We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chobe River Camp

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Chobe River Camp
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 42: English reviews
Start your review of Chobe River Camp
 Click to rate
San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Camp Chobe accommodation is tented huts on stilts. Which they need to be because elephants and hippos frequently swim the Linyati River (which feeds the Chobe River). (The far bank is a section of Chobe game reserve, Botswana. With substantial wildlife including elephants, hippos, and crocodiles which love the water). These animals siesta on the Botswana bank during the day....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bajaya
Omaruru, Namibia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly staff and good facilities that need a bit of maintenance. The beds were very comfortable and the location of the camp is very scenic. There is excellent game viewing across the Chobe River on the Botswana side, like elephant, hippo, giraffe, etc, from the comofort of one's porch on the Namibian side. It was a very relaxing stay and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 701birgitd
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Chobe River Camp, responded to this review

Once again, Thank you so much for making our property your place of interest and for believing in us, we are stunned! Your suggestions have been acknowledged and have been shared with the lodge management to ensure necessary efforts were possible. We are hoping to make your next visit a near perfect experience. Best wishes in your future adventures. Kind...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We called ahead for advice about how to get to the camp and the response wasn't very helpful. The camp is poorly signposted and road that we took (following instructions as well as we could understand them) took us into deep water (literally). This spoiled our experience as by the time we got there we were a bit freaked and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Chobe River Camp, responded to this review

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your experience on this platform and for making us aware of the difficulties that you have encountered, our deepest apologies. Your feedback has been shared with the housekeeping staff and property management for further analysis ' ensuring best efforts to minimise such incidents in the near future. We...

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

My wife booked in on Wednesday afternoon with an elderly gent taking the booking , saying we had to get there before 10 pm for a meal - I arrived later - on entering Ngoma we went to the lodge via the rear entrance which was horn dogs in itself. Unkept . On arrival we met the elderly guy and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pupils
Liebwindhoek, Manager at Chobe River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Dave, the younger guy was me (the owner) and my father was the elderly guy. As per the sign the lodge is and was close due to renovations and only open again on the 16th of February. My father said we can help, but you should be at the lodge before 20:00 for dinner. At 21:00 I told the...

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

We visited camp chobe on the namibia side over Christmas. Excellent accommodation. Is quiet if you want time out. Really relaxing. Cuts you off totally from hustle and bustle. Nature conscious - recycled water - solar powered energy. Sometime animals can be seen drinking from the river. Great for camping or chalet type (camp) accommodation. If there's rain - you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ahmed B
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We stayed at Camp Chobe in late September 2016, for 3 fabulous memorable nights. The position of our elevated spacious, tastefully decorated tent (no 10) was just great to watch the sunrise & sunset over the mighty Chobe River, a wonderful start & end to each day. Gordon, the manager, was most helpful if needed as were all the staff....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J0hn_Shar0n
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Nice campground with a beautiful view over the river bed. As we arrived we saw about 25 elefants going past the camp towards the water. The toilets and the water in the shower have a funny smell. Nice bar area with very slow Internet, depending on size of people online. Someone either from inside or the nearby village was in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tom G
Liebwindhoek, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed Camp Chobe. The campsite belong to the conservancy and because of problems we decided to help and to up lift the campsite. I am sorry about the stealing it is a problem lately, but lucky with the help of the conservancy and the police they caught the thieves and they are now behind bars.

Mbabane
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Situated meters from the Chobe river. Otters swimming every morning. Thousands of zebras eating on the plains in front of us. Wild dog, hyena, elephant buffalo walking the plains. Bird life that will blow your mind. Thousands of pelicans, open bills, jacanas, sandpipers and more. It is paradise. Extremely hospitable hosts. Fantastic bar and restaurant. Camp facilities are spotless with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry T
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

I have to say in advance that our standards dropped a bit when we arrived here because we just came from Zimbabwe. That been said, we really loved it here! The campsite is separate from the camp and really spacious with private ablutions. We also did a sunset boat safari which was great as well. Well organized, lovely scenery and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fedor I
Florence, Italy
Reviewed 22 September 2016

I really did enjoy my overnight stay in this permanent tent on stilts with eco chic decor. The shower had good pressure and piping hot. The sunrise was simply stunning. The bar is also very welcoming. I highly recommend this place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 58renate

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katima Mulilo
0.0 km away
Namushasha River Lodge
Namushasha River Lodge
#2 of 4 in Caprivi Region
269 reviews
0.0 km away
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
#1 of 4 in Caprivi Region
155 reviews
0.0 km away
Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge
Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Katima Mulilo
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hakusembe River Lodge
0.0 km away
Caprivi Houseboat Safaris
Caprivi Houseboat Safaris
#2 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
63 reviews
0.0 km away
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gaze over the flood plains and enjoy luxurious solitude on the banks of the Chobe River. Assuring extraordinary experiences, we offer 20 luxury tented chalets. The lodge was inspired by the natural beauty of the landscape and all chalets have been constructed using indigenous Mopane timber and canvas. This offers not only a stunning sight, but an environmentally conscious design. Expect a unique and wondrous experience when visiting the Camp. This region is Namibia’s very own version of the Serengeti and offers a rare experience. With a bit of luck you can see large herds of elephants, buffalo and antelope. Activities may be seasonal, but will always amaze and intrigue our guests. Chobe River Camp is a wildlife and birder’s dream and is the ideal place to break away, just across the river from the world renowned Chobe Nature Reserve, home to one of the largest concentrations of elephant on the African continent. The Camp is also the ideal place for day trips to Victoria Falls, located only 150km away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chobe River Camp

Address: Ngoma Area | Eastern Caprivi, Katima Mulilo 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Caprivi Region > Katima Mulilo
Price Range: RM3,175 - RM5,351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chobe River Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Chobe River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chobe River Camp staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Chobe River Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The access road is rough. Call ahead before driving it!”
  • View of river from huts. Easy access for far side wildlife.
  • Tented hut with solar hot water. Note stilts and stairs.
bajaya, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Tent 10 had uninterrupted views of the river to the left.”
  • Chalet 10
  • Sunset over the Chobe River
  • Sunset on the Chobe canoe trip
J0hn_Shar0n, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a Room overlooking the plains.”
barryt779, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Tent with glass front overlooking the river bank”
  • tent on stilts
Judy60_01, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had Chalet 10 which seemed to have the best views.”
survdale, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates