you would have made us aware of your disappointment with the room you were allocated, we would have had the chance...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2016

Booked to go to tortworth court with my friend for her birthday! When driving into the hotel I thought wow this looks amazing. We were greeted by very friendly staff when we first arrived and shown to are table. We sat by a window so had a lovely view of the amazing grounds. When the afternoon tea arrived the waiter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boden22
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Visitor, Thank you for taking the time to review Tortworth Court after your afternoon tea experience. I am very happy to hear that you had such a lovely afternoon and enjoyed so much your time with us that you are already planning your next visit. Thank you also for your lovely comments with reference to our amazing hotel, grounds...

968 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (952)
Viewed
Room/Suite (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (353)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (371)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortworth
6.2 km away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
37.9 km away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,388 reviews
16.4 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
610 reviews
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
13.1 km away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, De Vere Tortworth Estate offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Tortworth Estate

Address: Tortworth Road | Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England (Formerly Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Price Range: RM378 - RM990 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Tortworth Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Tortworth Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Vere Tortworth Estate staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Tortworth Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Worth Upgrading Room”
Glennbarrett, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“the newly refurbished suites are very special. Afternoon tea was gorgeous so if indulging make sure you go for a late dinner!”
lindawM7137XQ, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 107 and 108 are brilliant if you have young kids who want to run around in a private enclosed grass courtyard.”
GauravS360, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother paying for a suite, it's just a room.”
  • The actual room they charge for as a suite
  • The actual room the describe as a suite
  • Their photo of what a suite looks like
Mikesalter, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you bring your swimming or gym gear the free facilities are excellent too.”
Aguerrooo, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5