We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fort Steele Campground

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Steele
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Fort Steele Campground
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

We checked out the other campsite by the gas station on the highway and decided to come here instead. We appreciated the quiet surroundings, friendly ground keepers and clean bathrooms. For people tenting, it would be nice to have closer access to toilets especially when people camp with little ones. Also having more trees between the camp sites would be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria B
Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2016

This turnoff for this camp ground is at the bottom of the hill just outside of Fort Steele with a somewhat short paved winding road to the campground. We were greeted by Rhonda and thank God they do not take reservations as they could accommodate me. The grounds were well manicured, the bathrooms, showers were "very clean". I saw some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
Bob Y, Pool Boy! at Fort Steele Campground, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind and generous review 'Michael G'. We are proud that such great people stay with us! And thank you for recognizing the difference between us and the place that all-but-copied our name! 😊 We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We really loved staying at this camp ground. Bob and his family were very polite and helpful. We liked the bats and the little hike we took at the camp ground. It was very quiet and what we call real camping.

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
Bob Y, Pool Boy at Fort Steele Campground, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review! We are trying hard to create a good camping experience and enjoy meeting so many great people! More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Spent one night tenting here. Friendly and helpful owners. The campground is very quiet as it is off the highway. Pretty, nicely treed grounds. Showers and bathrooms are clean. They had an outdoor solar heated pool which I tried despite the cool cloudy weather. I almost stayed at the "competition" on the highway (where the gas station is) and so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reginald_Chung
Bob Y, Pool Boy at Fort Steele Campground, responded to this review

We are grateful that you managed to find us, and are especially happy that you enjoyed your stay. We fully understand your reservation about our reservation policy! 😊 We've been forced into the situation because of the "competition", and their less than honest actions in the past. The good news is that we rarely fill up now - and that... More 

Drumheller, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

This little campground has very friendly staff the washrooms and showers are decent and it's on a first come first serve basis so no reservations needed. My family enjoyed their stay expecially the pool. Thanks to Bob and staff for being so kind and friendly!

Helpful?
Thank Sheldon H
Bob Y, Pool Boy :) at Fort Steele Campground, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments! We have the best campers staying with us! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

I would come back to this campground in a heart beat! Bob was so kind when he greeted us and got us all checked in! He really goes out of his way to build a relationship with all of the people that stay at his campground. The campground host Vern, was equally great! He met us at our site, helped... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Eric Carrie M
Bob Y, Pool Boy at Fort Steele Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for such kind comments! It's easy to be nice to people when you are so nice to us! We have the best campers staying with us! In fact, as you know, we do this because we want to, not because we have to! 😊 Thank you again for making it so much fun to run our little campground! More 

Bow Island, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Fantastic hosts, quiet setting yet still very close to Fort Steele, full services for your unit, they really do go above and beyond to accommodate your stay. The only things that take away from the experience were no wifi and the road in was a little sketchy - but still easily driveable. Stay up after dark to see over 250... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank OliverEdwards
Bob Y, Pool Boy :) at Fort Steele Campground, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind review OliverEdwards. Unfortunately, we can't get Wifi as Telus won't place a repeater in a position that has a direct line-of-sight transmission to our beautiful little campground. In this case, the advantage of having a quiet place located in a valley is a disadvantage as the tall hills block out the signal. There is nothing we... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Tiggh is reviewing the wrong campground, the Fort steele "RV RESORT " is the one with the dirty bathrooms with no privacy!!!, and that's why we tried this one, this campground is incredibly clean and bathrooms are very clean. Beautiful location with no noise from the highway. Bob, Rhonda and staff are the friendliest folks in the valley and thankfully... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Beebster670
Bob Y, Pool Boy at Fort Steele Campground, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review and setting the previous reviewer correct. I did send an email to "Tiggh" but they have not removed the incorrect review. Thanks Beebster670! More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Have what you need on a camp site. Very quiet. Have a store with few things. The bathrooms and showers are very dirty. Need socks in the shower. lololo NO privacy in the shower. You shower wide open in to the main bathroom people come and go openly while you have you shower. If you are shy not a place... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TiggH
Bob Y, Pool Boy at Fort Steele Campground, responded to this review

Unfortunately.... you have reviewed the WRONG campground! The review you have placed is for the Esso campground. We understand your confusion as the Esso campground copied our name years ago. Our bathrooms are very clean and they are PRIVATE, with a changing area with a locked door, then the shower with a shower curtain. You have clearly reviewed THE WRONG... More 

British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2015

This campground is run by friendly people who will add some education regarding nature during your stay should you be in the right time and place. Look for the bat boxes that empty at dusk for feeding and return again at dawn to sleep. If you ha be a reservation, this probably isn't the campsite you're staying at - it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bevjae

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about Fort Steele Campground

Address: 335 Kelly Road, Fort Steele, British Columbia, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fort Steele
Number of rooms: 50
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fort Steele Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any of the camping spots are good.”
 of 5 bubbles bevjae, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
1 of 1