We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ambre Resort & Spa

TripAdvisorUS$230*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$430*
US$230*
US$245*
US$430*
US$230*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,675 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ambre Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,100: English reviews
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Ambre Resort and Spa for two weeks between March 3 and 17. I have to say I was a little disappointed with the hotel, it could be so much better but given the stock repeat answers to reviews on here from the management, I doubt it ever will. The hotel itself is kept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stef T
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen our resort for your stay and for sharing your mix feelings comments. At the outset, we would like to express our appreciation and heartfelt thanks for your honest review of our different outlets you have experienced and the distressing shortcomings you were subjected to. Please accept our sincere apologies and rest assured that...

Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We travel in June/July 2014. We arrived there after a bumpy drive from the airport. Our welcoming drinks was hot, and the welcoming fruit inside the room was also hot and looked old. Our room was so far away from all the action with no sea view room. Our wind was facing the back of the hotel yard. It happened...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank rudineL
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from the beautiful Ambre Resort & Spa! At Ambre, we follow our vision which simply says - "We make each moment matter". The team truly believes in making every moment special for our guests and I am glad that the thoughtfulness of the team members and the service standards of the resort stood out for you during...

Liskeard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Stayed here from 27th Feb 17 to 13th Mar 17. Had a great stay here all the staff were helpful and polite. Special mentions to: Chotee & Lalita for looking after our room so well. Aliya & Girish in the Dolce Vita Restaurant who made us feel very special at each dinner. Michael & Shirley in the Bar who kept...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tina_and_Alan
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from the beautiful Ambre Resort & Spa! At Ambre, we follow our vision which simply says - "We make each moment matter". The team truly believes in making every moment special for our guests and I am glad that the thoughtfulness of the team members and the service standards of the resort stood out for you during...

Clevedon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

I visited here in February, upon arriving the hotel seemed pleasant and the pool is impressive. However once we arrived in our room we were a little disheartened, the room was dated and has a strange bathroom layout and upon further inspection the duvet was stained brown and there were ants literally everywhere! This problem continued through out the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank gwestlake
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Ambre Resort & Spa. We thank you for the time that you have taken to express your feelings about your experience at Ambre. We sincerely regret to note that you have had a very unusual experience. We have taken good note of all your concerns which will help us to improve our service where required as...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Stayed here in in March 2017 for 2 weeks, and overall had a fabulous time. Our over-riding impression is that this was an excellent, but not perfect , resort which had more than enough to do for 10 days or so but for us 2 weeks was probably a little too long. The rooms were great, we had the upgraded...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Paul S
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guests, I wish to express my sincere thanks for taking the time post your review your Trip Advisor. I regret to take note that some details kept you from enjoying your stay at Ambre Resort. Please rest assured that I have immediately reviewed these points with the departments concerned as we highly value our guests feedback as this is...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Our arrival was wonderful, greeted by smiling happy staff offering drinks and towels. The first view through reception was stunning, like a holiday brochure. Our room was 410 with a sea view, very spacious, with a large bathroom and was only 20 yards from the lovely beach. Very neat and tidy manicured gardens. Our room was looked after by the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
5Thank pompeysteves
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Ambre Resort & Spa! Thank you for your wonderful and detailed feedback for us. The entire team joins me in thanking you for your comments and is glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Like rightly pointed out by you, we take pride in the fact that our service, “genuinity” and warmth of our team members...

Reviewed 15 March 2017

Returned back 2 days ago. We spent 2 amazing weeks in Mauritius. Ambre resort offer almost everything you need - car hire, taxi service, sport service etc. We hired a car for 3 days and travelled across the island. The price was 5400r which is not bad. We utilized taxi one day as well because we needed get to Port...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kamila K
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guests, I wish to express my sincere thanks for taking the time post your review your Trip Advisor. I regret to take note that some details kept you from enjoying your stay at Ambre Resort. Please rest assured that I have immediately reviewed these points with the departments concerned. We highly value our guests feedback as this is what...

Tampere, Finland
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Ambre personnel were very friendly and they had an excellent humor. The personnel´s attitude and skills were excellent. Food was also very good. In hotel there were a lot people helping you in all matters you might have. All personnel reactions to our questions were fast and professional. A la carte reservation system (quing every morning) should be developed more...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank esae2017
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Ambre Resort & Spa. We are truly pleased you have recognized our staff as one of the best you have seen. We glad to note that you have had an excellent moment at our resort and your appreciation on the quality of our service, staff attitude and the overall facilities. We reiterate our thanks for visiting...

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

The Ambré resort and Spa is very clean and well presented, the staff are on the whole very friendly, with only the occasional member of staff spoiling that. Many people have commented on wild dogs and cats being a problem, it is true during our stay there have been two dogs around the beach, they never bother people and are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julian S
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sincerely thank you for your comments which you kindly posted on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note that you have had a nice time at our resort and truly appreciated all aspects of our resort. We reiterate our thanks for choosing our hotel for your holidays and look forward to hosting you in a not...

Grainthorpe Louth
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Great hotel, food excellent at the buffet. Only problem guests reserve all the sunbeds from 06.00. The 2 other restaurents need to be reserved for dinner and the queues stary at 08.30 so a lie in is out of the question.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Carol B
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from the beautiful Ambre Resort & Spa! We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will be visiting us again in the near future for a yet another taste of paradise with us. Sincerely, Clency Roméo General Manager

4,945 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4464)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (637)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1098)
Viewed
Dining (318)
Viewed
Room/Suite (259)
Viewed
Bathroom (59)
Viewed
View from Room (134)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (22)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (1921)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (424)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Beach (42)
Viewed
Pool (46)
Viewed
Dining (84)
Viewed
Standard Room (35)
Viewed
Superior Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmar
26.0 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,373 reviews
25.4 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,400 reviews
0.2 km away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.8 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,470 reviews
0.2 km away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
4,708 reviews
51.5 km away
Tamassa
Tamassa
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
4,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ambre Resort is an all-inclusive adult only resort located in Belle Mare, on the east coast of Mauritius. The resort is one hour away from the airport and from the capital city of Port-Louis. The resort boasts a 700-metre white natural sandy beach running along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Guests of Ambre benefit from free green fees and complimentary transfer at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, an 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambre Resort & Spa

Address: Coast Road, Palmar, Mauritius 41601 (Formerly Ambre Hotel)
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Palmar
Price Range: RM970 - RM1,808 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ambre Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambre Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
881 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (881)

Questions? Get answers from Ambre Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want to spend time in the room a Seaview is good, otherwise garden rooms are fine.”
Deacopop, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are bigger. 500/600 blocks are quieter”
Y3573PHamym, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“chose a luxury beach view room away from the resort centre if you want peace and quiet”
ClaireWolf, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Balcony with beach and sea view.”
bomber4141, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Went with Thomson and were given room in Block 800 which is dark and a long way from the restaurants. Upgraded to 207 worth the money.”
  • Room 207 on the ground floor
bowerhill, 19 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$230* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$245
Expedia.comUS$230
AMOMAUS$430
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates