We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,191: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice rooms, hammock to just relax and sip a cold beer or drink while relaxing. I did a massage one day and it was really good, however, not shampoo or conditioner to wash my hair with afterwards. Buffet food plenty and hot, their pizza the best!! Lounge area has a small staff and service not that great but prices OK....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank audriferguson
New Jersey
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel facility is very nice and convient The pool is gorgeous. If you stay at the hotel can go on night hikes as well as walking trails during the day. There are many activities you can do (which does not require a stay at the resort). We did the Arial Tram, Boat excursion which you will se monkeys and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irv S
Guest R, Guest Relations at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation! At Gamboa Rainforest Resort we strive to provide all our guests with the ultimate in guest satisfaction. We hope to see you again very soon!

NEW jERSEY
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel staff terrific. Hotel is located in the National Park. Very clean. Exterior of hotel a bit tired and in need of paint and rehab. Rooms spacious and clean albeit a little tired as well. Rooms overlook the park. The pool is quite nice and not crowded. We did encounter a holiday weekend and there were a lot of people...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LINDA30
Guest R, Guest Relations at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

It our pleasure to know that you enjoyed your time at Gamboa Rainforest Resort and all your mention about the clean, location and pool. Sorry to hear about the inconveniences with the noise for people to due party. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rooms dirty, very moldy with stains on curtains, bedcovers. Just gross. Pictures on website don't reflect conditions of rooms or facility. The whole place is just grubby, dirty. Being a little old and careworn is forgivable - this place needs to be cleaned! Even siting on the the lobby and reception desk - dirty old broken fish tank, mud and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wondersoull
Guest R, Guest Relations at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Hello ma’am, as you have mentioned, your room was in substandard shape, and we did not give you the accomodations that you deserved. Additionally, this week we have relocated our tropical fish and are cleaning the fish tank. Within approximately 4-5 days, it will be back up and running. I apologise that you had to see this process. No excuses,...

Acworth, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This had been on my list of must visit resorts since I'd read about it years ago. The place is MASSIVELY Grand and elaborate. The amenities are exceptional and the hotel is impressive. It's a overwhelming undertaking to clean and manage so I give credit for the quality you do get.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell R
Guest R, Guest Relations at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation! At Gamboa Rainforest Resort we strive to provide all our guests with the ultimate in guest satisfaction. We hope to see you again very soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

There are beautiful views here and really lovely grounds, but the place itself needs a lot of work! Rooms are spacious with balconies and hammocks, but the rooms are sadly out of date -- but clean. A/C works which is a big plus. The staircases have torn treads and are in need of repair. Food was fine -- buffet style...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank REBECCA` A
Guest R, Guest Relations at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Rebecca, thank you for your comments. We will be resurfacing the main ramp, and placing new treads on the staircases shortly. We are pleased that you had an opportunity to take advantage of some of the many rainforest wildlife activities that are available. Your comments are sincerely appreciated, and help us make the right decisions for the future.

Chillicothe, Missouri, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is about 45 min from Panama City. We took an Uber here for approx $20 one way. There isn't much at the resort. Although the pool looked relaxing, this resort was VERY run down. There isn't much to do or see at the resort itself. We ended up taking a short walk to the marina where we hired...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
Guest R, Guest Relations at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Margaret, your comments are helpful, and appreciated. The resort just came out of an unduly arduous rainy season, and even though all of the buildings received a paint job less than 12 months ago, we are scheduling another exterior treatment shortly. Your comments urge us to make this happen as soon as possible, and we thank you for...

NC
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Good: Rooms were nice, incredible views of the river, nice pool. Being in the forest is good, quick access to the canal - - - and actually, into the city isn't too bad. The Bad: Needs rehab physically - - paint, update. Service. There are a few people who were very nice, helpful, and a few others (pool bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simnznc06
Guest R, Guest Relations at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the time you spent to share with us your thoughts. Paint and exterior treatment is scheduled. We got slammed in 2016 with an unsually heavy rainy season, so the paint job is a number one priority for all of us. We have a bossa nova band that plays in the lobby bar, and we will certainly share...

Quantico, Maryland, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a package tour. We had a great view of the Chagres River from our room which was clean and comfortable. All of the staff were vey nice and friendly and the food was also good. We took some of the boat tours which were also very nice and you see a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
Guest R, Guest Relations at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate that you are taking the time to letting know your opinion is very important for us. Thank you so much for your very positive review! About your excellent stay. We are glad you enjoyed this visit.

Greenwood Village, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There's no reason to stay here other than a nice view of the Chargres River from the hotel. There's a Radisson near by that is much nice, but without the view of the River. The dresser in our room was busted. The security safe not bolted down. Service in the restaurant very bad. We waited 45 minutes before they could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jerry z
Guest R, General Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jerry Thank you for sharing your comments. We take them quite seriously, and will be following up. There is no excuse for a safe not being bolted down, or a broken dresser. Nor is it ever allowable to wait 45 minutes for your check in the restaurant. Your stay should have been pleasurable, and while we try very hard...

1,288 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1244)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (309)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (117)
Viewed
View from Room (119)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
0:11
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (518)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
24.7 km away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
25.1 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
24.5 km away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#19 of 115 in Panama City
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#13 of 115 in Panama City
1,019 reviews
10.3 km away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#25 of 115 in Panama City
784 reviews
28.6 km away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#2 of 9 in Colon
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Deep in the heart of the Panamanian rainforest lies the completely unique Gamboa Rainforest Resort. This magnificent destination rests where the scenic Chagres River meets the Panama Canal and is the only resort property in the area. Few places on earth offer such an amazing natural experience while providing an unsurpassed level of luxury. Escape the noise and hectic pace of everyday life and surround yourself with the tranquility of the mystical Soberania National Forest. Here, just a short 30-minute ride from Panama City, on 340 acres overlooking the stunning Panama Canal, you can commune with nature in a pristine environment where explorers and pirates once tread. Our Panama Tours offer an exhilarating variety of jungle adventures such as an aerial tram, guided boat tours, fishing expeditions, and much more. Our tours are designed to show you wildlife in its natural setting amidst the colorful splendor of the jungle flora. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Address: Goethals Blvd. | Soberania National Park, Gamboa 7338, Panama
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Price Range: RM576 - RM1,325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamboa Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Gamboa Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamboa Rainforest Hotel Gamboa
Gamboa Rain Forest Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gamboa Rainforest Resort staff and other travellers.
59 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (59)

Questions? Get answers from Gamboa Rainforest Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think all rooms face the lake and look out over the pool area and lake area.”
 of 5 bubbles audriferguson, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to have a balcony -- better views”
 of 5 bubbles rebeccaaM160XY, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask yourslef "Do I really want to be in this location?"”
 of 5 bubbles jerryz716, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“all rooms face out but newer wing has hammocks on the porch”
 of 5 bubbles westendave, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I enjoyed a room that required me to take the elevator near the Monkey Bar.”
 of 5 bubbles NeilT_12, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay