We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ashburnham Estate

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ashburnham Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ashburnham Estate
See the most recent reviews
Showing 155: English reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Priced at five star level but delivering sub standard service with poorly trained but polite and energetic staff. Daily menu is aimed at a European palette with minuscule portions and exorbitant wine prices. Locals may need to carry their own food & drinks to feel content. Location and view is super but I wouldn't stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivendra D
AshburnhamEstate, Director of Sales at Ashburnham Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry that you didn’t have a great time with us. We are pleased though that the friends who you were travelling with did actually decide to extend their stay by an extra night. We very much tried to go out of our way to make you as comfortable and welcome as possible,...

Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I had the most amazing 4 night stay at Ashburnham estate. Ollie and Laura are great hosts and did everything to make sure my stay was relaxed and extremely enjoyable. The food was outstanding and Reggies cookery class was great fun and extremely informative. I would recommend staying here to anyone that visits Sri Lanka.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liz5560
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights at Ashburnham estate, arriving after a 45min tuk tuk from Matale to be greeted with a very beautiful estate, a fresh King coconut drink and lovely people who worked there. During our stay we went to the waterfalls (absolutely beautiful!), had a tour of the tea estate (unfortunately we didn't go to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SJMW40
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Lovely estate, very welcoming hosts, off the beaten track, with breathtaking views. This was our best hotel during our trip to sri lanka. Also the kitchen was excellent, with enough choice . Also liked the personal trip to the tea estate

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janine A
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We are a family of 4 from London with two boys aged 12 and 14. We arrived just before lunchtime to a cool drink and were shown adjacent airy rooms looking out over the estate and into a valley with the Knuckle Mountains in the distance. Our driver took care of the bags and joined the other drivers in their...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NeillVL
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 August 2016

I have just spent two magical days at Ashburnham Estate in the hills above Kandy. We drove from Galle and I would recommend if possible you fly. It was an epic 7 1/2 hour journey. Unfortunately the plane was full. Apparently only takes 12 passengers. It was night when we arrived and I woke in the morning to the most...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JenniA645
North Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Ashburnham was a highlight of our time in Sri Lanka. The view is spectacular. The managers Ollie and Laura make you feel at home straight away. Ashburnham provides a great balance between a hotel room and a BNB. If you want alone time the rooms were spacious but if you wanted to talk there was always company. The waiter /...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debra K
Tim G, Director of Sales at Ashburnham Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give your lovely feedback. We will make sure that your comments are passed on to the rest of the team. Hopefully one day we can welcome you back again. Best wishes, The Ash Team

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

A long drive in a remote hillside location but to be expected when visiting a tea plantation at altitude Upon entry you feel like you have been transported back in time to an elegant and charismatic colonial residence. What we liked: Being greeted very well upon arrival with chilled, fresh coconut water. Excellent, attentive and friendly managers, Ollie and Laura...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pgregory1965
Tim G, Director of Sales at Ashburnham Estate, responded to this review

We are so glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely feedback. It always makes our day when we read comments like this. Do come back again. Best wishes, The Ash Team

Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We spent 5 nights at Ashburnham & thoroughly enjoyed the experience, Laura & Ollie & the very adept staff really excelled with excellent service & very good food our stay was one of the highlights of our recent tour of Sri Lanka, we would certainly recommend this establishment. The tea plantation enjoys a rustic setting with many varied walks enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank glenn054
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We stayed at Ashburnham for 2 nights, along with our 3 kids (14, 12 and 10). This was a lovely place - small, welcoming and full of "old, colonial charm". It felt more like staying in someone's home than at a hotel. We were able to wander in and out, play board games, lie around reading, sit on the terrace,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Loose14

221 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (186)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkaduwa
5.9 km away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
3.2 km away
Hunas Falls by Amaya
Hunas Falls by Amaya
#1 of 2 in Elkaduwa
328 reviews
16.5 km away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#7 of 62 in Kandy
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#12 of 62 in Kandy
658 reviews
13.9 km away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#3 of 62 in Kandy
437 reviews
13.1 km away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#4 of 62 in Kandy
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the foothills of the Knuckles Mountain Range, between the Cultural Triangle and Kandy, our 98 acre tea estate, offers guests a perfect location for exploring Sri Lanka's famous sites.Alternatively Ashburnham Estate, offers you the perfect spot to unwind. Relax on the veranda and enjoy the stunning views and magical sunsets. Or cool off in our swimming pool, 60 foot waterfall or Cascade Pool.With such lush natural surroundings there is ample opportunity to walk through our working tea estate, and help the ladies picking, or onto the hills to enjoy spectacular views.Our original 1930’s Principal Planter’s bungalow, offers 4 double rooms, a family room and our luxurious Ashburnham Suite; all beautifully decorated to offer unique character.So, what are you waiting for, come and enjoy the beauty of Ashburnham Estate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ashburnham Estate

Address: B416 - Elkaduwa Road | Kandy District, Elkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Elkaduwa
Price Range: RM641 - RM814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ashburnham Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashburnham Estate Hotel Elkaduwa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ashburnham Estate staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ashburnham Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are good !”
 of 5 bubbles lakshansilva, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“View towards the Knuckle Mountains is beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles NeillVL, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are beautiful. comfortable, very clean and have a view”
 of 5 bubbles JenniA645, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ashburnham Suite at the front was ideal for us, with an extra bed for our son”
 of 5 bubbles Jamie_Smi, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Front facing for spectacular views over the Elkaduwa Valley.”
 of 5 bubbles chrisdJ3097TK, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay