We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Garden Route Game Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Garden Route Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

868 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Garden Route Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 713: English reviews
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2014 via mobile

Purchased a family package at this resort. It included 2 game drives/day, breakfast and dinner, visit to reptile centre, choice of movies and popcorn for dear child. Room was lovely, game drives OK for what this is (it is a very small game reserve perfect for children as you get really quite close to the animals), guide excellent, food pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kris H
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologise for the shortcomings you brought to our attention and have taken the necessary steps to rectify these. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the lovely accommodation, the excellent breakfast and that you had a lovely stay. We are pleased to hear that the guide and service were excellent....

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 November 2014

We travelled the Garden Route from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town (4 adults, 5 children) recently, and included 2 nights at the Garden Route Game Lodge in our itinerary. Our 2 nights here included 4 safari game drives, breakfast and supper. Everyone in our group loved this lodge and the game drives, and learned a lot from our very informative...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joburgtraveller2014
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the game drives with the informative guide, Lume. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the poolside and the comfortable chairs by the poolside. It’s always good to hear that the guests enjoyed their stay and enjoyed the delicious food served daily...

Reviewed 31 October 2014

If you can't get to do a safari this is the next best thing! It exceeded all my expectations. The guides were knowledgable and enthusiastic there were plenty of animals and birds to see. The accomodation was outstanding and the food was great. A wonderful experience I will return in a heartbeat!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janette B
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience, enjoyed the Game Drives with the knowledgeable and enthusiastic guides and that you saw plenty of animals and birds. We are glad that you enjoyed the outstanding accommodation and the great food. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards,...

york
Reviewed 29 October 2014

This was incredible value for money. All meals apart from lunch were included as well as 2 safaris each day. The safari park is not to be confused with the large parks further north in South Africa. Most of the animals have been brought in. Having said that they are all animals that naturally live in the region. We saw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elainetyork
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this beautiful review. We are pleased to hear that you had an amazing time, enjoyed the Game Drive with Hannes, saw all the main animals, enjoyed the good food and the comfortable accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Megan Claassen

India
Reviewed 29 October 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of a group tour of the garden route. This is basically a private property with just a few animals of each species but the relatively small area means you are almost certain to see them. Go to the Kruger for a real safari experience of Africa. However, if time and budget do not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wingsonwheels
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your descriptive and valued feedback. We are delighted to hear that you saw plenty of animals and enjoyed the Game Drive with knowledgeable Kalvin. We are glad that you enjoyed the comfortable and clean rooms, the excellent buffet dinner and the best breakfast of your entire trip. It is always wonderful to hear how helpful...

Hermanus
Reviewed 27 October 2014

On our way to George and Mossel Bay for a weekend of concerts we had an excellent midday meal. The food was very tasty and well presented and the service very good. Everyone is our group of about fifty agreed that we would recommend this stop on the garden route.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 112HermanK
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent midday meal and that the food were tasty, well presented and that the service was good. Thank you very much for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards, Megan Claassen

Reviewed 25 October 2014 via mobile

We went for an afternoon trip and were thoroughly impressed with our guide, Wessel. He was passion for the welfare of the lions was infectious and he quickly whisked is off to see the cheetah when he heard it had been spotted over the radio. We also took advantage of the restaurant where we ate within view of the elephants....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James W
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the Game Drive with Wessel, whom we must agree is a very passionate, knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warm Regards, Megan Claassen

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2014

We were bitterly disappointed by this place. We stayed in one of the cute wooden round room (cabana?). The photos shown on this site make the rooms look MUCH bigger than they were. For the price (not cheap), the room was not what we expected at all. The bathroom was so small, we both couldn't be in there at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nattiedoz
GManagerGRGL, General Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ms Doherty Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. We sincerely apologise for the shortcomings you brought to our attention and have taken the necessary steps to rectify these. We have made adjustments to the manner in which bookings for spa treatments are made and we anticipate that this will improve the guest experience....

Mossel Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 21 October 2014

Besides seeing the big 5, the staff were friendly and very helpful to assist me with any needs or questions i had and the accommodations gave me the true south african experience i was looking for. I will be coming back again for sure!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Roger, Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you had a lovely stay, saw the Big 5 and that the staff were friendly and helpful. We are delighted to hear that you had a true African experience and that you enjoyed the accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards, Megan...

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 20 October 2014

Staying at this lodge was one of the best experiences of my life. The thatched chalets out in the scrub land with animals and birds galore is a dream come true. The accommodations were so charming, I felt like I was traveling back in time. The food in the restaurant was plentiful, delicious, and marvelously displayed. The cozy fireplaces really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlaroseberry
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Carla, Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so delighted to hear that staying at the Lodge was one of the best experiences of your life that you found the accommodation charming, the food delicious and the Game Drives beyond your expectations! We look forward to your next visit for yet another wonderful experience. Warm Regards,...

836 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (812)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (101)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (573)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albertina
0.0 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
234 reviews
4.8 km away
Albertinia Hotel
Albertinia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Albertina
32 reviews
28.6 km away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 27 in Mossel Bay
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.7 km away
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
#7 of 27 in Mossel Bay
200 reviews
14.6 km away
Indalu Game Reserve
Indalu Game Reserve
#3 of 27 in Mossel Bay
45 reviews
0.0 km away
Zoutpan Struishuis Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set against the backdrop of the majestic Langeberg mountain Range, the Garden Route Game Lodge guards the entrance to South Africa’s world famous Garden Route Coast.Only 3½ scenic hours drive from Cape Town, this malaria free, family owned and operated private game reserve is home to an abundance of animal and birdlife including the Big 5.Visitors to the Garden Route Game Lodge can enjoy game viewing in open Landrovers, luxury accommodation and a memorable dining experience in one of our African style restaurants. Our friendly staff and management are there to anticipate your every need to complete your unforgettable stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garden Route Game Lodge

Address: N2 | 5km after Albertinia towards Mossel Bay, Albertina 6695, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Albertina
Price Range: RM877 - RM2,381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Route Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Garden Route Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Route Game Hotel Albertina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Garden Route Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Garden Route Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Superb view, comfort, and use the fantastic shower”
 of 5 bubbles Mather1750, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Luxury family suite”
 of 5 bubbles erikanaftali, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a watering hole view , if your with a family the rooms near the pool look lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles helenmanchester2015, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The luxury suites are a must”
 of 5 bubbles MattD0105, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Chalets great viewing.”
 of 5 bubbles britta013, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay