We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barefoot Kuata Island

Expedia.comUS$129*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$133*
US$129*
US$133*
US$129*
US$133*
US$129*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Barefoot Kuata Island
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 121: English reviews
Start your review of Barefoot Kuata Island
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 4 heavenly days/3 nights on the island. The crew are so lovely and friendly, from the welcome on the beach when you arrive till they farewell you from the beach at the end. The food exceeded our expectations. There's a buffet breakfast with loads of options, a buffet lunch with loads of options, and dinner is three-course with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmilyAklNZ
Barefoot_PR_Team, PR Representative at Barefoot Kuata Island, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting and allowing us to show you everything Barefoot Kuata has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Suva, Fiji
PROPERTY’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Kuata is one place where you can tick off so many things on that bucket list. From Snorkeling with Sharks, learning to Dive, Diving with Sharks, Sunset fishing trips to a night with the staff having Kava in a cave. This island is just so magical. When in Fiji add Barefoot Kuata Island to your travel plans to get that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ctemplin
About Property's Favourite Review
BarefootFiji, Owner at Barefoot Kuata Island, responded to this review

So glad you had a great stay with us. Thanks for your review.

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Barefoot Kuata is a short hop (1 hour) from Vuda Marina, and is located on a really nice sandy beach. We stayed in a safari style family tent which was spacious, tastefully decorated and overlooked the beach. Had a really nice outdoor shower with hot water. The snorkeling is not bad but the reef close in has been damaged somewhat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guyredding
Barefoot_PR_Team, PR Representative at Barefoot Kuata Island, responded to this review

Hi there! So glad you enjoyed your shark snorkelling and overall your stay at our island. Just regarding the subject of food; unfortunately all Western style food has to be imported to Fiji and therefore this does make it a little on the expensive side. Our mandatory resort package is in place so that we can provide 3 large meals...

Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful location with the friendliest staff! The resort is very chilled and an excellent place for couples to visit when travelling the Yasawas. Food is really good and every staff member we met were friendly, smiley and willing to go the extra mile to ensure our trip (and my fiance`s 30th birthday) was a success!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeckyLRobs
Barefoot_PR_Team, PR Representative at Barefoot Kuata Island, responded to this review

Glad you chose us to help you celebrate turning 30! Please come again :)

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 25 March 2017

We visited Kuata on a day trip, choosing this island because it offered the opportunity to swim with the reef sharks. The island is a 2 hr ferry from Port Denarau. It is a beautiful rustic resort, with very hospitable staff. We took a short boat ride out to the reef and dropped into the ocean to swim with the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shirra_Tas
Barefoot_PR_Team, PR Representative at Barefoot Kuata Island, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing Barefoot Kuata. See you again!

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

This place is a little heaven on earth! First the crew!! I don't have the correct words to explain how amazing are they. Helping you with everything, felt like a little princess. The dive team are the best!! The view is spectacular! The food is amazing, every day different food, fresh, tasty, yamiii!! The room- I slept in the cheapest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
Barefoot_PR_Team, PR Representative at Barefoot Kuata Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our team enjoyed sharing your experience with you. Keep on diving!

Eatonville
Reviewed 26 February 2017

ke us comfortable. My older guidebook was way off on the rates here which are roughly $250(U.S.) per night for the bure for two with all three meals, but 24-hour electricity, fresh spring water, and wifi are all also now included. I can't think of any way this could be better> Some might feel like they need a/c which isn't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MtRainierDave
Barefoot_PR_Team, PR Representative at Barefoot Kuata Island, responded to this review

Thank for you review and for staying at Barefoot Kuata - Our little piece of paradise :)

Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Good accommodation, nice facilities, beautiful resort. The staff is lovely, it's a good atmosphere here and the food is yummie. I went shark diving with the barefoot crew today. I got a very interesting briefing about the sharks, the day before, wich made me feel a lot more relaxed about the dive. The set up was very professional, everything was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pina B
Barefoot_PR_Team, PR Representative at Barefoot Kuata Island, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We have learnt through experience how to best make our divers feel at ease with these beautiful and majestic creatures. Come again.

Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 15 February 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights in November as the first destination of our 2 week holiday. From the beginning we were in love. Warmly welcomed as we got off the boat, our Deluxe Safari Hut was ready and right on the shore with gorgeous views (we were lucky enough to even see the super moon rise...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Samantha H
Barefoot_PR_Team, PR Representative at Barefoot Kuata Island, responded to this review

Thanks so much for choosing Barefoot Kuata Island. We appreciate your review.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Me and my friends stayed here for 2 nights and loved it so much that we decided to extend for another two. The food was amazing, the staff were so welcoming and the views were incredible. We have travelled a lot and have never encountered such kind and friendly people who were more than happy to go out of their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas O
Barefoot_PR_Team, PR Representative at Barefoot Kuata Island, responded to this review

Hi Thomas, Thank you very much for this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

193 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (34)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuata Island
19.2 km away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
697 reviews
39.1 km away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
435 reviews
2.4 km away
Naqalia Lodge
Naqalia Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waya Lailai
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 km away
Barefoot Manta Island
Barefoot Manta Island
#1 of 1 in Drawaqa Island
328 reviews
9.9 km away
Octopus Resort
Octopus Resort
#1 of 3 in Waya Island
1,233 reviews
21.4 km away
Mantaray Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Now part of the Barefoot Collection, Barefoot Kuata Island is about the feeling of freedom and living in harmony with our environment. We don't refer to our island as a "resort". Our eco-lodges are about living simply and sustainably. Rather than a tourist destination run by technology, Kuata is run by the warmth of its' people and the beauty of the environment. Our island is deliberately uncomplicated, unfussy and unpretentious. The breath-taking coral gardens, situated just off the coastline are amongst the finest in the world and allow you to snorkel right from the beach. We offer visitors a tranquil environment and our eco-lodge is the perfect destination for nature lovers in search of a one of the few Fijian islands unspoiled by man. Guests can expect unparalleled snorkelling excursions with reef tip sharks, beautiful coastal and forest trails, visits to nearby Fijian villages, kayaking...the list is endless. Step onto our island and lose yourself in the world of Blue Lagoon and Castaway. Settle into "Fiji Time," and you'll come to discover a virtual treasure trove of things to explore - both on land and in the surrounding waters. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barefoot Kuata Island

Address: P.O. Box 6353 | Yasawas, Kuata Island, Fiji (Formerly Kuata Island Resort)
Region: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Kuata Island
Price Range: RM177 - RM1,228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barefoot Kuata Island 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Barefoot Kuata Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuata Island Hotel Kuata Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barefoot Kuata Island staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Barefoot Kuata Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there's only three bure, so reserve early if you want one”
MtRainierDave, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great - we stayed in deluxe safari hut 1 which was amazing.”
982samanthah, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great.”
Alipat300166, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Beachfront safari tents are great!”
peterw988, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay a bit extra for the en-suite with a view”
783brucef, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$129* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$129
Orbitz.comUS$129
PricelineUS$133
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates