We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sukau
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 216: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

After having a fantastic night at the Abai Jungle Lodge we were a bit disappointed in our stay here. Although the accommodation is fairly similar we didn't find the staff as friendly or the food as appealing. It was also not as remote and 'jungle like' as Abai and was quite close to a main road. The wildlife was still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bexj3
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. Yes, Sukau is more commercial as compare to Abai. This is because it had been a long-time famous destination across the globe and Tourism in Sukau brought a lot of job opportunities to the locals and hence developments at the area increase as local population growing. Wish you have a good day! 😃 From:...

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2015

We stayed here as part of our 3 day river safari. Booked through Kuoni in the UK , we were booked with SI tours who were excellent. The accommodation is fairly basic but I think this is a plus and adds to the experience. The lodge itself is in lovely surroundings. The food was great here , served as a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IanLDiver
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We are very happy to know that you enjoy staying with us. All these great comments are very good motives for us to work harder to continuously provide our best service to all of you. Wish you have a good day! 😃 From: Yeeveon on behalf of all the staffs from S.I....

Sydney
Reviewed 14 September 2015

What a special experience to stay right on the river in the middle of the jungle and to cruise along the river spotting wild life. We saw lots of different monkeys as well as crocodiles, snakes, birds and a herd of pygmy elephants which actually decided to cross the river right in front of our boat. Amazing! The rooms at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mazhad
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We are very happy to know that you enjoy staying with us. All these great comments are very good motives for us to work harder to continuously provide our best service to all of you. Wish you have a good day! 😃 From: Yeeveon on behalf of all the staffs from S.I....

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 26 August 2015

We only stayed one night, and then went to sister lodge Abai for two. We liked Abai better, because the rooms are nicer, we loved the jungle board walk, and the area was more peaceful.. but KRL is very nice too; the staff are lovely and helpful, and the boat rides are excellent. Oh, and the food was great too!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bozotraveller
Essex, UK
Reviewed 26 August 2015

We stayed for two nights, after Sepilok and before Danum Valley. The transfer by boat from Sandakan was great fun, we saw wild orang utans high in the trees on the way, along with loads of monkeys and birds. We stopped for lunch at the sister lodge Abai, before carrying on an hour further up river. We chose this lodge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen W
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015

We stayted for 2 nights, after previously staying at Sepilok and Abai Jungle Lodge. This is the sister property of Abai Jungle Lodge, but in my opinuion this is the better of the two. We stayed in room 7, towards the back of the resort, reached by a boardwalk which links you to the jetty and restaurant area. Unlike Abai,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank passionatetraveller7
Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015

We stayed two nights and had a wonderful time. The rooms are very basic and quite gloomy but the location, staff, wildlife and food makes up for the room. We were lucky to see two orangutan on our first night and then one on our second night. They were high up so strong binoculars will help. The food was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alisonjane_11
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

Due to time restrictions we only stayed for one night at the lodge and wish we has stayed for more. The rooms are nicely laid out on a boardwalk and are spacious and clean, although we didn't spend much time in our room anyway. The main building is spacious and there is a large deck along the river which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leesa P
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2015

This is a pleasant lodge on the Kinabatangan River. The lodge room was clean and of a good size although there was a minor problem with the lack of hot water in our and some other lodge rooms while we were there. The staff were very good and the buffet style evening meal where we all dressed in local sarongs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David_G_Pu
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We stayed here for one night, having already spend two nights at Abai Jungle Lodge, owned by the same company. All was great - clean and spacious rooms, excellent food and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Our guide from Abai (Bryant) went with us, that seems to be the usual approach, to keep the same guide for the two locations....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D

225 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (223)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sukau
0.0 km away
Selingan Island Resort
Selingan Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
133 reviews
7.6 km away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
0.8 km away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 30 in Sandakan
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 km away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
8.2 km away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
238 reviews
8.8 km away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge is a property owned by S.I.Tours Sdn Bhd, a tour operator based in Sandakan which offers tour packages in North Sabah. Thank you for your interest in our business. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

Address: Sukau 90200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kinabatangan District > Sukau
Price Range: RM177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Kinabatangan Riverside Hotel Sabah
Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge Sukau, Kinabatangan District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were with a group of about 7 other couples and all rooms appeared to be similar. all rooms are in the forest.”
 of 5 bubbles nicoscotland, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“although you are in the jungle we slept well.”
 of 5 bubbles lisakZ4751BN, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 17A, 17B and 17C have aircon.”
 of 5 bubbles Teamfinbrown, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“some rooms are quite a long walk from the main lobby so worth checking if you have any mobility issues”
 of 5 bubbles eek-i-saw-a-mouse, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Air-conditioned rooms are in a block of 3. They only offer twin beds and you can hear everything that occurs within the other 2 rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles mspazz, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5