We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sukau
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 204: English reviews
UK
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge for one night. Whilst it was clean and offered decent river safaris, it did not meet the standard of its sister resort: the Abai Jungle Lodge, where food and the range of activities available were far superior. Tip: leech socks are cheaper here if you're planning a trip deeper into the jungle.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharChar20
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear CharChar20, Thank you for your feedback. We will try our best to do something for this resort. Anyway, it is a pleasure to serve you. Cheers~ Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Kinabatanagan Riverside Lodge

Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Travelled here from the Abai Jungle lodge down the river, and we were warmly welcomed with cold towels and chilled drinks. Promptly shown to our rooms (be careful of the boardwalks, they can be VERY slippery), and once settled we were shown a couple of DVDs on Borneo jungle life in the lounge. From here we had a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tosca1962
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tosca1962, Thank you for your feedback. It is a pleasure to serve you. Hope to see you again, Cheers~ Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Kinabatanagan Riverside Lodge

Naples, FL
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Nice accommodation on the river with great views from the restaurant (breakfast is particularly nice on the platform dock overlooking the river). River excursions are great because the boats are comfortable and the breeze cools you down. We saw lots of birds because of the openness of the river. We also saw the pigmy elephants which was an added treat....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ceg51
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ceg51, Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear you have seen a lot of wildlife here. Sorry for the WiFi, since we are in jungle, the network facilities is extremely limited, we'll try our best to improve in the future. Yeeveon for S.I.Tours and Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We departed from Abai Jungle lodge by boat heading towards Sukau looking for wildlife en-route. After this river cruise we were greeted by friendly staff on the jetty at the Riverside Lodge. A cool wet towel and drink were handed to us and were much appreciated! Our luggage was taken to our our room for us, which was much appreciated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marti888_13
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marti888_13, Thank you for your kind feedback. It is our pleasure to serve you and helped you have a nice holidays in Borneo! Hope to see you again, Cheers~ Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016

First of all, having read other peoples reviews on here. THIS IS IN THE MIDDLE OF A JUNGLE..... YOU ARE NOT HERE FOR 5* LUXURY AND INTERNET. Go somewhere else for that, this place is to see wildlife. Secondly, thank you so much to our guide Bryant. You were amazing, so knowledgeable and passionate about Borneo, Sabah and the Kinabatangan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndrewPlymouth
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AndrewPlymouth, Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We appreciate your compliments and it is a pleasure to serve you. We also are very happy to help you created a memorable honeymoon. Cheers ~ =) Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

The Lodge occupies an excellent location on the river and we saw lots of birds and animals (including orang-utan and proboscis monkeys) from the boats. Facilites in the Lodge though are not so great. The rooms are small with virtually no storage and no plug sockets. Ceiling fans are weak, poorly located and ineffective. The bathrooms are really small with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter3101
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Peter3101, Thank you for your comment. FYI, we have renovated our room just the beginning of 2016, the room are refurbished with cabinet storage for guest to put their luggage and clothes, there is plug socket in the room just nearby the table together with Ridsect Mat Heater. Other than that, we appreciate your points and the management team...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 27 August 2016

The food was ok, the staff was nice though the receptionist did not speak english at all with was odd since all the tourists were foreigner...... the wifi didn't work, we had to ask an employee to let us use his hotspot from his cell so we could book our next hotel and flight, that was pretty frustrating as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bella134
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear bella134, Thank you for your feedback to us. FYI, most of the employees in the lodge know a little English and normally there have no problem serving other in house guests also. Maybe, next time if you need any assistance you can communicate with our guide first. For the WiFi, we are sorry for the inconvenience. However, please put...

Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Although we only stayed at the lodge one night, it was still much better than some of the other accommodation we had stayed in up to that point. We went on a boat cruise with our guide; Albert, who was amazing and the boat driver; Captain Jackson. We managed to see a wild elephant, which as I could assume was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angharad S
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Angharad S, Thank you for your feedback on our lodge. It is a pleasure to serve you. FYI, Wildlife department and Forestry have set up rules for all tour operator at least 20 metres safe distance from the riverside to the boat in order to keep the wildlife and the tourist in safe hand. Cheers. Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2016

This lodge is 2.5 hours by speed boat from Sandakan. The boat trip is great fun but very very noisy - wear ear plugs at a minimum! The lodge itself is in the middle of the rainforest overlooking the river on which you travel for many wildlife excursions - see below. It is quite dated and simple but the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Teamfinbrown
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Teamfinbrown, Thank you for your feedback. It is great to know you enjoyed the trip. It is a pleasure to serve you. FYI, the soap in the washroom is Kimberly Clark Environmental Friendly Hair and Body shampoo. I personally tried it before and i think it is kinda nice. For make up room, you can put your key at...

Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Only spent one night here in two chalets with two young children. It was a nice next step from Abai, our previous stay, as it is very similar but a little larger and so it is more able to create an evening atmosphere. We loved the compulsory sarong; the boys were less impressed but another lovely family memory. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank J G
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear J G, Thank you for your feedback. It is great to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us. It is a pleasure to serve you. Have a nice day. Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

219 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (142)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sukau
25.6 km away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
3.7 km away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
25.9 km away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#5 of 30 in Sandakan
165 reviews
26.5 km away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
45 reviews
9.7 km away
Kinabatangan Wetlands Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge is a property owned by S.I.Tours Sdn Bhd, a tour operator based in Sandakan which offers tour packages in North Sabah. Thank you for your interest in our business. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

Address: Sukau 90200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kinabatangan District > Sukau
Price Range: RM179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Kinabatangan Riverside Hotel Sabah
Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge Sukau, Kinabatangan District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 17A, 17B and 17C have aircon.”
 of 5 bubbles Teamfinbrown, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“some rooms are quite a long walk from the main lobby so worth checking if you have any mobility issues”
 of 5 bubbles eek-i-saw-a-mouse, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Air-conditioned rooms are in a block of 3. They only offer twin beds and you can hear everything that occurs within the other 2 rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles mspazz, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“It's hot, so make sure you have good insect screens or pay for A/C”
 of 5 bubbles EmberEL, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I think all rooms are similar.”
 of 5 bubbles BarryA570, 22 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5