We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Lord\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 149: English reviews
Start your review of Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Exceptional lunch for Mother's Day. Matt's food was outstanding. Colin charming as always! Service fantastic. Thank for the Zambuk for the dry lips and your warm positive energy. Best views in town!👌🍾

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johannv2016
Lord's Guest Lo... M, Owner at Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind and special review. It is our guest that makes this a wonderful passion. Thank you and please come and visit us soon. Matt and Collin and All the Staff at Lord's Guest Lodge/Lady Grey Restaurant

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I had the most relaxing stay at the Lords Guest Lodge. The views are breathtaking. The restaurant had the most incredible food, one must try the pizza! The staff were so helpful and friendly. They saved me as I had forgotten stuff in the room when checking out and they kindly offered to courier back to me....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank W4578DWamandar
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 18 April 2017

This was the second time that we stayed at Lord's Guest Lodge, and we had just a comfortable stay as we did during our first visit in 2010. We spent three nights over the Easter weekend, and the staff were very accommodating and friendly. It only gets a 4 star rating since the place needs a revamp, and the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nakkiran
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 14 April 2017

A very pleasant one night stay, with very friendly and professional service. The on-site restaurant added to the quality of the stay, providing a good dining experience, with very good food and service. The setting is beautiful, with lovely views of the mountains all round. The stone cottage was comfortable and spacious, and the double shower with good quality towels...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank barrysI3868VI
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Our second visit & fully lived up to our expectations. Friendly, helpful & prepared to do the extras which make a difference. Restaurant continues to provide great meals - look forward to our next visit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank geraldw535
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Room good, staff friendly but 5 mistakes on the bill when leaving left a bitter taste. 2 pizzas charged for lunch instead of 1, 2 mistakes with wine, salad over charged and R200 for a cheese platter was a rip off, they reduced it to R150

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank harryr545
Lord's Guest Lo... M, Owner at Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor, responded to this review

Gooday Sir, Thank you so much for your review. Thank you so much for staying at Lord's Guest Lodge and complimenting our rooms and staff. Just to give some clarity on your bill. Only 1 pizza was charged at R85 which was shared amongst 3 adults with an additional fee of R25 for sharing of plate. During dinner you requested...

Cape Town
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We found this charming guest lodge by chance and were pleasantly surprised when we drove up and were greeted by the very friendly staff. We were shown to our executive cottage - there are 4 in total - all given Scottish names and decorated with touches of the relevant tartan. The history of each clan is displayed in a frame...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
Leipzig
Reviewed 8 March 2017

The lodge is highly recommended. The staff, the location and the food are absolute top. You can only recommend this accommodation and we will return It is here as in paradise . Really recommendable 👍👍👍

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaeldL3918JK
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017

A very relaxing stop in the Klein Karoo. Beautiful situation with great views. Lovely to sit and watch the resident birds and wildlife. Good food. Comfortable rooms. Although we had no air con and it was hot, the stone built guest rooms stayed cool with fans.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzanq2017
Hoi An, Vietnam
Reviewed 2 March 2017

A surprise in the mountains. It has wonderful views, lovely quaint rooms, good food and the gardens were interesting with all the ducks coming for breakfast. We wished that we could have stayed longer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gill s

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGregor
3.9 km away
Fountain Place Guesthouse
4.8 km away
Cape Cottages McGregor
Cape Cottages McGregor
#3 of 9 in McGregor
104 reviews
4.6 km away
Old Village Lodge
Old Village Lodge
#1 of 7 in McGregor
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Le Bonheur Guest Accommodation
13.2 km away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
17.7 km away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It is hard to imagine a more splendid setting for a supremely elegant venue that takes one back to a time of extravagant luxury and exemplary refinement. With 4 star management and exquisite style you can not help to feel like royalty during your stay. Inspired by the surroundings and its rich heritage, Lord's Guest Lodge overlooks the expanse of the Valley and the blue mountains beyond. Situated atop the Koningsrivier hills between Robertson and McGregor, just off the R62, Lord's Guest Lodge welcomes you to a place where time stood still. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor

Address: Koningsrivier Road, McGregor, 6708, McGregor 6708, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > McGregor
Price Range: RM375 - RM439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Grant and McKenzie cottages are furthest from the restaurant.”
Nakkiran, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We liked MacKenzie which was the furthest away. We also had a look at the luxury rooms which are also lovely.”
AnneG432, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All cottages are positioned for a view”
  • Stunning views
  • beautiful room
  • Double shower
  • On the stoep
Dancingthroughchaos1, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The individual room as spacious with bath/handshower. The cottages are however aparently much larger.”
JonathanGBishop, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take one of the Croft style cottages. Individual, lots of room and private.”
187tripa, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates