We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ambre Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ambre Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,748: English reviews
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

What can I add to all the great reviews on this holiday? Everything was pretty near perfect ! My room was great although a little far from the action (817) it was quiet with a wonderful view. Always beautifully clean and bar restocked daily. I ate in la plage every lunchtime which was fabulous the food was perfect. The Italian...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Gale M
Rajen C, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. It’s very pleasing to read that you have had cherished moments while sojourning at our resort. We are thankful for your motivational words on our team members who will always do their utmost to meet each single request of our guests. We sincerely appreciate the wonderful comments and...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Having never experienced an all inclusive package we were very impressed with our choices. I believe the hotel is a 4 star but needs a little attention to detail and guest comfort in terms of some procedures which are set in stone such as having to queue to book a restaurant for dinner from 9am and finding this quite stressful...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank claire m
Rajen C, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Greetings from Ambre Resort & Spa! Thank you for your kind comments and the time spent to share them on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to learn that you have had a joyful time with us and are pleased to see our efforts extended in making your stay a wonderful experience. I will not miss to share...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here from 4th to 18th September , for a much needed chill out holiday. After a journey from the airport of about an hour we arrived at the hotel very tired after a long flight . We were greeted with fresh towels and a refreshing drink while we filled our out registration forms. It was still very early...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Philw0lves
Rajen C, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Ambre Resort & Spa! Thank you so much for the wonderful review and the title of the review which we believe truly reflects what Ambre is for all our guests. I am glad we stood up to your expectations yet again and all of us in the team look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely,...

Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

We just got back from our two week stay at Ambre and to be honest we were kind of disappointed with the hotel. First impressions when arriving were good and the view looking over the pool to the sea is breathtaking. We were given a drink and after 5 mins sent in the direction of our room. First impressions of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Grahamlaw85
Rajen C, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guests, I wish to express my sincere thanks for taking the time post your review your Trip Advisor. I regret to take note that some details kept you from enjoying your stay at Ambre Resort. Please rest assured that I have immediately reviewed these points with the departments concerned. We highly value our guests feedback as this is what...

Cardiff
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Had an amazing boat trip today with Chris from the beach at the Ambre Resort and Spa. Thanks to our captain Eric and all the lovely people we met, Claire and Richard from Guernsey and Hannah and her husband from Western Super Mare. An amazing day, with far to much Mauritian coffee (aka rum and coke)

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Welshcelticgirl
Rajen C, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor following your stay at our resort. We glad to note that you have had an excellent moment at our resort and your appreciation on the quality of our service, staff attitude and the overall facilities. We reiterate our thanks for visiting our property and hope to have the...

Reviewed 22 September 2016

breach restaurant was always cold food, and sometimes overcooked. potions where small for both restaurants. buffet and italian were good food, if not varied enough each week, id suggest a different menu each day, or 2. staff where very attentive and happy to help, if you ask for it. pool could do with being a bit warmer, but I think...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris W
Rajen C, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you for affording some of your precious time to share your recent experience at our resort. It is indeed a real pleasure to be made aware of your positive impressions on our property coupled with the friendliness of our team members who contributed to the success of your holiday. Many thanks again for rating Ambre value for...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Just got back from 2 of the most amazing weeks holiday at the Ambre we could of asked for. After a smooth flight on the Dreamliner we arrived in Mauritius in the early morning. Transfer by bus from the airport took about an hour, and we got to see some of the countryside and farms on the way. Arrived at...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Leanne M
Rajen C, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor following your stay at our resort. We glad to note that you have had an excellent moment at our resort and your appreciation on the quality of our service, staff attitude and the overall facilities. We reiterate our thanks for visiting our property and hope to have the...

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Myself and husband travelled to the Ambre Spa on the 28th August, after a good flight we arrived at the Ambre .Despite the weather not being quite as bright as we hoped ( but it is winter in Maritius) we were not disappointed with the first impressions of the resort, gorgeous pool, landscaped gardens and of course the white sand...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tracyjolliffe
Rajen C, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Greetings from Ambre Resort & Spa! Thank you for your kind comments and the time spent to share them on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to learn that you have had a joyful wedding anniversary with us and are pleased to see our efforts extended in making your stay a wonderful experience. With regards to the dogs,...

Bath England
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

We have just got back from a two week stay Sept 4-18th. We chose these dates because we were told this was there driest time. Firstly can I say we had a lovely holiday in Mauritius,it's somewhere we have always dreamed of travelling to. This hotel did give us all we wanted from our stay but we did also feel...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank shawnycul
Rajen C, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guests, I wish to express my sincere thanks for taking the time post your review your Trip Advisor. I regret to take note that some details kept you from enjoying your stay at Ambre Resort. Please rest assured that I have immediately reviewed these points with the departments concerned. We highly value our guests feedback as this is what...

Belle Mare
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Food generally very good throughout the hotel.Profi service in La Dolce Vita. White and Read Wines are not the best quality,after few days of drinking a glass of wine with dinner bakes stomach. In Coral Bar served alcohol better grade is not included. Happy 2 weeks holiday . Thanks ;-)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pawels863
Rajen C, Dear Guests Thank you for affording some of your precious time to share your recent experience at our resort. It is in at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you for affording some of your precious time to share your recent experience at our resort. It is indeed a real pleasure to be made aware of your positive impressions on our property coupled with the friendliness of our team members who contributed to the success of your holiday. Many thanks again for rating Ambre value for...

4,350 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3870)
Viewed
View from Room (121)
Viewed
Dining (282)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1023)
Viewed
Room/Suite (222)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (565)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (1572)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (424)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Beach (42)
Viewed
Pool (46)
Viewed
Dining (84)
Viewed
Standard Room (35)
Viewed
Superior Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmar
24.9 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
3,952 reviews
6.6 km away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,071 reviews
0.3 km away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.7 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
3,890 reviews
1.2 km away
La Palmeraie Hotel
La Palmeraie Hotel
#5 of 12 in Belle Mare
807 reviews
0.2 km away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
4,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ambre Resort is an all-inclusive adult only resort located in Palmar, on the east coast of Mauritius. The resort is one hour away from the airport and from the capital city of Port-Louis. The resort boasts a 700-metre white natural sandy beach running along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Guests of Ambre benefit from free green fees and complimentary transfer at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, an 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambre Resort & Spa

Address: Coast Road, Palmar, Mauritius 42210 (Formerly Ambre Hotel)
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Palmar
Price Range: RM1,135 - RM3,974 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ambre Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambre Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
679 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (679)

Questions? Get answers from Ambre Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground-level rooms have a terrace, so...”
 of 5 bubbles clamida1987, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“best rooms are sea view and block 3 is ideally located for everything”
 of 5 bubbles johnstuartsutton, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Pick one with a seaview”
 of 5 bubbles kerrytownshend1970, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Definitely try and get a sea view and not a ground floor if you like to leave the door open at night.”
 of 5 bubbles antonytaylor64, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the 500's lovely and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Daisy209967, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay