We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ambre Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ambre Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,990: English reviews
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thompson are using very very old photos of this resort. Please see the photos taken today that show the washed away beach. At times the beach can't be walked along due to the washed away beach. How long it is until the beach restaurant goes into the sea is a matter of a few more high tides.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank chris031965
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your views on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Ambre Resort & Spa. We certainly pay attention to our guest feedback which will assist us in our continuous improvement towards quality service. Unfortunately, the beach being damaged due to the high tide and resulting to sand erosion, is one of the aspects that...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a resort it was everything i hoped it would be. Rooms were lovely and clean pool and beach were spotless. Staff were lovely and would do anything for you .i Would be going again but Thomson have stopped flying from Manchester so will be going somewhere else

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank colin S
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for writing your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you had a lovely customer experience and can only thank you for having given us the opportunity to look after you and provide customer satisfaction. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in a not too...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at the Ambre 17th Feb 2017 for a 2 week stay. Upon arrival you can instantly see how beautiful the resort is , spotlessly clean, the staff are all very hard working & aim to please. The gardens are stunning. Our room was fantastic. A superior double with a sea view. And what a view it was! It...

 Report
Helpful?
16Thank Joanne S
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from the beautiful Ambre Resort & Spa! Thank you so much for a very nice review for us and the title of your review makes us all in the team here very happy! We are so happy to read that your stay with us was up to your expectations and that the team at the resort made...

Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's 5 months since we chilled at Ambre and I'm still missing it. The food from any of the wonderful eateries was exceptional. To sit at tables on the beach and enjoy lunch or dinner in glorious warmth in the middle of a British winter is heaven in itself. In fact one lunchtime we had an almighty downpour as we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Liz A
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Ambre Resort & Spa! Thank you for your wonderful and detailed feedback for us. The entire team joins me in thanking you for your comments and is glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Like rightly pointed out by you, we take pride in the fact that our service, “genuinity” and warmth of our team members...

Milton Keynes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from two excellent weeks holiday. Rooms were spacious kept clean and tidy and the mini-bar was topped up daily with soft drinks, water, beer,milk and two chocolate bars! Restaurant s were excellent with a good choice of food for all meals. I am a very fussy eater but had no problems finding something to eat. All staff worked...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank DavieHobbs
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guests, I wish to express my sincere thanks for taking the time post your review your Trip Advisor. I regret to take note that some details kept you from enjoying your stay at Ambre Resort. Please rest assured that I have immediately reviewed these points with the departments concerned. We highly value our guests feedback as this is what...

Shahabad Markanda
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As I was on daily tour for 4 days I met many couples every one was complaing about their resort but I was the only one who was happy with my resort no complain. Value for money. No other resort can beat this resort. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 63akhils
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Greetings from Ambre Resort & Spa! Thank you for your kind comments and the time spent to share them on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to learn that you have had a joyful time with us and are pleased to see our efforts extended in making your stay a wonderful experience. I will not miss to share...

Boksburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What an unforgettable holiday!Visited Ambre resort 2 weeks ago,it was the seventh visit to Mauritius but the best trip so far..The staff and management were from the best!It is rated a four star but you get five star service!Special thanks to Mr Putee from management that is such a caring person,we asked for a groundfloor room and were moved to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank anita861
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Ambre Resort & Spa. We are truly pleased you have recognized our staff as one of the best you have seen. We glad to note that you have had an excellent moment at our resort and your appreciation on the quality of our service, staff attitude and the overall facilities. We reiterate our thanks for visiting...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just come back from this hotel very disappointed in the room feel the room description was mis sold as it stated garden view, our view was a stone wall about 15ft high with netting above to obscure neighbouring hotel . The wall was approximately 20ft from our patio door . The room was very small and needed updating nowhere to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Gill H
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guests, I wish to express my sincere thanks for taking the time post your review your Trip Advisor. I regret to take note that some details kept you from enjoying your stay at Ambre Resort. Please rest assured that I have immediately reviewed these points with the departments concerned. We highly value our guests feedback as this is what...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great stay, members of staff were very friendly and helpful. On arrival we were received a warm welcome from members of staff and one of the Managers. The service was great, food was great, very nice pool area, everything was very clean.... Definitely I would recomend it to anyone planing to stay in Mauritius.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
6Thank marinatopcic-garcia
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from the beautiful Ambre Resort & Spa! The title of your review says it all. We are so happy to read that your stay with us was up to your expectations and that the team at the resort made your stay memorable. All of us in the team look forward to welcoming you back for a yet...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 2 weeks here in February, after a last minute decision to have a winter break. It is without a doubt the best holiday either of us has ever has. Beautiful resort, incredible weather and just about the loveliest people. I cannot fault anything about the holiday. The food, the beach, the pools, the weather, the hospitality, the room,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Beth B
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from the beautiful Ambre Resort & Spa! At Ambre, we follow our vision which simply says - "We make each moment matter". The team truly believes in making every moment special for our guests and I am glad that the thoughtfulness of the team members and the service standards of the resort stood out for you during...

4,754 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4273)
Viewed
Room/Suite (251)
Viewed
Dining (301)
Viewed
Bathroom (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1069)
Viewed
View from Room (132)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (602)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (1827)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (424)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Beach (42)
Viewed
Pool (46)
Viewed
Dining (84)
Viewed
Standard Room (35)
Viewed
Superior Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmar
26.6 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,237 reviews
27.6 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,234 reviews
2.1 km away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,181 reviews
56.8 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
4,284 reviews
1.7 km away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
4,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ambre Resort is an all-inclusive adult only resort located in Palmar, on the east coast of Mauritius. The resort is one hour away from the airport and from the capital city of Port-Louis. The resort boasts a 700-metre white natural sandy beach running along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Guests of Ambre benefit from free green fees and complimentary transfer at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, an 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambre Resort & Spa

Address: Coast Road, Palmar, Mauritius 41601 (Formerly Ambre Hotel)
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Palmar
Price Range: RM1,019 - RM1,780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ambre Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambre Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
838 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (838)

Questions? Get answers from Ambre Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The alternative was room 227 2nd floor, 2 minute walk from reception and lovely sea view. Higher is better!”
 of 5 bubbles jimbodmin, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“First floor rooms have juliet balcony meaning more space in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles Janet21B, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“make sure you get what you pay for and take your print out documents as evidence”
 of 5 bubbles V2275LJjuliea, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Quiet rooms Northern end of resort. Would suggest nearer the centre if you have mobility issues.”
  • Taken from our balcony on first floor.
 of 5 bubbles Tina_and_Alan, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms near to the pool are best, some of the rooms at the extremities of the resort are a long way away. No good after a few cocktails.”
 of 5 bubbles O4900ICpauls, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5