We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Estrada Regional 101 Sitio da Lagoa, Arco de Sao Jorge, Madeira 9230-018 Portugal
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$86
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$95
US$80
View deal
SAVE US$15
Free cancellation until 27/10/21
eDreamsUS$86
Agoda.comUS$86
StayForLongUS$95
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (103)
Room & Suite (23)
Pool & Beach (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 4 Speciality lodging in Arco de Sao Jorge
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Pestana Quinta do Arco is a Rural Tourism Centre, located on the north coast of the island of Madeira in Sítio da Lagoa – Arco de São Jorge. With views of the Laurissilva Forest and the Atlantic Ocean, it is 30 minutes from the airport and a 50-minute car ride from the centre of Funchal, with a free private car park. During your stay you can enjoy our outdoor swimming pools, located in a charming environment among the gardens, or take a walk through the Jardim das Rosas, a fantastic rose garden with over 1,700 species of roses. The villas include 1 room, kitchenette and terrace, all with cable television and free Wi-Fi. Breakfast is served between 8 am and 10 am at the "O Roseiral" restaurant, located approximately 5 minutes' walk away and 100 metres from the hotel.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Diving
Game room
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Internet
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Hiking
Snorkelling
Billiards
Fishing
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Portuguese
93Reviews1Q+A0Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 42
  • 7
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Agleh wrote a review Jan 2021
Shanghai65 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
Very nice and attentive staff. The property is beautiful but would need a little intervention on outside. Slippery floor when humid or raining. Slipped many times and fall twice. The hotel has different types of accommodation rustic house and more modern bungalows. Although the rustic house are appealing due to their cuteness they are not comfortable and aligned with the hotel standard. Old and not upgraded to the expected comfort. We were upgraded to the new modern bungalows with all things nice and in place. We think this place must be very nice during summer time as it has two nice swing pools and a Rose nursery that was obviously not blooming in January. Nice gardens and perfect to relax. You can find walking trails around (that we could not do as it was raining...) and the wine museum next door that we visit with a small wine taste. There’s also in the same house as the museum a bakery where you can get or have delivered bread done in firewood Owen. You find in the bakery some hand made cookies typical from Madeira and that are giving to taste during the wine museum visit. People in the hotel and surroundings are very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Idalina Nobrega, Other at Quinta do Arco
Responded 11 Jan 2021
Dear agleh78, We thank you for your most recent stay and visit at Pestana Quinta do arco and for the time spent evaluating us and sharing your experience on the platform. We are proud to provide a product that appeals to various market segments, keeping tradition and rustic Madeiran alive with our Villas and Villas Duplex that maintain the original character that gave rise to Quinta do Arco. At the same time we add a touch of modernity and the imprint of the Pestana brand with our Studios that offer greater comfort and more amenities within our hotel, well framed in the landscape that surrounds them. We regret your less positive experience with regard to the outdoor floor, which we recognize to be slippery, but for that reason there are limited areas to be used in order to avoid it in wet weather characteristic of the north coast. In relation to the "Roseiral" - rose garden, the largest in Portugal with more than 1500 species, the beginning of its flowering occurs in April, the period from which we recommend your visit, considering that from January to March it is closed for its pruning and annual maintenance, after the winter period that is less flowery. We appreciate above all your comments that are certainly highly valued in order to constantly introduce improvements in our service, in fact our location on the North coast with the proximity to many attractions, certainly appeals to nature lovers. We look forward to a next stay ensuring our commitment to meet and exceed your expectations. Best regards, António Almeida Santos Unit Manager
Read more
Toby B wrote a review Nov 2020
Tilburg, The Netherlands51 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
On the green lush side of the island lies this gem. Nice cosy houses with everything you need. Waking up with beautifull bird songs. No feeling of rushing. On colder days there is even a fire place. Warmer days offer a nice swimmingpool. When you don t want to go out, you have a kitchen with all the supplies you need. Our house was cleaned every day. The staff amazingly friendly and helpfull with everything you need. The location is great. Not too far from Santana and the amazing hikes around. If you d like to go west of the island, the location is great as well. The breakfast is at the tea house close to the hotel on a small walkin distance away. Amazing staff offers a big variety of food every morning (and great coffee as well). We had a super sweet, dear cat family we took care of in the week we we re there. The cats stay around the hotel and are been taken care of by the staff. I allready miss this place, the staff and the little kitty s. We will definatelly come back!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Idalina Nobrega, Other at Quinta do Arco
Responded 9 Nov 2020
Dear Guest,Mr Toby 299 We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Quinta do Arco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback and we hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you again. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. Pestana Quinta do Arco continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation. We look forward to serving you in the future. Sincerely, Antonio Almeida Santos The Hotel Management
Read more
MadeiraProtea wrote a review Oct 2020
Madeira6 contributions
The Villa was very nice and very clean. The beds were a little uncomfortable but the room was nice. The breakfast was a basic buffet, but the staff were very friendly and helpful. Dinner was very nice, the staff were very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Idalina Nobrega, Other at Quinta do Arco
Responded 28 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Pestana Quinta do Arco & Rose Garden Hotel. As our guest you are our most respected advisor. We are delighted to hear you had a great time with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back, Sincerely, The hotel Management Antonio Almeida Santos
Read more
markus515 wrote a review Apr 2020
Munich, Germany50 contributions4 helpful votes
First I want to say, this stay was a special offer from our Hotel in Funchal. So we decided to take this offer and stay one night here. As we should realize later this was a mistake. The hotel was quit hard to find. But we managed. From the first impression it looked very nice, also with the Rose Garden. The guy at the reception was more than unfriendly. Then he showed us our accommodation. In the description of this Hotel, the room was called a "VILLA". The room was we think quit new. But as soon as you came trough the door you already fell in to the bed. The kitchenett was very poor equipped. The tea box was without any tea. and the smell in the room was very damp. That would not be the problem if there was a window to open, but there were only doors, so you didn't have the opportunity to leave something open when you are away. So we decided to go to the swimming pool. It looked good. But when you are in then you find the next problems. The tiles were loose or already missing, so you could cut easily your feet. So also this was very annoying. No the last story from the Hotel, after the short swim, we took a shower in our room, there we found the bathroom had still the old hair from other visitors in the bath and the bath was very dirty. We also found that the curtains already have mildew. We also wanted to start the air-condition because it was very warm in the room, due to no proper Window, the air-condition was only heating and not cooling. Now we had enough and took our bags to go back to Funchal. We stopped be the reception and told the whole story to the guy. He's reaction was, " OH, ok when you want to go than you have to!!!" So we did not stay the night, and directly drove to our hotel in Funchal. Never again this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Trek250126 wrote a review Mar 2020
Verona, Italy1 contribution
Unfortunately since we were there off season we did not get a chance to see the flowers but the room was very nice and the location was great to get around the island. The beds were a little uncomfortable but the room was nice. The breakfast was a basic buffet, nothing special but the service was nice and friendly. I absolutely loved Madeira and would highly recommend it to anyone!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Idalina Nobrega, Outro at Quinta do Arco
Responded 25 Apr 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Pestana Quinta do Arco Hotel. Your comments and suggestions are much appreciated as they are indeed crucial in supporting our improvement efforts. We are delighted that we had the opportunity to be at your service and look forward to welcome at the Pestana Quinat do Arco Hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back, Sincerely, Maria da Paz The hotel Management
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$64 - US$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraArco de Sao Jorge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Quinta do Arco
Which popular attractions are close to Quinta do Arco?
Nearby attractions include Levada Caldeirao Verde (5.4 km), Levada Do Reí (2.8 km), and Reserva Natural da Rocha do Navio (7.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Quinta do Arco?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Quinta do Arco?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Quinta do Arco?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Quinta do Arco?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cabo Aereo Cafe, Quinta do Furao Restaurant, and Restaurante Serra e Mar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Quinta do Arco?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Quinta do Arco?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Quinta do Arco?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Santana (6.9 km).
Does Quinta do Arco have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.