We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Highgate House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Highgate House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

620 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 616: English reviews
Start your review of Highgate House Hotel
 Click to rate
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was a 25th Anniversary present (Red letter day), and we had a fantastic time. We stayed in a room in the main house, and it was lovely. Food was fantastic, especially the breakfast. Free teas and coffees in the lounge. The gym is small, but had everything needed for a workout. All the staff were very helpful and friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcurrie1
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

All the staff were really friendly and helpful, they gave us an upgrade to the main house. The room was spacious, clean and tidy and provided everything we needed, including a lovely view of the countryside. We had dinner and breakfast here which was excellent. The dinner was three courses, they were good portions and tasted really good. For breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1920StepH9015
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was my christmas present from my lovely husband through Red letter day experience. We arrived Sunday 19th Feb and stay one night in the main house. We were both thrilled and delighted with the room. The ambience of the whole establishment was second to none. The staff were very pleasant and mothing was to much. I would like to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is our personal review we have attended a friends wedding and got to say we had a great experience here. The staff couldn't do enough for us, the prices of drinks were very reasonable. The room was clean and smart and the selection at breakfast was fantastic. We would stay here again in a heartbeat

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert L
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert, It was great to read how much you enjoyed yourselves whilst attending your friend's wedding here at Highgate.I do hope ,as indicated, you would stay with us again very soon, Kind Regards,Paul Williams,General Manager.

Wellingborough
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed overnight for a nice little break, this included a three course meal and a full breakfast, our room was spacious and clean, the are is very quiet and tranquil, the evening meal was well cooked and delicious and breakfast was piping hot. We throughly enjoyed our stay and will be booking to stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyM001
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JohnnyMoo1, Thankyou for your lovely review,it looks like we fulfilled all your expectations ! I hope ,as indicated,you will return to Highgate very soon to repeat the experience, Best Wishes,Paul Williams,General Manager.

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a surprise treat for my 70th birthday. We stayed in a lovely room with large bathroom and the food was excellent, the staff friendly and efficient. Our son had booked this for us and thought we would be in the main house, but we were in a complex off the car park, and had to go outside (in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H4094IMjanetb
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear H4094IMjanetb, Firstly,A belated Happy Birthday ! Thankyou for your very kind review,it was lovely to read that ,overall, you enjoyed your weekend with us.I am sorry you were inconvenienced by the location of your bedroom-we have a large site here with bedrooms located throughout the estate.If you wish to stay again ,and I hope you will,please let us know...

Shrewsbury
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked as a surprise night away and wasn't disappointed. We stayed in the main house which had all the charm and character I have read, although the only thing that kept running through my mind with seeing the names of the rooms was "who did the Murder" it was like entering a real life Cluedo game lol We took advantage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandjg2015
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sandjg2015, It was great to read you found a "Hidden Treasure",I hope you will let everyone know about us so that we do not remain too hidden !. Thankyou for your very detailed review,it looks like you enjoyed your weekend here at Highgate,I hope you will return soon,we will do our best to provide better weather for you next...

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To start with the good, food was above average at lunch and dinner and staff are friendly and efficient. However, what you see is a beautiful old house. What you might get is a 1950s type holiday camp room (albeit en suite) that has seen better days (peeling paint in the bathroom and damp by the front door). There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OmanHolidaymaker
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear OmanHolidaymaker, Firstly,thankyou for the positive comments you made regarding the quality of food and standard of service you experienced during your stay with us. I am sorry you felt the standard of accommodation did not meet with your expectations,our bedrooms are situated in various parts of the estate and we do strive to maintain the same standards throughout,regardless of...

Hatfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a night to attend a wedding, requested for an early check in so we can get dressed in the room but it cost extra £10 per hour so decided not to have it glad we didn't. room was okay breakfast was not good - not much options!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ami3moo
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ami3moo, Thankyou for your review regarding your recent stay with us.It would be great if you could let us know which items you would like to see on our Breakfast Buffet,this would obviously help us to improve our offering to future guests, I look forward to hearing from you, Yours Sincerely,Paul Williams,General Manager.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a wonderful place to celebrate a Friends 70 th birthday : Amy who served 16 demanding ladies was wonderful!! Also , a last minute dietary request for gluten free and vegetarian didn't faze the kitchen either ! Thankyou to all who contributed towards a lovely afternoon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tanwen
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tanwen, It looks like you certainly enjoyed celebrating your friend's 70th Birthday here at Highgate House.Please pass on my best wishes to her.I will let Amy know about the feedback you have provided ,I am sure she will be delighted ! I hope you will find a reason to visit us again very soon, Kind Regards,Paul Williams,General Manager.

219 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (193)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creaton
40.1 km away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
349 reviews
20.7 km away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
17.1 km away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
9.3 km away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#2 of 29 in Northampton
425 reviews
5.4 km away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Based in and around a 17th century mansion, Highgate House is a beautiful country house hotel set amongst rolling countryside,just 7 miles from Northampton. Accommodation consists of 97 en-suite bedrooms, all of which are individually decorated. Some of the bedrooms are located in the original building whilst the majority are housed in areas across the estate. Each room is fully equipped with hot drink facilities, an alarm clock-radio with iPod docking station, a television and toiletries from the Gilchrist and Soames 'BeeKind` range. You stay also includes includes free WiFi, use of the fitness room and pool, free parking on-site and unlimited tea and coffee. Guests can look forward to a delicious seasonal menu prepared by the award-winning team of chefs, headed up by Lee Gaskins, who has won Northamptonshire's Chef of the Year twice. Food is served in the brasserie-style Terrace Restaurant and lighter meals can be enjoyed in the main bar area. Traditional afternoon tea is available between 3-6pm daily, with a selection of sandwiches,homemade cakes and scones with cream and jam. Leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, gym, sauna and tennis courts. The hotel's 26 acres of grounds also offer an idyllic setting for walking, with easy access to the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highgate House Hotel

Address: Highgate House Grooms Lane, Creaton NN6 8NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Creaton
Price Range: RM437 - RM719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Highgate House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Highgate House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highgate House, a Sundial Venue Hotel Northampton
Highgate Hotel Northampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Highgate House Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Highgate House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a room in the main house if possible. Ones at the front are best we think.”
 of 5 bubbles mcurrie1, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For modern looking rooms choose the standard rooms. For older looking rooms go for a room in the main house.”
 of 5 bubbles 1920StepH9015, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I would recommend paying a supplement if you want to stay in the main hotel building.”
 of 5 bubbles H4094IMjanetb, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you stay in the main house - really worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles sandjg2015, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Might be better if you get a room in the main house”
 of 5 bubbles OmanHolidaymaker, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5