We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Northern Hotel

Hotels.comUS$88*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$96*
US$88*
US$96*
US$88*
US$96*
US$88*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Northern Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 222: English reviews
Start your review of Northern Hotel
 Click to rate
Brechin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Took my Mother for a evening meal last night, Immaculate nicely decorated excellent service,I had Haggis Fritters to start and Roast Pork with veg and potatoes asked for a side of Chips (good size portion) would reccomend to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KENNETH H
NorthernManagement, Owner at Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kenneth, I am glad to hear that you and your mother have enjoyed dinner at Baillie Restaurant. I have passed your positive feedback to my team. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Many Thanks for posting this positive review on trip advisor. Kindest Regards Pawel

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

30 th special meal upstairs in a private room as children with us. Awful attitude when we arrived ( party of 20) at 6.30 for 7, started 8 and main 8.30, with no explanation. When father of birthday girl complained, evidently stated ' but it is a large party'. Weddings are advertised, so no idea if struggle to provide 30...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Fglwork
Stirling
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent an enjoyable number of hours at the Annual AGM Dinner with pre drinks in the bar. The food was plentiful and enjoyable. The staff were excellent and courteous, will come back sometime in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul M
NorthernManagement, Owner at Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you very much for taking time and completing feedback on trip advisor. I am glad you have enjoyed visit at Northern and hopefully will see you sometime soon. I will also pass on your positive feedback to rest of my team. Kindest Regards. Pawel Michalowski

Brechin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I organised a surprise party night for my wife on Saturday 22nd April at the Northern Hotel in the Fraser suite. We had an amazing night. The Northern Hotel management and staff were absolutely brilliant and helpful. They were so friendly, helpful and accommodating. Joanna one of the owners who I saw a lot was excellent and professional, friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Edward Ripley W
NorthernManagement, Owner at Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Edward, Thanks very much for this extensive feedback.We are glad you have enjoyed party night as well as overnight stay at Northern Hotel.Our aim is to provide best customers experience and I am glad we have exceeded your expectation and will ensure this feedback will be passed on to my team.I hope we will see you soon again. Kindest...

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

I have stayed at Northern and really enjoyed service.Staff is very efficient.Rooms clean and spacious.Car park is a bonus.Nice bar with wide range of drinks and reasonable priced.Food in restaurant is really good.Roast beef was really delicious.Highly recommended!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank callwats
Scotland
Reviewed 11 April 2017

The bedroom was a little small, but comfortable enough. Had to do the usual removal of unnecessary cushions and bed scarf, but underneath all of those the bed was OK. dinner in the restaurant was disappointing. Service was good, but the food was definitely below standard. Roast beef was overcooked and a poor cut with too much gristle. The vegetables...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank BoatmanScotland
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

We had lunch yesterday . The service was great . The waitress was attentive and chatty. The food was a hit or a miss. I had the chicken rissoto from the specials menu . It was very bland . The chicken appeared to be boiled and was without taste. I had to ask for parmesan cheese to try to give...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ferne G
NorthernManagement, Owner at Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your time for sharing your experience yesterday. I am really sorry that you were not satisfied with your Risotto. We will do everything to improve recipe.i will pass your comment to our chef as well. I will also pass positive comment to your server. Thank you very much for visiting our restaurant and hopefully see...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2017

We revisited the Northern Hotel last weekend April 1st-4th. The staff there went out of their way to make us feel at home. Breakfast was wonderful, both the full and continental versions! Almost too much food! We had dinner with family in the Baillie restaurant on our last night and the service and menu choice was excellent. A special thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 604Kathy
NorthernManagement, Owner at Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathy, Thanks for visiting Northern Hotel and sharing your experience on trip advisor. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay and food in our restaurant. I will pass your comment to our staff.I hope you will be visiting us soon again. Best Regards Pawel

Alloa
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel a couple of weeks ago and the bed was so comfy i slept in for my work for the first time in 35 years (9.30am). I missed breakfast but i can say the meal i had the night before was excellent. The room and hotel was spotless and when i went back for another night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertmrb2017
NorthernManagement, Owner at Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for sharing your experience.I am glad you have enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will host you again. Best Regards Pawel

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Last minute plans for weekend kids and dog in car and heading for adventure! That was perfect small hotel for our family 2+2+dog! Finally we could take our Lucy with us! Our room was perfect and bed with treats for Lucy. All staff so helpful. Filling start of the day with nice breakfast and lazy finish with well cooked and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank agi-agi003

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brechin
8.3 km away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
526 reviews
12.1 km away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
268 reviews
12.0 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 5 in Montrose
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
287 reviews
36.5 km away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
22.2 km away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel located in centre of Brechin with 15 rooms and 5 self catering apartments.Perfect for business customers as well as families. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Northern Hotel

Address: 2 Clerk Street, Brechin DD9 6AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Brechin
Price Range: RM379 - RM583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Northern Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The parking is limited, so be early for a good spot.”
paulmD6767HX, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms we and our son and friends were in varied from King beds to doubles and twins. All rooms and where they were situated were good.”
edwardripleyw, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Although not terribly busy, if intermittent traffic noise would disturb you, try for a room away from the road”
BoatmanScotland, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you can stretch your budget, go for one of the self catering Apartments”
foxcherrett, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“great location,free parking,wifi,”
turnera561, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$88* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$88
TravelocityUS$88
TripAdvisorUS$88
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates