We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Woody Cape Backpackers & Nature Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Woody Cape Backpackers & Nature Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 24: English reviews
Uitenhage, South Africa
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

The scenery at Woody Cape is similar to a fairytale of wonder. Every tired soul would be rejuvenated in an instant. The camping facilities, ablutions, hostel, chalets and restaurant are however short of a little TLC. Even so, this is all forgotten the moment you experience the most beautiful sunset you have ever seen.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 592shellym
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Beautiful scenery perfect for a getaway from civilisation, great beach loads of dunes, went in winter so it was quite chilly and rainy but we still managed to do 2 hikes and 2 beach walks, I can only imagine how nice this place is in summer!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We came across the gem if a setting. The view was amazing. Crashing waves. Soft sand and incredible sand dunes. Apparently the longest stretch of sand dunes in the world . Unfortunately the accommodation is run down and neglected. If You don't mind that - it is a magic spot to recharge and reflect

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 365giannad
Pietermaritzburg
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We stayed in Dolphin self accommodation cabin which suited our family of four great. Kids (8 and 10) loved the cabin, the surroundings (nice tree swing right out front), the pool... and we all loved the dunes. Just amazing to be the only ones there as far as the eye could see. We stayed two nights and I would consider...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank W3897MNamyr
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

During the peak season (2015/16) we spent the weekend camping at this awesome natural paradise. My comments exclude consideration of the backpackers/self catering accommodation. Its a laid back venue where you can still enjoy the unspoilt wonders of the Eastern Cape. Understandably the new/old year weekend was extremely overcrowded with limited ablution facilities. The proprietors and staff are most helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andre O
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

We stumbled across Woody Cape whilst trying to access the ocean. It's not well signposted and it's about 10 miles down a dirt track but my goodness it's worth finding. We were taken up on to the dunes by Logan who explained how the dunes moved and what wildlife we should look for. Then he took me down to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johhnyv70
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 February 2016

We booked this accommodation on airbnb, but were pleasantly surprised to see that it was part of the overall Woody Cape Backpackers Lodge. The drive from the town to the lodge was along a dirt road and further than expected. Try to buy food before you get to the rooms, as once you're there you wouldn't want to leave! We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jozi_Alia
Coffee Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 7 February 2016

The dunes at Woody Cape are some of the most spectacular I have ever seen. You can sit on the little deck and just amaze yourself at all the colours and contours during sunrise and sunset. The dune forest is full of bird and animal life and the diversity of plant life will keep you spellbound. The place itself is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HikingWildCoast
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Woody Cape Backpackers is located in a amazingly beautiful spot away from it all however the accommodation leaves a lot to be desired. Our 6 sleeper chalet (loerie) whilst it did have 6 beds shouldn't be allowed to host more than 4 people (and I'd cautiously advice that those 4 consist of 2 adults and 2 children. There was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2_Schay
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 4 January 2016

The dorm is the dirtiest one I have ever seen in my life. Spiders on the walls, mold as well and 26 beds. The bathroom was super dirty and I did not sleep a minute in this accommodation. Th wifi was not working. Staff member were not caring and we felt not welcome in this backpack.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annika R
Che_Roberts, Manager at Woody Cape Backpackers & Nature Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, I am sorry that you had an unpleasant experience, unfortunately you arrived at a time when our place was full and our normal dorm accommodation was also full. You were accommodated in a dorm which is reserved normally just for groups as you arrived as a part of a larger group. When you booked there was no other available...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
21.2 km away
Kariega River Lodge
Kariega River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kenton-on-Sea
192 reviews
28.0 km away
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp
20.4 km away
Kariega Settlers Drift Tented Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.8 km away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
251 reviews
28.4 km away
Kariega Game Reserve
Kariega Game Reserve
#1 of 9 in Kenton-on-Sea
1,219 reviews
33.1 km away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our lodge and backpackers is situated in one of the most beautiful spots in the world, we have over 50km of beach right on our doorstep and we are on the border of the marine section of Addo. The view from the lookout over the dunes and the beach is breathtaking and you feel completely surrounded by nature with many different bird species calling woodycape their home. We're off the beaten trail and the place is a real treat for those searching for nature, peacefulness and beautiful surroundings. When I took over the place lots of work needed doing and slowly I am building it into something I can be proud of. These things take time however and I need to clarify that we are not an upmarket place, our accommodation is simple, basic and nothing fancy. If you are expecting high speed wifi (we have wifi it is slow though), DSTV, a kitchen with a dishwasher and a jacuzzi in the bathroom you will be sorely disappointed. If you would prefer to complain because things are not perfect yet then perhaps this is not the place for you. If you are the type of person that can just relax enjoy the peace and quiet, soak up the natural beauty of the surroundings and come down to the bar and have a chat with us friendly folk you might discover many incredible things. The amazing bioluminescence that shows up at night or the fireflies that light the path on the way to the beach or you can just chill round the campfire and admire the billions of stars staring down at you from the heavens. If you are this simple uncomplicated kind of person or would like to try and be you will have a blast. Many others have. See you on the dunes.... Che ... more   less 

Additional Information about Woody Cape Backpackers & Nature Lodge

Address: Woody Cape Beach, Alexandria 6185, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Alexandria
Price Range: RM105 - RM181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Woody Cape Backpackers & Nature Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Woody Cape Backpackers & Nature Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The chalets were great value for money. Keep the windows closed to avoid mosquitoes. Ask for a room with a close walk to the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles Jozi_Alia, 7 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask the owner to upgrade the place.”
 of 5 bubbles HikingWildCoast, 7 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Don't exceed 4 people in a 6 sleeper.”
 of 5 bubbles 2_Schay, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“take a tent :)”
  • bathroom in Loerie
 of 5 bubbles battcatt, 11 Nov 2015 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay