We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown, Stoke By Nayland

Save
Share
Park Street, Stoke by Nayland, Babergh District CO6 4SE England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (96)
Dining (36)
Room & Suite (8)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Crown Stoke by Nayland, was reopened in November 2003 after extensive refurbishment. The boutique Hotel which took twelve months to build was launched in September 2008. The Crown Stoke by Nayland, an historic privately owned village Inn has a reputation for making everyone feel welcome - without pretension - simply a passion for high standards, good service, food, wine and real ale. To complete the picture a boutique Hotel has been created - eleven stylish luxury en-suite bedrooms individually designed and furnished.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Restaurant
Hiking
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
751Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 485
  • 142
  • 69
  • 43
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
macneillfamily wrote a review 16 Jan
Lavenham, United Kingdom211 contributions87 helpful votes
Great service and friendly staff let down by disappointing food. The roast was bog standard and I echo previous comments about the food being left on a hotplate hence dried out, And the Chips were the most appalling French fries I have ever had. I should have made a comment at the time. What a contrast to the Wiveton Bell in Norfolk which serves up beautiful fluffy triple cooked chips. I really dislike leaving negative reviews, and I note there are many reviews complementing the Food, so maybe the chefs were having a bad day. If not they need to up their game, as prices are not cheap.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Responded yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review - we do need to hear what our customers think and criticism, when constructive and reasoned like yours, is useful in helping us to maintain our standards. Chips always seem to divide opinion and the quest for the perfect chip goes on - some people do prefer a thin chip to a chunky triple-cooked one! The Wiveton Bell is indeed a great pub but do remember that Chestnut also have properties in North Norfolk - The Globe in Wells is an established favourite with Holt and Weybourne our next exciting destinations. We look forward to seeing you in one of our properties soon.
Read more
Rhi3 wrote a review 12 Jan
UK139 contributions116 helpful votes
This is a local favourite when we visit this area. Unfortunately this time a Tuesday in Jan wasn't the same as expected. No one picked up the phone to accept a booking so we booked on line at 8 an hour away and turned up at 7.30 and found lots of empty tables. We were seated and orders taken quickly but food took a long time around 40 mins and at least 2 other tables served before us. Asked the waitress no answer. She said she would would reduce the bill. I said I didn't want that just wanted to know why the serving was late, she said she would ask but we never got an answer. Shame. Otherwise good food lovely setting and I wish them well, but a bit better service pls.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!
Read more
kas01uk wrote a review 3 Jan
uk141 contributions236 helpful votes
We have just returned from a post New Year’s Day stay at this lovely place. Second time of visiting, and it outdid our previous stay. Beautiful warm spotlessly clean, stylish room with good selection of coffees, teas, biscuits fresh milk in a good sized fridge, and quality complimentary toiletries in a large bathroom with bath and rainshower. Warm thick fluffy towels too. Very comfy large bed ( always a plus point for us as we’ve unfortunately slept on some horrors at other hotels). Underfloor heating made for a really cosy relaxing nights stay. We dined in the evening at the restaurant. They have an outside teepee complete with snuggly fur blankets, heaters and twinkly lights, for those wishing to dine al fresco. We chose the inviting indoors, where we were warmly greeted and well looked after during our dinner. We enjoyed two delicious courses. The mini starters were excellent ( and so good value) followed by two hearty roast dinners ( beef and pork) complete with huge crispy Yorkshire’s, and bowls of fresh seasonal veggies. Lovely ! The wine menu was decent, and service friendly and good. We had a smashing time. The ambience for a Sunday evening was warm and cheery too. Next morning after a very good nights peaceful sleep, we were treated to delicious hearty cooked breakfasts with quality produce ( locally supplied ?) from the good selection of options on the breakfast menu. Pastries, juice, cereals, teas and coffees also were offered alongside the hot options. It set us up properly for the day ahead. We’d like to say a huge thank you to all the lovely team at The Crown. Special thanks too to Nicole, Anna, Diana ( thanks for saving our roasts) Tanya, and Nicola, all for arranging our fab stay. We had the best time, and we just didn’t want to leave. You spoilt us. Huge thanks to you all and we wish you a very happy and healthy 2022. We will certainly look forward to visiting you again in the future. Karen and Steve x
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicole Barrett, General Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Responded 2 weeks ago
What a lovely review to start 2022 with! We are so looking forward to being able to look after our guests as we have always tried to do - with great food, friendly service and attention to individual requests - and let's hope a return to some kind of normality across the industry allows us to concentrate on this. As a group, Chestnut goes from strength to strength so look out for exciting new openings and an even greater selection of places to try! We look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
John G wrote a review Nov 2021
57 contributions65 helpful votes
We enjoyed breakfast here last week and all enjoyed it immensely. The main courses were all beautifully prepared and delicious. The Smoked Salmon and Scrambled Eggs were served on some bloomer toast as was the Eggs Benedict. The Avocado and poached Eggs was beautifully presented and my daughter assures me delicious. Our waitress was very attentive, polite, cheerful knew her job well. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicole Barrett, General Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Responded 2 Dec 2021
I’m so glad you and your family enjoyed your breakfast experience at The Crown. We have a fabulous and extensive menu with all dishes cooked to order (no rubbery scrambled eggs sitting under the heat lamps here!) and the good news is that we are also open to non-residents. It’s a good idea to book, especially if you’re a larger party. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Natalie J wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Probably one of the worst roasts I’ve ever had …£19.50 for two very thin ( Albeit nice ) cuts of beef , 3 of the most over cooked and clearly old / tough roast potatoes … with a old ( clearly sat in a tray next to roast potatoes for hours ) Yorkshire pud. Some bland microwaved veg. Really poor overall in terms of quality and quantity. Avoid … clearly overbooked and the food is sitting there for hours so unless your eating at 12 I’d suggest anything after 3PM your end up with our experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi V683cgnataliej, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$148 - US$231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the crown stoke by nayland hotel stoke by nayland
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkBabergh DistrictStoke by Nayland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Which popular attractions are close to The Crown, Stoke By Nayland?
Nearby attractions include Dedham Art & Craft Centre (7.6 km), Splatkidz (7.8 km), and Blue Owl (4.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Crown, Stoke By Nayland?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Angel Inn Restaurant, Tito's Ristorante, and Yew Tree.
Is The Crown, Stoke By Nayland located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.04 km away from the centre of Stoke by Nayland.
Are there any historical sites close to The Crown, Stoke By Nayland?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lavenham Guildhall (14.9 km), Flatford Mill (8.9 km), and Melford Hall (15.6 km).
Is The Crown, Stoke By Nayland accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.