We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 394: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel
 Click to rate
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

the bathroom was disgusting. the shower curtain was way too long in my opinion which left it sitting in the water to go mouldy and to smell fusty. the hinge on the bathroom door was also mouldy. the cleanliness of the bathroom wasnt up to scratch, the bath itself was stained yellow and nothing else was particularly sparkling.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank natalie c
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Stansted Bishops Stortford Travelodge. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we would like to apologise that your room was not cleaned to our usual high standard. We will be sure to pass your valuable comments to the hotel to ensure that the service we provide improves. May we thank you again for...

Sexau, Germany
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Perfect location for arriving on a late flight or leaving on an early flight, a 5-minute drive to the airport. Typical very wide and comfortable bed, as experienced at all Travelodges around the country that I have stayed in. The receptionist was very friendly despite it being 11pm on a Friday, and she even spoke fluent German. Breakfast: did what...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TS87
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of your room as much as you enjoyed the location of our hotel as this is what we like to see. It is also great to hear the staff were very friendly throughout your stay. We will ensure the hotel team receives...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel perfectly meets my needs each time, is a short drive from the airport, good rooms, comfortable beds and price is usually good. Is always good available including past midnight which is appreciated. Lady working on reception overnight on 13th February was very friendly and also made food to takeaway to our room which was very welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesv2811
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Overnight stay for Stansted as 7am flight. Room was lovely and warm, very clean and beds were comfortable with plenty of soft pillows. Lovely large towels in bathroom. Would definitely stay here again. Did not have breakfast so can't comment on that.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 547maxinel
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a one night stay a week ago. Room itself was ok apart from a blocked bath and the tv didn't work. The food in the restaurant was disgraceful, 4 meals all served at different times. Seemed like they were just reheating one at a time. Burger was over cooked and rock hard. The lasagne was barely edible slop and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley W
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to learn of your experience and in such instances we would kindly suggest to let our bar cafe staff know. The team would then resolve this for you with the kitchen team and offer a resolution to improve the service offered. We understand on occasion this is not possible, however please rest assured your feedback will be...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

As expected for Travelodge, however had the friendliest reception welcome I have ever had in a Travelodge - Elizabeth stood out (10th Feb 2017). Also easy to park and quick drive to airport - cheaper to sleep here and pay to park at airport than do park & stay at closer airport

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TMteacher99
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience and making us aware of the great service our colleague Elizabeth is providing. We strive to give customers an enjoyable stay and we are happy to see that this has been achieved. We’ll be more than happy to provide our team a copy of your review to ensure a continued high standard of service...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent value for money and very convenient for Stansted airport - really close. Also right by Hatfield Forest, which we visited while we were there. This TL has a bar and restaurant (we didn't use it) as ex-Manor Hotel. Really comfortable bed, large room, though basic, but what do you need for a stay before flying from Stansted?

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 724verac
London
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here before - it is cheap and good for the airport. I was in room 1 which was a little noisy as it was beside the main reception area - do ask for a room further away if you need quiet. However, this is not something which is a criticism of the hotel. Room was lovely and clean, and...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After a long exhausting day of traveling and flights being delayed we finally arrived on the travelodge on the 11th February and we were greeted by two lovely people. Our stay at this hotel was great and comfortable and we can't fault the service. We had cold water, but they swapped us for a nicer room with warm water. Will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mhairi-Ann
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The place needs a total refurbishment, the rooms in particular. It is looking very tired. Staff were fine no problems there. However because of the state of the room the whole place is also looking run down and lacking in atmosphere.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael T

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birchanger
3.6 km away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,199 reviews
0.4 km away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
391 reviews
0.6 km away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
1,877 reviews
5.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,012 reviews
1.3 km away
Hilton London Stansted Airport
Hilton London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel

Address: Birchanger Lane, Birchanger CM23 5ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Birchanger
Price Range: RM232 - RM339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Best Western Bishops Stortford
Best Western Bishop's Stortford
Bishop's Stortford Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 274LindaW274, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay at this hotel try another one at the airport”
 of 5 bubbles 1965wendy, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 108 is noisy due to being next to beer cellar equipment humming all night”
 of 5 bubbles Swallowman57, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 575estherm, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“you get what you pay for”
 of 5 bubbles CanariesSunshine, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5