We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Red Lion Pub

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Lion Pub
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Pub
See the most recent reviews
Showing 80: English reviews
Beckenham
Reviewed 12 July 2015

stayed here 2 days ago for a night at the races, staff were really nice on arrival and allowed early entry to our room,Which was very nice very modern and clean with crisp fresh bedding, tea and coffee facilities and bottled water. We had plenty of towels and toiletries also had a hairdryer which was a plus. We ordered food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
Julia W, Owner at Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

Good Evening Thank you so much for your positive review on your recent visit to The Red Lion. I am extremely pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you felt that my staff were very helpful throughout. They are all working very hard to make sure each and every customer enjoys their visit...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2015

Stayed here overnight when visiting Epsom racecourse. Arrived early and staff offered to take our case and put it in our room when it was ready. They ordered a taxi for us and served us a coffee whilst we waited. On our return there was a cricket match being played which we watched with a nice bottle of prosecco. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
Julia W, Owner at Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for your review on your recent stay at The Red Lion. I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us and that you felt my staff looked after you well on your arrival. We are working very hard to make sure all customers have a pleasurable experience when they are here...

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2015 via mobile

This was our third visit to the Red Lion. It was my birthday treat and I had the choice between here and one other, it was an easy decision, even though we drive by a few lovely pubs to get to it, it's so worth it. The staff are very welcoming and friendly every single time. It really makes such...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachel_a_2011
Julia W, Owner at Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for your review on your recent visit to The Red Lion. Firstly let us wish you a Happy Birthday for last week, we hope you had a great day. We are so pleased that you decided to have your birthday treat with us and that we hopefully helped make it a great night. All at The...

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Thank you to the Chef and Staff of the Red Lion in Betchworth. We had travelled from all over the country to meet up and celebrate a special birthday and the food, ambience and service did not disappoint. A true thumbs up!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicki B
Julia W, Owner at Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you so much for your positive review on your recent visit to The Red Lion. We are so pleased that we were able to help make your family occasion an enjoyable experience and that our food and service didn't disappoint. All my staff are working extremely hard to make sure that every customer has a great stay...

Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2015

This is one of our regular lunchtime haunts and we are never disappointed. The food is well above average pub fare and the menu is wide ranging. Comfortable surroundings and welcoming, friendly staff. Great lunchtime venue.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tony W
Julia W, Owner at Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

Good Evening Thank you so much for your positive review on your recent visit to The Red Lion. I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our food and service have pleased you. All my staff are working extremely hard to make sure all our customers have a great experience when in our company...

Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2015

On a gloomy, wet, February afternoon, 8 of us met up for lunch at this country pub. We had a warm, friendly reception, and took some time over choosing our food, but all taken in good humour by the waitress. Due to time constraints we had main courses only, and the men had desserts and women coffees. We all really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vicky p
Julia W, Owner at Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

Good Evening Thank you very much for your positive review on your recent visit to The Red Lion. I am very pleased that you all enjoyed your meals with us and that my staff were friendly and helpful. They all work extremely hard to make sure all our customers enjoy their time whilst in our company and I am happy...

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2015

Ten of us celebrated my sisters 25th wedding anniversary on Sunday at the Red Lion, the food was lovely all home cooked in my opinion best Sunday lunch in the area, we come from Crawley and been a few times and well worth the journey, staff very friendly and can't do enough for you. P.S. Lovely pub.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
Julia W, Owner at Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

Good Evening Thank you so much for your positive review on your recent visit to The Red Lion. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and hope that your sister enjoyed her Wedding Anniversary. All my staff work extremely hard to make sure each and every customer has a good experience when visiting us and I...

Paris, France
Reviewed 21 February 2015

Arriving from France I found the room was very quiet, clean and spacious; i would just have appreciated instructions to regulate the heating better. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, though I was a bit surprised to be asked to pay for my room before I had even seen it; I declined and I paid before leaving as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
Julia W, Owner at Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

Good Evening Thank you very much for your recent review on your visit to The Red Lion. We were very happy to have welcomed you back last week on your second stay with us. We hope that we were able to address all your comments from your review and that you enjoyed your stay with us again. My staff are...

UK
Reviewed 9 February 2015

Everything seemed right about the Red Lion when we arrived, friendly staff, good atmosphere and nice layout. We ordered food from a good menu, and this is where they let the ball drop. It took sooooooo long for the food to arrive, we watched others on another table who arrived after us have their meal and leave before we got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BilkoUk
Julia W, Owner at Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you so much for your review on your recent visit to The Red Lion. We are so very sorry that you felt let down by the service that you were provided by my staff. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the food so much but like you feel very disappointed that the service let us down....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2015

Looking for good spot near the Surrey hills to give our American guest a taste of English country pub dining and we found the Red Lion. The restaurant was warmed by a roaring stove and the layout of the tables allowed sufficient space between diners - don't you just hate those 'gastro- pubs where the management cram in so many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy E
Julia W, Owner at Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you very much for your kind and positive review on your recent visit to The Red Lion. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable experience and that our food didn't disappoint. My staff all work extremely hard and I will make sure that I pass on your comments to them. We really look forward to...

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betchworth
0.3 km away
Hartsfield Manor Betchworth
4.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Reigate Manor Hotel
7.7 km away
Premier Inn Redhill Reigate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
4.7 km away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
9.6 km away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Red Lion Pub

Address: Old Road, Betchworth RH3 7DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Betchworth
Price Range: RM371 - RM498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Pub staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very quiet position with lots of good walks locally.”
 of 5 bubbles petec135, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wheelchair access would be difficult. Narrow path to rooms with turn and steps which would make disabled access difficult.”
 of 5 bubbles Norman117, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We ate only at the pub restaurant and did not stay at the B&B.”
 of 5 bubbles vickyp596, 1 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Let them know if it's slow service”
 of 5 bubbles BilkoUk, 8 Feb 2015 | Read review
“all rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles Jamierocker, 2 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5