We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sukau
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 213: English reviews
Start your review of Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge
 Click to rate
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As at all the accommodation a good welcome and the property looks impressive from the river. Again simple accommodation but with everything you needed. The bathroom looked like it was due an update.We stayed here two nights and had good nights sleeps and food was tasty and catered for vegetarians. We saw lots of wildlife and the highlight being a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelsbyCarol
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Set on the banks of the river, this lodge offers basic but comfortable accommodation designed for short stays. This is not a lodge for those seeking luxury, but is clean and comfortable. River excursions are imformative and enjoyable, with the guides being very knowledgeable. Lodge staff are friendly and eager to please, and encourage you to wear a longhi (provided)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D B
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place was a top retreat. We lucked out and were able to make all major sightings during our visit, including a large male oranutan right across from our lodge. The facilities and activities were top notch. The only downer would be the food - need to try make more of an effort on that but I understand that they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AussieGwailow
England
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Lovely spot for river safaris. Rooms were great considering where this place is! The food was fab, and the same as everyone we met in Malaysia they are so friendly and helpful. We unfortunately only had one night here due to our limited time, but would love to have stayed here longer!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Napey
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Napey, Thank you for your feedback. We always welcome your visit again. Cheers ! Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

vietnam
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We saw Pygmy elephants, proboscis monkeys, crocodiles, kingfisher, storks... amazing stuff. Also saw the collision of all this nature with human agribusiness needs, as the elephants had to be herded from a new rubber nursery. The lodge itself is basic, but really nice and solid. Staff is wonderful. Just don't be the person complaining about lack of hairdryer or whatever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maccymac
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear maccymac, Thank you for your feedback. FYI, we do provide hairdryer but you need to ask for it at the bar counter. It is a pleasure to serve you. Hope you have a great time in Borneo. Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2016

lovely place and great to explore around but also to relax-I wish we had stayed 2nights. Need time to take boats early and late PM to see wild life living in trees by riverside. Also around where we stayed. We did not see orangs but saw lots of other monkeys and birds[eales.hornbills]. Sadly jungle more and more cut down for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashley465
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Borneo Explorer tour. The rooms are basic, but you have everything you need and there is the option of opting for an air-conditioned room (at £20 per night) if you want. We did not choose this option and were more than fine in our room with just a fan and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harriet B
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Harriet B, Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is great to know you enjoy the place and the tour. It is our pleasure to serve you. Hope you have a good time here in Borneo! Do come back again next time =) Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

please note you are in the jungle, so the rooms are basic but everything you need to feel comfortable & happy. we stayed here after climbing mt kinabalu & what a treat! Samuel our guide assigned to us at the riverlodge was absolutley brilliant! all the staff were so kind & helpful. the food was lovely too. we saw lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisa k
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lisa and Nardhia, Thank you for your kind feedback. It is great to know you enjoy the wildlife nature excursion and had seen a lot of wildlife. Wish you have a memorable experience in Borneo and come back again =) Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

I spent three nights here as part of a holiday. The aim was to see as much wildlife as possible and this didn't disappoint. Everyday we were out on the river wildlife sighting. Such a great location. Yes the rooms are basic with no air conditioning and there are fans, but you are not in them for long. From a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pinkdobbo
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pinkdobbo, Thank you for your feedback. It is great to know you enjoy the wildlife here. Hope to see you again =) Cheers and have a nice day Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

I was here for a couple of nights last month. It really is right on the river and is much bigger than you would think. It is beautiful but of all the 3 wildlife resorts I stayed in on this holiday this was the most basic. I had an air conditioning room. Do state that you want one as there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnramsayoliver
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Johnramsayoliver, Thank you for your feedback. It's great to know you enjoy the wildlife nature excursion. Yup, welcome to the jungle~ You can go to ATM machine while you at Sandakan town area before going in to Sukau and Abai. Just inform the guide in advance so they can arrange for you. Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

225 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (223)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sukau
0.0 km away
Selingan Island Resort
Selingan Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
132 reviews
7.6 km away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
0.8 km away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#6 of 30 in Sandakan
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 km away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
8.2 km away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
232 reviews
8.8 km away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge is a property owned by S.I.Tours Sdn Bhd, a tour operator based in Sandakan which offers tour packages in North Sabah. Thank you for your interest in our business. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

Address: Sukau 90200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kinabatangan District > Sukau
Price Range: RM178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Kinabatangan Riverside Hotel Sabah
Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge Sukau, Kinabatangan District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“although you are in the jungle we slept well.”
 of 5 bubbles lisakZ4751BN, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 17A, 17B and 17C have aircon.”
 of 5 bubbles Teamfinbrown, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“some rooms are quite a long walk from the main lobby so worth checking if you have any mobility issues”
 of 5 bubbles eek-i-saw-a-mouse, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Air-conditioned rooms are in a block of 3. They only offer twin beds and you can hear everything that occurs within the other 2 rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles mspazz, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“It's hot, so make sure you have good insect screens or pay for A/C”
 of 5 bubbles EmberEL, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5