We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lethabo Estate

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lanseria
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Lethabo Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 229: English reviews
Start your review of Lethabo Estate
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I made arrangments to have my girlfriends Biirthday party at the venue I asked that they must make sure that there is enough food for all the the parties I paid in full and I did not even have food the evening in her party I was so embaressed due to the fact that I invited the whole family, When...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rudis739
Lise E, Owner at Lethabo Estate, responded to this review

Hello Rudi, We are rather baffled by your review as the comments left in the visitor's book by your guests went as follows.... "It has been a great pleasure to have celebrated my sisters 31st birthday. Not only the food but every aspect of tonight has been amazing. Thank you for the humble hospitality hope to see you soon. With...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived we thought we werent goint to have a good evening as there was no one at reception and we walked around for 10 minutes before someone welcomed us, the room was very nice and the service from Thoman(i think that was his name) was excellent! The dinner was also amazing

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hezaan
Lise E, Owner at Lethabo Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Im so sorry you had to wait before being attended to. Our cameras were recently truck by lightning and have only now been repaired which means we had some blind spots and didnt see you immediately Normally we greet guests as they come down the pathway! We are delighted that you...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Service was incredible and staff were extremely polite and helpful. The Kingfisher room was smaller than expected but the set up and privacy is what makes this estate special. They go out of their way to make your stay romantic - picnic baskets and rose petals, wine and cocktails on the deck were all done beautifully

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennifermU5286JV
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the great service provided and an awesome experience. We absolutely loved our stay there. Food was divine and the picnic was amazing! Our room service was lovely. Loved the fireplace and spa bath. Thanks for everything! A place that we'll never forget.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank neusadasilva82
Lise E, Owner at Lethabo Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again. Lots of love from the Lethabo Team

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you to Lethabo Estate for making my husband's birthday exceptional!! A breathtaking setting, beautiful scenery and WOW, 5 star picnic basket! The personal touch from Denise and Ilse made our day even more memorable. Definitely a must for everybody :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carin100
Lise E, Owner at Lethabo Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing us and for choosing us for the special day. We loved spoiling you here. Lots of love from the Lethabo Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Otters Hide unit for one night and it was just breathtaking! The room was impeccable, right on the banks of the river. The 3 course picnic was perfection and our own private picnic bed under a lapa was just so romantic (just a few feet from the unit and right next to the river). Absolute comfort,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Misshaw
Lise E, Owner at Lethabo Estate, responded to this review

Thank you Melissa for your very kind praise and appreciation of our beautiful Otters Hide. We love it too and we hope we see you both here again. Love from The Lethabo Team

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

food needs attention , no one cleaned the room the next day, no iron, no doom , location was not good,made the car dirty for the meeting next day, it better if it for family or couples ,it not a place you can sleep alone in .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jabulilez
Lise E, Owner at Lethabo Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for our review. Your comments assist us in providing a better experience. We pride ourselves in our cuisine which is normally of a very high standard. I know you returned after midnight for the meal and I'm sure that by then the food the manager left for you as you requested was not as good as it would...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here as a celebration of our anniversary and it was amazing! Lise, went out of her way to ensure that our strict dietary requirements of halaal were being taken care of, and the fish and vegetarian food option was divine. Our chosen room was the rock pool lodge and was spacious and beautiful. Thank you Lethabo Estate for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fatima V
Lise E, Owner at Lethabo Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing Lethabo and for taking the truble to review us. e would love to see you again. It was our great pleasure hosting you.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Lethabo Estate is ideal for a quick romantic getaway out of JHB, only a 45min drive. The picnic spots next to the crocodile river makes or a beautiful scenic escape. Service was good and it is truly real value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank justincX1402OC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

If there is one place you need to visit to relax it is Lethabo Estate! Everything here was perfect the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the rooms were comfortable and luxurious, the food was 5 star and prepared with your taste in mind, everything was an explosion of flavour. The Spa is a MUST visit for anybody looking to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 500duncanb

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanseria
37.4 km away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
248 reviews
37.4 km away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
15.9 km away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
Avianto
Avianto
#3 of 5 in Muldersdrift
202 reviews
37.8 km away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
52 reviews
2.6 km away
Lanseria Country Estate
Lanseria Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Lanseria
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our gorgeous accommodation, just minutes from Fourways and Broadacres, beckons to courting couples and stressed out executives alike. Lethabo is embraced by the rolling blue Magaliesburg foothills in the Cradle of Humankind just 20 minutes from Fourways. Our guesthouse has 6 double en-suite rooms, each with its own private balcony with the views of the surrounding Nature Reserve. Our Willow Tree Lodge is a lovers haven, a thatched "A" frame structure on stilts, with a sunken jacuzzi spa bath, loads of candles, and a double hammock on the waters edge. River Cottage is a sweet old stone cottage with a wide verandah with jacuzzi looking over the river. Our meals are a masterfully prepared delight and are our romantic picnics are sublime. While dining in our gourmet restaurant, overlooking our dam, and the wrap around views of the nature reserve, we will indulge you with our uniquely South African cuisine. Choose from our seasonal menu which includes Cape Malay Chicken, served in a crispy poppadum, a specially aged Beef Fillet rolled in cracked black pepper & served with a pearl onion and black cherry sauce, Norwegian Salmon lightly seared with creamy gorgonzola, Kingklip Tempura served with a honey, ginger, and sherry reduction, all accompanied by a medley of traditionally slow roasted Mediterranean organic vegetables. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lethabo Estate

Address: Portion 25 Vlakfontein, Lanseria 1748, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Lanseria
Price Range: RM422 - RM1,152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lethabo Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lethabo Estate staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Lethabo Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close your eyes and pick any room, they are all beautiful”
carin100, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We loved the Rock Pool Cottage because of the pool.”
CookieMou, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlook the river”
sheradinem9, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rock Lodge was gorgeous and private for a romantic stay”
819larar, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Bring a torch and good shoes, then any room is easily accessible”
pepeyangu, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5