We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel van Dyk

Hotels.comUS$134*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel van Dyk
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel van Dyk
See the most recent reviews
Showing 404: English reviews
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Went here for my 50th and my mother in laws 70th joint party. We were a very large party and were put with guests enjoying a romantic " couples" evening. This did not go down very well for all concerned. Better planning could have left us to do our own thing whilst not upsetting other guests. Also a wedding was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul m
Marc W, Managing Director at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed the food and found our staff a credit to the hotel. We deal with large bookings all the time and also at the same time as other large bookings and weddings. As you mention the service from our staff and food was exceptional. Unfortunately...

Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

Wedding was fantastic. Jodie was an amazing restaurant manager. Far too goo for what can only be described as a goth rate Travelodge wannabe. The whole thing was spoiled by a 2 yes 2 hour wait for breakfast. Ok they did deduct the cost from our bill but damage done. Am staff were rude only grunted when asked to do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
Marc W, Managing Director at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. However I find your comments strange, as you were aware Jodie was managing the hotel from arrival to departure. So I'm not sure why you are saying "ta Jodie you saved the day" when you were so disappointed in the hotel... Please don't hesitate to give me a call at...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Afternoon tea was disappointing. Whilst the choice of sandwiches were fine, they arrived swamped on a dinner plate! Not even a sprinkling of anything for a little decoration. One egg finger, one cucumber, one ham, one smoked salmon they equated to 2 slices of bread per person, minus the crusts of course. They were never replenished, which I have found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 11Alicat
Marc W, Managing Director at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I can only apologise if this visit didn't meet up to our usual standard. Please don't hesitate to give me a call at the hotel. Regards Marc

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2017

My first visit to the hotel was in December for an overnight stay and i have been a regular visitor ever since. From the start of every visit to the end is always faultless. The staff are all polite and professional and the setting of the hotel is amazing. The food is 5 star exceptional, everyone in our party is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank laurabecic
Marc W, Managing Director at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments on our hotel. I really am pleased that we have looked after you so well and you love our food. We look forward to seeing you again soon Marc

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We came on a sunday afternoon for dinner and the whole table enjoyed it! The yorkshire puddings were amazing and there was plenty of veg and gravy brought to the table. The desserts were also nice - i had the delicious chocolate brownie! I recommend getting the lighter portion of sunday dinner as it is significantly cheeper yet not much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rotherhamgirl
Marc W, Managing Director at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Marc

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

The food and service was outstanding! The quality and presentation of the food was exceptional and all staff were extremely professional, friendly and made you feel very welcome. Thank you to all the staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaccaB71
Marc W, Managing Director at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review on our restaurant, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Marc

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Well what can I say ? Absolutely beautiful from start to finish.the grounds are the perfect back drop for a spring wedding .We attended a wedding over the weekend and had a lovely time . The staff all so helpful and friendly. I got talking to one member of staff who was a waitress and she was telling us about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally E
Marc W, Managing Director at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our venue, I know from reading your review its not something you would normally do. I am so glad you enjoyed your day with us, and we look forward to your sampling one of our restaurants in the near future. See you soon Marc

Sheffield
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Table booked for 7.30pm, arrived for drinks in the bar and told to go to another bar in the grill room, not a good start. Starters arrived on time, but we were left waiting for the main course for at least 40 minutes, not impressed. Food was good however. Apparently after speaking to the waitress about the delay this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
Marc W, Managing Director at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your food with us. I have checked the order and I can see you were waiting 40 minutes from the time you ordered to when the mains were delivered to your table. This is the norm and acceptable as all our food is cooked...

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We recently celebrated my parents Diamond Wedding Anniversary with a meal at the hotel. We received the most excellent service and attention to detail by Marc and his staff. Our party of 12 were made to feel very welcome and the food we ordered was excellent. In the past we have visited the hotel and have had a few negative...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Costa_Del_C
Marc W, Managing Director at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate your great feedback and I am so pleased your mum and dad had a great evening. It was a pleasure to look after your family on the evening. See you again soon Marc

Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

We have visited Van Dykes for Sunday lunch a number of times and have had a wonderful meal. We recently dined in the bistro, my partner had rump steak he asked for this medium, but this was presented well done and was dry. We should have mentioned this because at £20 its not cheap but it can end up spoiling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vanouveous
Marc W, Managing Director at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am really sorry if you felt your steak was over cooked, it would have been ideal for you to highlight this on the day and we could have re-cooked a steak to your liking. It would have only taken us 4 to 5 minutes to cook a further steak...

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clowne
12.1 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,335 reviews
2.4 km away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
524 reviews
9.2 km away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
723 reviews
10.9 km away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
212 reviews
15.3 km away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Van Dyk is an outstanding example of a grade II listed building,it is family owned and managed and the impressive facade and opulent interior, provides an elegant atmosphere, for the ultimate dining experience within Albert's grill room or the Bowden Restaurant. The 15 individually designed ensuite bedrooms compliment the hotel perfectly, for any guests wishing to stay within Chesterfield area.Located near to the M1 and A1 motorways,the hotel provides the ideal location for casual or eligant dining,evening live entertainment show's as well as Small business meeting's and lunches, whilst also offering tailor made packages for Weddings, Private Parties and festive Celebrations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel van Dyk

Address: Worksop Road | Clowne, Clowne, Chesterfield S43 4TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Clowne
Price Range: RM530 - RM798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel van Dyk 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel van Dyk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Dyk Hotel
Van Dyk Chesterfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel van Dyk staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
London
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel van Dyk staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Although the rooms at the moment are on different levels, when they refurbish they said some rooms will be on the same floor for disabled .”
sals 44, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“A suite would be nice”
sharonlM9487XY, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great Place to eat”
fiestary, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms at the back - overlooking kitchen roof, ventilation fans are noisy, no double-glazing, main road at side of hotel.”
myoung100, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Be prepared for extremely hot accomadation.”
lukeo52, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$134* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$138
TripAdvisorUS$134
Orbitz.comUS$134
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates