AC Hotel by Marriott Penang

AC Hotel by Marriott Penang

Traveller (399)
Panorama at the Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul
360
Panoramas (18)
AC Hotel by Marriott Penang
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#5 of 11 hotels in Bayan Lepas
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
This 423-room hotel is located in Bukit Jambul and is approximately 10 minutes from Penang International Airport and 5 minutes from the First Penang Bridge exit point. Business districts close to the hotel are Bayan Lepas Free Industrial Zone, Seberang Perai, and the newly refurbished Subterranean Penang International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SPICE), just seven minutes away by road. The Penang Golf Club and Bukit Jambul Complex are close, while Georgetown, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, is easily accessible. The hotel also provides complimentary shuttle services to the Queensbay area and the Bayan Lepas Free Industrial Zone. Relax in the comfort rooms while enjoying the flatscreen TV with free internet. Keep your workout routine at the gym and swim in the outdoor swimming pool. Spend the best of your time at AC Hotel by Marriott Penang on your next trip.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Kids pool
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand films
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Malay
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

213 Jalan Bukit Gambir, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11950 Malaysia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 54 out of 100
54
Penang Intl Airport
511Reviews11Q+A79Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 143
  • 208
  • 94
  • 41
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Syafinaz Z wrote a review Mar 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall, a good hotel. Except for these two required improvements:

1) Housekeeping didn't do a good job of cleaning the room especially the carpet (I don't think they vacuum it). My feet caught with dust, particles and even stranger's hair!

2) We requested specifically for a non-smoking room but upon check-in, we can smell the strong cigarette odor in the shower. I am sure if the housekeeping staff did a good job, they would have clear the smell off or tell the front desk staff to assign us another room.

We were given a room at level 16 (can't remember the room number). Luckily we only spent a night at this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ACPG-EAM, Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Penang
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Dear SyafinazZ, Thank you very much for sharing your review with us on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed that you did not have a great experience. The inconvenience caused is truly regretted. We will take your comments positively and assure you that we will address the issues with the team and move forward to improve our services. We can only hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future when you are next in Penang. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience caused. Kind regards, Vivienne Lim Executive Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Khusyairi Nakhouda wrote a review May 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here during the Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) period. As which, most of the hotel facilities' were closed, including the pool, restaurant and executive lounge. Such a shame, because I could not give a proper verdict on my review. But the staffs were very helpful and friendly, they even gave me a complimentary upgrade to a huge 2 bedroom suite! But overall, in my opinion, all is satisfactory. The room is decor could be better, but hey I'm not complaining for the price I am paying for it. But in order to adhere to SOP during Covid-19, I could see that the hotel is taking extra precautions in sanitizing and cleaning the fitments / furnitures around the hotel almost hourly. So I think that is a big plus point.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MohamadSalman20, Executive Assistant Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Penang
Responded 28 May 2020
Dear Khusyairi N, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback as it is essential for us to improve on our quality of service and facilities. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed the service and the upgrade provided by the team. It is regrettable that you could not enjoy the full facilities of the hotel due to the stay being during the Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCOI) period. We are following the guidelines and protocols recommended by local authorities to ensure that the safety and Well-being of our guests and associates is of paramount importance to us and continues to be our top priority. We appreciate your comment that the team is committed to cleanliness and taking the extra precautions around the hotel. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at AC Hotel Penang, Bukit Jambul where you could enjoy and experience the full facilities we provide. Best regards, Mohamad Salman Executive Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bchua wrote a review Jun 2022
Singapore, Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at AC Hotel for 5 nights. I requested for early check-in as my flight to Penang was in the early morning and they have the room ready before 12pm for me.

Most of the staff are friendly and they responded to my requests via the Marriott mobile apps quite promptly. The pool is nice and separated with an adult & children area but during the weekend can be very crowded with guests.

The Executive Studio room is spacious with 2 bedrooms but cleanliness can be better as I can see dead buds/inspect on the ceiling (Living room & toilets). Marriott should consider replacing the furniture (sofa/dinning table) and toilet doors. The noise from the air-con compressor can be quite loud at night.

Overall, it's value for money but I would expect more since the Hotel is under Marriott now.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: You can request for free shuttle to Queensbay Mall. The van will depart at 7pm and come back at 9pm.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohamad Salman, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Penang
Responded 14 Jun 2022
Dear Bchuai, Thank you for choosing to stay at the AC Hotel Penang and providing your feedback. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations.. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Best regards, Mohamad Salman Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tony12cu wrote a review Jul 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Being an avid traveler with a platinum elite member status to Marriott's Bonvoy program, I was a little concerned when booking to this hotel (being a new hotel in Malaysia, and along with some worrying reviews online). Nevertheless, was keen to check it out, especially when Penang (despite being Malaysia's second largest city) is curiously short of Bonvoy representation.

I was greeted warmly by Bernice on check in and was awarded the usual upgrade to a nice clean and cozy room - none of the complaints on the reviews was experienced. The housekeeping was responsive, efficient and polite. The rooms were kept very clean.

Due to Covid, the restaurant was closed and the breakfast was offered as a takeaway tubs of simple bites. Portion is just sufficient to keep one from being hungry.

As an AC Hotel and for the price that one is paying, I have to conclude that its shortcomings are perfectly understandable and acceptable. In fact, there are many areas where it has delivered great value.

The swimming pool (with a kids pool at 1 ft deep) was a joy for the family. The dark tiles meant that the pool stayed warm despite the recent rainy days which would have kept most pools too cold to swim. And most importantly, very clean pool, including the surroundings.

Keep the same, AC Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Golf course view is great but gets some traffic noise from the streets. Can be mitigated if you...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
YunnL wrote a review Dec 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Last October, I brought my parents to Penang together with my aunts and uncle as part of the weekend getaway. I was basically the only one below age 65 in the group.

Booked 3 bedroom suite for the 5 elderly so that they were able to hang around together in the suite.

The suite of course comes with 3 bedrooms, 3 bathroom, a living room, dining room and a pantry. The elderly felt so comfortable in the suite as they have their on bathroom in the bedroom.
The suite was very clean and tidy, individual air conditioner was good and cooling, water pressure was superb and the bed was comfortable.

The reception team was very attentive. They acknowledged me while I was waiting in queue to check in. The lobby was pretty busy during that period.

Concierge was very helpful as they quickly approached us at the driveway the moment we arrived to assist us on the luggages.

This hotel hotel location good. It is located near Queensbay Shopping mall and it’s not far from the town. There is a very good Penang Chee Cheong Fun nearby too!

Definitely will come back again with my family once CMCO is lifted!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Au wrote a review Dec 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for 2 nights for a total rates at RM346.50.
Yes, I understood that when checked in, normally the hotel will charge credit card for certain amt to hold as deposit, and for my case, they charged me at RM500 on 26.12.2020.
During checked out on 28.12.2020, the staff (ming yi) told me that they will deduct the room rates (RM346.50) from the hold amt of RM500 and the balance RM153.50 will be refunded within 14 days. If that the case, I will loose the opportunity cost of the balance amt.
I was puzzled with such system/SOP/process that I told her that normally other hotels will void the deposit credit card slip and charge again the exact amt at RM346.50.
Quite disappointed with your process and the staff attitude in handling the situation.
Please kindly review your process and benchmark with the industry. Tq.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohamad Salman, Other at AC Hotel by Marriott Penang
Responded 30 Dec 2020
Dear Amanda A, First and forest, thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. On behalf of the team I would like to apologise for the frustration we have caused you upon your departure. Thank you for taking my call earlier to clear the confusion caused by the team. I have personally met with the team to ensure the right information are shared with the guest; Rest assured our highest priority is to provide excellent service to our guest. We do look forward to welcoming you back and wishing a very Happy Near Year. Best regards, Mohamad Salman Executive Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Byron C wrote a review Feb 2020
Sydney, Australia
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After long flights with a 17mth old we finally got to the hotel for a over night stay before continuing travels. Firstly we go there and they didnt have us allocated the two bedroom room we booked...they changed it and put us in the apartments. We get into the room and go straight for the beds...the lined had stains and when pulled back the covers it had mould on it. (See photos) this obviously is a health issue for us but especially for my 17mth old daughter. I looled around and noticed mould on the air con vents as well. I rang reception and told them to change us which they said due to down grade we wont give a refund on the rate as our choice. If i had the energy at 11pm at night to fight it i would have. Moved us to the hotel side and i to a one bedroom room which was clean. Not even a complimentary breakfast to compensated the down grade. Never again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KPCtravel, Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Penang
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Dear byronc981, Your feedback is essential in our effort to improve our service standards. I apologize for the unpleasant experiences that you have encounter with us during your stay. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments so that they may be addressed. Please feel free to contact me directly and it will be my pleasure to assist you. Thank you for choosing AC Hotels by Marriott Penang Bukit Jambul! All The Best,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sasha1809 wrote a review Mar 2020
Singapore, Singapore
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here thinking that its a new hotel, also a part of Marriott brand. Therefore the expectations are definitely higher. Check in by Avintha (if i spelled his name correctly) and the other guy was great. As we enter the room given, the toilet smells pungent and there’s a menses stain on the comforter (not the cover). We immediately went down and ask for a room change and was assisted by a chinese guy with specs on and a female chinese associate.
We told them what happen in the room and the guy (maybe he’s new) had to confirm with the lady. All she did was to asked us to wait at the lobby as she have to check the availability of the room(?) which doesn’t make sense as I didn’t asked for upgrade or anything. I just merely asking for a room change. After about 5-10 mins waiting, i tried to approach them again, but they were assisting a group of Japanese. Avintha and his partner assisted me again with the room change and it could be done within minutes. What disappoint me the most is the rejection of assistance from that lady. She could’ve settled the room change within minutes and not make us wait any longer to ensure more comfortable stay, but she had to stain our experience with her own personal priorities.
Room was very old. Beds are hard. Pillows smells like sweat from the previous guests. Water drainage from the bathroom sink was very very poor. It took at least 5 minutes to drain everything. Hot water from the sink not consistent. The first night we were there, there wasn’t any hot water at all (even the shower). The shower head is extremely mouldy (the mould nearly covered the whole shower head hole) and the hot water is inconsistent.

Overall service was okay except from the chinese lady as she’s the only reason why i write this review.
Shoutout to Avintha, his partner and other staff for making the stay more bearable.
Overall room condition was bad. Really in need of refurbishment.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ACPG-EAM, Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Penang
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Dear sfzsh, Thank you very much for sharing your review with us on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed that you did not have a great experience. The inconvenience caused is truly regretted. Rest assured we will take the valuable feedback provided constructively and move forward to improve our services. On a brighter note, I am glad you found Avintha to be an exemplary associate. Once again, please accept our most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused. We can only hope you will give us another opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Vivienne Lim Executive Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tjlovetotravel wrote a review Oct 2022
Singapore, Singapore
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 6 nights in a 3 room apartment and the aircon in 2 of the rooms were leaking and not cold at all. Daily Cleanliness by housekeeping must be addressed as many items were missing or not replenished plus cleaning of tables etc. Very run down and bedding is not comfortable. On the 3rd days onwards, housekeeping placed all the new towel in the dinning room table. No kitchen as it was locked. The rooms all smells. We had aroma diffuser which helps a little.
Front desk staff - very few were helpful. Making you feel unwelcome
The only nice touch is the dried lavender placed in the lobby every night after 9pm .
Queensbay Shopping center is about 8 mins by taxi and to get to Georgetown, the journey is around 30-35 mins by taxi or to Penang Hill.
Location wise, not too great.
Anyone talking outside the main door can be easily heard.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Gomez, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Penang
Responded 1 Nov 2022
Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience. I sincerely apologize for the shortfalls in service and inconvenience as a result. We are committed to continuously improving our guest experience and your feedback helps us do that. We will definitely do our best in the future to ensure you receive the level of service, attention to detail and courtesy that are expected of us and which you are most certainly entitle to. We hope you would visit us again, and we will make every effort to exceed your expectations.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
krisyen wrote a review Feb 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Got a 2 bedroom apartment close to the airport for a night before heading away to another town the next morning. One bedroom had a king bed and an ensuite which was quite a tight fit and the other bedroom was a twin bed with an ensuite. I wish this room had at least a double bed. Strangely enough there was another bedroom that had nothing in it apart from the kettle and tea and coffee - I feel this room could have been used better. It was good to have the dining room and lounge area for my family to use, although being an apartment I would have expected cutlery and dishes as well. The apartment was located in an area that required to elevators to reach, and in between the 2 elevators there was a strange little walk through an exit past the conference room. For one night's stay this was ok but would be annoying for any longer.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from SafranSafari
Munich, Germany343 contributions177 helpful votes
Normally the benefits are only for the room the Elite Member stays in. But you can check in advance with the hotel if they offer you the complementary breakfast for the other room as well.
TC323 asked a question Sept 2022
Singapore125 contributions52 helpful votes
Hi, are toothbrush set and shaver set provided in the bathroom?
David Tristan asked a question Mar 2020
Singapore, Singapore779 contributions91 helpful votes
Are the rooms renovated ?
Answer from 222yahoo22
Langkawi, Malaysia40 contributions51 helpful votes
It's quite subjective. Instead of renovation, i would say "refurbished". You could tell it's age but overall it was touched-up and refreshed. Can't expect it to be brand new.
Answer from Byron C
Sydney, Australia19 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed there 2 weeks ago...wont again...but it open
Brian Lee asked a question Jan 2018
Singapore, Singapore684 contributions19 helpful votes
Is there a smoking room
Answer from NickB1969
Weymouth, United Kingdom769 contributions18 helpful votes
No there are no smoking rooms. You need to stand outside the main door
KR Ooi wrote a tip 17 Jul
9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"hairdryer is hot enough as well "
Read full review
DARKCHILD wrote a tip Nov 2023
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a famous nasi kandar spot about 300 meters from the hotel. DONT GO THERE. Overprice and cold Stale Nasi Kandar. Very lousy"
Read full review
zoefied wrote a tip Oct 2023
Kuching, Malaysia722 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Kayu Nasi Kandar is a must to try"
Read full review
Ethan wrote a tip Oct 2023
Kyoto, Japan14 contributions13 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Never stay at the Suite Wing."
Read full review
Marco X wrote a tip Aug 2023
Beijing, China10 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not that many restaurants in the neighborhood. There is a 7/11 right across from the hotel."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bayan Lepas area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 290 - RM 383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
AC Hotel Penang Bukit Jambul
LOCATION
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandBayan Lepas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
423
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AC HOTEL BY MARRIOTT PENANG: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 679 Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about AC Hotel by Marriott Penang
What are some restaurants close to AC Hotel by Marriott Penang?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kampachi, Hotel Equatorial Penang, Spade's Burger i-Avenue, and The View.
Are there any historical sites close to AC Hotel by Marriott Penang?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Penang War Museum (6.1 km) and Penang Hill Corporation (1.3 km).
All Bayan Lepas HotelsBayan Lepas Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Bayan LepasHotels near AC Hotel by Marriott Penang
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire