We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dukes Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Dukes Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

757 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 756: English reviews
Start your review of The Dukes Retreat
 Click to rate
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Despite knowing that the temperatures won't be any gentle, we headed out to Lonavala for the weekend and decided to stay at The Duke's Retreat. Finding the hotel is pretty easy and you need to drive up hill to the reception. The first impression is great. Smooth check in and I was given a room with a partial valley view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adi_rcklyf
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Excellent place for week end. Good rooms with big bathrooms. Neat and clean .food OK. View from restaurant is the best USP of this place. Costly place.it's just behind rocks.so you see rocks, when you come out OF room.swimming pool is small but good for time pass

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sanganibk
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Destination weddings are the things which are very much preferred these days! And this hotel serves so much for the purpose! I had a stay of around 2 days in this hotel. Their service is very good. Such mesmerising views from its rooms balcony! A bit highpriced but worth it. Among the best hotels in lonavala Will surely visit this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shubhammalpani13
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited the Dukes retreat after a long time.was blown away by the updated property.beautiful garden and walking paths.ample parking space is a bonus.the rooms are amazing as all of them are valley view.sunrise view in your room is just too much.will visit again in the rains.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rashmibhat
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice resort with good location, Room service is great , Best place to relax and enjoy the nature. They have a large pool / board game activities / kids garden / Movie DVD's available with front desk / . The live music was awesome. Staff hospitality is nice. Overall had a good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sankalp N
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with family enroute travel back to Mumbai. Was looking for a break to just rest and unwind so wanted something peace and quiet. The Dukes retreat was indeed a good spot for all these, perfectly located and very good views of the valley. Arriving at the location, you are greeted with a friendly staff, we took the cottages on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarioB76
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a business meeting for couple of days at this resort. It is located very near to mumbai pune express way. Nise swimming pool side restaurant. View from the rooms have a glimpses of valley. Probably the best season to visit is the rainy season.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anujtambi2727
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed with my family in Dec 2016, this was a repeat visit, earlier it was for conferences. There were standees about various adventure activities at the reception area but staff could not answer and the concerned staff was not there. Additionally, when I enquired about nearby places to see, the staff gave me a print out but unfortunately could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saggit123
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Dukes Retreat for one night with family. The resort is in an excellent location. The view from the rooms was brilliant even though we opted for the Executive Rooms (2nd Floor) which offer a partial valley view compared to the Valley View rooms. The rooms were excellent with very good interiors and comfortable beds. The washrooms very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KNitesh
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Nitesh, Thank you for sparing your time to review us. It is indeed a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable experience at The Dukes Retreat Khandala. Your feedback regarding our location, cleanliness, quality of service, food offerings & fun activities has been humbly received and highly appreciated. It makes me very happy to see that you left...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just a 3 hour drive from the city, this property lies in the midst of the hills of Lonavala. It's a perfect getaway from all the pollution, noise and hustle bustle of the city. It caters to al kinds of groups, be it family, friends or even solo. It has all the major requirements of any resort such as swimming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ankithamirwasia
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from The Dukes Retreat Khandala ! Thank you for taking time to share your review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us and our services met your expectations. Your positive comments about the hotel have been humbly received. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon....

467 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (461)
Viewed
Room/Suite (91)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (67)
Viewed
View from Room (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Other (149)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khandala
3.6 km away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
11.1 km away
The Machan
The Machan
#3 of 67 in Lonavala
811 reviews
4.5 km away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
338 reviews
0.3 km away
Zara's Resort
Zara's Resort
#2 of 6 in Khandala
183 reviews
4.3 km away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#7 of 67 in Lonavala
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dukes Retreat at Khandala is not more than a 15 minute picturesque drive away from Lonavala. The resort is a landmark located 1850 ft. above sea level. Keys Khandala is spread across 11 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, valley-view and the mesmerizing Western Ghats. The property benefits from being set in the lap of the flora of the region and nestles amidst waterfalls, nature trails and winding forest paths. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dukes Retreat

Address: Pune Mumbai Road, Khandala, Lonavala 410301, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala > Khandala
Price Range: RM490 - RM844 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dukes Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Dukes Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Retreat Hotel Khandala
The Dukes Retreat Khandala, Maharashtra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dukes Retreat staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from The Dukes Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles saggit123, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose the Valley View Rooms if budget is not a constraint however the partial view from the Executive Rooms is also pretty good!”
 of 5 bubbles KNitesh, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose an Executive room over the Deluxe if you can afford it.”
 of 5 bubbles 579kumudd, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room with Bath tub”
 of 5 bubbles , 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to avail a cottage 307 / 308. Its spacious and close to pool and dining / play area............ full of sunlight”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5