We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 358: English reviews
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Awful place. Too far from the airport. Overpowering smell of cleaning products that irritated my sinuses, yet did not mask the ingrained sweaty testosterone smell in the bedroom. Soulless building structure. Staff not very responsive. Expensive rate at GBP81. I did not stay there as the smell made me feel ill. I was offered nothing, not even a discount next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anitajoice6
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

stayed for a night after returning from holiday, arrived late and has made welcome when checking in, lovly place and very quiet . Michael working the night shift helped us with our bags and brought the pizza we ordered to our room so we could get our daughter to sleep , was a great help, only thing that would like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johntom2016
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Worst part was the bathroom! Shower was awful, so much water force it hurt your body, soaked the whole bathroom, shower head wouldn't stay still just kept spraying everywhere, made getting out of the shower very slippy. Room was a hot box, couldn't get it to cool down, could hear a lot of noise from outside and inside the hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aimee M
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

i feel for the staff, as doors are hanging off, washers just sat/dumped behind the bar, and wet paint signs on wooden doors. the lift also has an worrying bubble under foot. its a shame because the staff seem great, and I guess there just happy to have work... in the lodge sleepy hollow forgot about.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oxjay
Pescara, Italy
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a good hotel to pass a couple of nights if you have a car, otherwise plan for taxi as no bus stops close to the hotel and it is very far from Bishop's Stortford. It cannot be considered an airport hotel as there is not shuttle bus. Rooms are good value for the price, clean enough and comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EnAl62
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Double room contained one double bed, one desk unit with one plastic chair, unit with one shelf and six hangers and a lot of empty space. Inadequate shelf space, no comfortable chairs or settee, no bedside tables just two small alcoves in headboard. Having arrived at 10:45 pm and wanting to go to bed I did not approach the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. T We feel that we offer all that is needed for a comfortable night’s stay. We do not provide extras which other hotels may provide so we can keep our room rates low however we understand your frustration and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your feedback has been...

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visiting family and booked into the Travelodge overnight. Staff were very friendly and helpful, clean and fresh room, great breakfast and could not have had a better experience for the price paid. Well done Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel- I am very impressed!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank E7328MAdeborahr
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us, such as the service from our staff and the breakfast you had in our bar cafe. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests and we are thrilled that we succeeded...

Enfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked 3 rooms here following a relatives birthday celebration with the sole purpose of it being a place to lay our heads. The hotel is relatively hard to find due to the Sat Nav asking you to turn down a road that does not exist, the signs also point you to Stansted Manor with no mention of the Travelodge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EMO128
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel, responded to this review

We apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay with us and we would like to look into this further for you. May we kindly request you contact us via our website so our customer service team can investigate your comments. Thank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you soon.

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Up side: Bed was comfortable Down side: No comfy chair in room, no plug near mirror (How am I supposed to dry hair), no hairdryer in room, breakfast absolutely awful, (fresh fruit salad was ok). Really cheap and nasty room - nothing to recommend it - nowhere to sit whilst watching tv. We were there for 3 days on business,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Stansted Bishops Stortford Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In making the following observations bear in mind that this hotel is supposed to serve Stansted Airport. Some of the issues would have been OK in isolation, but as a whole, they left me feeling unhappy and I didn't get the rest I was expecting. 1. Shaving light was broken. 2. No radio 4 on TV - a personal favourite,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale B
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Stansted Bishops Stortford Travelodge. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birchanger
3.6 km away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,912 reviews
0.4 km away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
376 reviews
0.6 km away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hilton London Stansted Airport
Hilton London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
1,927 reviews
3.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
1,824 reviews
5.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel

Address: Birchanger Lane, Birchanger CM23 5ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Birchanger
Price Range: RM227 - RM387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bishops Stortford
Best Western Bishop's Stortford
Bishop's Stortford Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 575estherm, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“you get what you pay for”
 of 5 bubbles CanariesSunshine, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Larger rooms on the top floor”
 of 5 bubbles scotinfrance, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get one with everything working as it should.”
 of 5 bubbles ToofrenchTooenglish, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask if any rooms have bedside tables.”
 of 5 bubbles KatySurrey, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay