We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bukela Game Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Bukela Game Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 188: English reviews
Start your review of Bukela Game Lodge
 Click to rate
London
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 2 nights at the end of 2 week garden route drive in a double suite. Suite was spacious and comfortable. Game drives were good - although believe what they say about the weather - we arrived and it was 40C and 36 hours later it was cold, wet and windy - supplied ponchos did a decent enough job of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steev_jo
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, we can't tell you enough how lovely it is to hear such great comments of your trip to Bukela, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We're pleased that you were able to enjoy the game drives, even in the rain! We're big on providing a top quality service and are very glad...

Cape Town
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had the most wonderful 3nights at this Lodge. Exceeded our expectations in every way. Game drives were superb and the ranger Jono certainly knew his stuff. Great staff and always friendly and helpful. We cannot fault our stay at all! Perfect!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen Ronald P
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Karen, thank you very much for the lovely review! We agree, a three night stay is a great amount of time to really gain the best experience of the reserve. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words to Jono and the rest of our team who really appreciate hearing back from past guests. We're thrilled that we...

Norwich
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a safari tent which was very well equipped, especially enjoyed the outside shower! Temperature in the tent fluctuates and the air-con unit was not really big enough to cope but that was our only complaint. Staff, service, knowledge of the ranger, food, cleanliness, was all first class. Fantastic setting and really enjoyed the personal touch of a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kcnrcook
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bukela. You're right, the Amakhala is a smaller reserve, which allows us to provide a more intimate safari experience for our guests. We are thrilled to hear you decided on us as for your first safari experience! We hope you'll visit...

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff were very welcoming and everything was ready on arrival, having our first game safari that afternoon. Evening meals with the other guests ( there were only 12 of us) enhanced the visit. We saw a wide range of animals with a knowledgeable guide. Food was well-presented and tasty and there was as much alcohol as you could drink,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K9094DHf
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for your wonderful review. It's great to hear feedback from our guests and all the more so when it is so positive. It is such a privilege to create a unique safari experience for our guests and we are certainly very lucky to have staff as dedicated as we do. We will certainly pass...

Gourock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Had a three night stay here after driving the garden route from Cape Town. Warm friendly welcome and stayed in a tented lodge. This was unlike any tent I've ever seen! Beautifully furnished and so comfortable. Just loved the outside shower but never got round to the freestanding bath. Game drives in the early morning and late afternoon with jono...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyndsay c
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Lyndsay, we can't tell you enough how lovely it is to hear such great comments of your trip to Bukela, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We're big on providing a top quality service and are very glad to hear that your stay was such a wonderful and relaxing one. We can't wait...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bukela. From the moment we arrived, Sanet and her team made us feel very welcome. We stayed in one of the luxury tents, with everything available for our comfort. Wella1 was most attentive and efficient, and breakfast and dinner were relaxed and sociable affairs, not dissimilar to the ski chalet experience. The focus of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WalrusOfHove
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Wow thank you so much for the wonderful praises! It was such a pleasure reading about your experience at Bukela Game Lodge and the Amakhala Game Reserve. Game drives are certainly one of the most exciting things about being at the lodge, and with a guide like Janco you are certain to learn a thing or two with his vast...

Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Stayed in one of the lodges which was luxurious and had just about everything we could possibly need. The staff were very helpful and attentive. Brunch was excellent, though we felt dinner was average. Went on 4 game drives and saw just about everything! Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patsypud
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Patsy, Thank you so much for the lovely review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your time here and will certainly pass on your praises to the staff. It's great to hear you had good sightings on your visit, the Amakhala is a perfect size with few guests to enable the best game viewing experience possible. We hope to see...

St Albans
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Small and wonderfully luxurious way to see animals in the wild. Individual lodges with every comfort provided. Dining was as a group (there were 12 when we were there) which was most enjoyable. Very knowledgeable game ranger drove us out twice a day and we managed to see cheetah, elephants, lions and rhino plus many others. Thoroughly recommend Bukela!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TwosomeStAlbans
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bukela. You're right, the Amakhala is a smaller reserve, which allows us to provide a more intimate safari experience for our guests. We are thrilled to hear you decided to visit us and hope you'll visit us again soon. Until then,...

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017

The accommodation at Bukela Game Lodge was first class. We stayed in one of the luxury tents for three nights. The site facilities and staff were also excellent. Our ranger did his upmost to ensure we saw as much wildlife as possible. Unfortunately a heavy storm prevented access to the lower parts of the reserve on our final day. However...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen D
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Stephen, thank you very much for the lovely review! We're glad the rain clouds didn't manage to dampen your stay and you had a wonderful experience with us. We agree, a three day stay is a good amount of time to really gain the best experience of the reserve. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words to...

High Peak
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Wonderful 3 nights here at the luxurious bukela lodge. Warm welcome from staff who welcomed us with a fab braii and african cultural evening of music and tribal dance. All staff wonderful and Excellent food cooked by first class chefs. Amazing wildlife guided by expert ranger! Hi light of our 5 week trip around the cape.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susangL1408KG
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

We are extremely happy to hear we were a highlight of your trip around the Cape and that you enjoyed your Bukela safari experience so much! We hope that you left Bukela and the Cape with some cherished memories. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and especially for mentioning our staff's efforts. We have a wonderful...

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
21.8 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
340 reviews
2.5 km away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
303 reviews
6.3 km away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
345 reviews
7.8 km away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,042 reviews
1.5 km away
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Leeuwenbosch Country House
#1 of 3 in Amakhala Game Reserve
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bukela Game Lodge Is A 5-Star Luxury Lodge In The 7 500 ha malaria-free Amakhala Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape South Africa. Accommodation at this tranquil game lodge is provided in four suites, each individually styled in African simplicity while never compromising on luxury. This secluded safari destination is tucked away into indigenous trees and bushes at the top of a hidden valley and has the perfect setting for the intimate and romantic guest experiences for which we are renowned. Connected by a wooden walkway, our thatched suites offer a remarkable private wildlife-viewing experience. Savour a crisp glass of wine in your sun-soaked spa bath, opening onto trees alive with birdsong. Indulge in sumptuous high teas, private candlelit dinners or exciting fireside boma dinners under African stars. And as you fall asleep, hear the silence broken by the unmistakeable sounds of elephant and buffalo making their stately progress through the unfenced camp. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bukela Game Lodge

Address: R342 Landman Road | off N2, between Port Elizabeth and Grahamstown, Amakhala Game Reserve 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range: RM2,135 - RM4,618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bukela Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bukela Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bukela Game Hotel Amakhala Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bukela Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Bukela Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Newly built luxury tented rooms are amazing”
  • Excellently finished bathroom (shower is just round the corner)
  • View from our luxury tent
  • All you need and finished to an excellent standard
128samanthal, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Safari tents are proper glamping.”
Chazzer124, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best Safari”
gregorylives, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are fabulous, but they do have a couple of huge luxury tents that are in a more elevated position which might be nice too.”
Geekywife, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Honeymoon suite was lovely, tall four poster bed, furthest away from reception. Loved it.”
garvangallagher, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Expedia.com
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates