We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Anchor Hotel at Kippford

Booking.comUS$106*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Anchor Hotel at Kippford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Anchor Hotel at Kippford
See the most recent reviews
Showing 163: English reviews
stranraer
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Ate here on mothers day , lovely sunny day , severely understaffed , waited 55 mins on our food , no apologies until we actually complained , food was OK , nothing exciting. Probably won't be back , been several times before , next time we'll have chips in castle Douglas before we get there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iain r
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Hello Iain, thank you for commenting on your experience recently. I'm glad you raised your concerns at the time and I hope they were suitably answered. We were undermanned for reasons we did not expect and do accept that. Please do try us again, best wishes from the Team at the Anchor.

East Lothian
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Booked a double and was given the family room overlooking the bay - stunning views. Dog friendly hotel, nice pub food (haddock was super fresh). Full English breakfast was very good. Rooms were clean but could do with a bit of an update, nice Scottish Fine Soap toiletries. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison0706
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Hello Alison, thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed the food and that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope we do see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Anchor.

dumfries
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

We were at the Anchor on a Sunday lunchtime with family from Glasgow, it was busy on arrival and didn't mind the 30 minute wait for the food to arrive. I ordered game pie from the special board and was a tad disappointed. It could have been steak pie as it looked identical to my nieces steak pie, hard to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 432curtism
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Hello, thank you very much for writing your review. Hope you mentioned your thoughts on the day? - we do try and make sure everyone is pleased with their choices. But very glad to hear you would try us again! - Best wishes from all the team at the Anchor.

Merseyside
Reviewed 2 March 2017

This is the 3rd time we have stayed here and love it, Kippford is a beautiful location and the Anchor Hotel Run by Sharon & Rob and the team of friendly staff is the perfect place to stay. We brought our grandson and he loved it. Bring your dog as this is a dog friendly hotel, the best we have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank culturevulture12
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Hello there, thank you so much for taking the time to rate us. Lovely to see you again and yes hope it won't be long before you are back. We really are lucky with our location and we do like to think we have helped everyone have a super time from our hospitality to the food we serve, we try...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

The Anchor Hotel is a wonderful, family run business with excellent service and hospitality. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Sharen who showed us to our room which had a wonderful sea view. We stayed for a total of three nights and could not fault the food, ambience or surroundings. We will definitely recommend both the hotel and dining...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 702nicki
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Hello Nicki, thank you for your lovely review. It is appreciated. We do try and make sure everyone enjoys their stay and your comments encompass everything we strive to achieve. Glad we hit the spot! - Look forward to seeing you again - best wishes from the team at the Anchor

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Whenever we visit Dumfries and Galloway no stay is complete without a trip to Kippford with lunch at the Anchor. Our favourite is Chicken Balmoral, which we savoured this time on Burns Night. The atmosphere and the ambience of the pub are excellent, to sit next to a warming log fire is just perfect after a long walk. The views...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie M
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Hello Stephanie, thank you for your kind review. Reading your words makes us realise we really are providing exactly the kind of welcome and excellent food we aspire to. We are indeed lucky with our location too - see you again before too long. Best wishes from the team at the Anchor.

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

I saw someone say that this was a typically drab Scottish hotel................Oh how wrong some people can be,the atmosphere was warm and welcoming,the staff were polite,courteous and actually looked like they were enjoying their work.Mix into this the great food that was on offer and despite being exceptionally busy we certainly were not kept waiting to enjoy it.This is my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian D
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Thank you so much Ian for your review - so glad you had a fab time, and yes we do enjoy ourselves - we are blessed with a super location, have a great chef and a brilliant team all working hard to make that happen - hope to see you again before long from all the team at The Anchor

Chingford, London
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

16 of us visited the Anchor Hotel for lunch. The meals were all good and the service was very good. Great pints of Belhaven served, our favourite. Lovely little pub which should be visited if you staying in the area. Great views of the harbour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gooner89
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Thank you for writing in - big parties of folk are always a challenge, to get you all sorted at the same time and no one waiting - looks like we succeeded though and that everyone was happy. We are indeed blessed with our views and location - hope you get back to see us again - all the best...

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Great hospitality. Very friendly staff. Very chilled out place to be, either winter or summer. Cosy fire in winter. Lovely place to sit outside in summer. Magnificent views, good food. Rooms very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anita L
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Hello Anita, Thank You for your lovely review, look forward to you returning before long. Best wishes from all the Team at the Anchor

Merseyside
Reviewed 25 October 2016

What a little gem, we stayed for 3 nights and have nothing bad to say about this hotel at all, we went with our Grandson and our little dog. Nothing is too much trouble and we had very spacious accommodation but i have to say that the staff and owners make this hotel. They cannot do enough for you, its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank culturevulture12
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review and so pleased that you had a super time with us. Welcoming all members of the family including the very special four footed canine ones is very much rooted in our hospitality ethos. We enjoy what we do and I think your review reflects that that comes across! - thank you and...

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kippford
1.5 km away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
114 reviews
16.0 km away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
457 reviews
6.3 km away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dalbeattie
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Rosemount Guest House
Rosemount Guest House
#1 of 4 in Kippford
124 reviews
3.8 km away
No photo provided
Springfield B&B
#3 of 5 in Dalbeattie
13 reviews
16.5 km away
The Inn on the Loch
The Inn on the Loch
#2 of 4 in Crocketford
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Three miles south of Dalbeattie, a right hand turn down a small side road leads you to the unspoilt waterside village of Kippford, regarded by many as being the loveliest seaside village in the whole of South West Scotland. The Anchor Hotel is nestled on the banks of Urr Water as it makes its final journey into the Solway estuary. On a clear day you can even see the spectacular peaks of The Lake District. At the Anchor Hotel we have; Comfortable en-suite double, twin and family rooms all with views of the rivers. Our food menus include interesting seasonal food with fish specials as well as traditional pub favourites A great location with plenty for everyone to see and do in this beautiful part of Dumfries & Galloway. Food service times. Monday-Thursday Lunch 12-2pm Dinner 6pm-8pm Friday Lunch 12-2pm Dinner 5.30-8.30pm All day Saturday and Sunday 12-8.30pm We are open throughout the year and my team and I will do all we can to make your stay memorable. If you are looking for a relaxing stay in an area of natural beauty then this part of South West Scotland is perfect for you. To check room availability and rates just give us a call on 01556 620205 or check online ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchor Hotel at Kippford

Address: | Kirkcudbrightshire, Dalbeattie, Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kippford
Price Range: RM437 - RM545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Anchor Hotel at Kippford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anchor Hotel at Kippford staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Anchor Hotel at Kippford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“view over river from room 6,”
taffngill, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all rooms have a great view over the solway firth and there are larger rooms available”
culturevulture12, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“To be honest we've never stayed but always enjoyed the excellent food they serve”
E681WAstephaniem, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Views from front rooms are Fabulous”
culturevulture12, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room looking out to the loch.”
grumpyfuzz, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$106* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$106
PricelineUS$106
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates