We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hawklee Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hawklee Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 180: English reviews
Start your review of Hawklee Country House
 Click to rate
Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The country house is beautifully positioned on the Lions River and you go to sleep to the fabulous sound of the river. We stayed in a lovely room with a deck and spa bath. The breakfast was great and the hosts lovely. We will be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrickrA4854WN
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review

Good day Patrick Thank you for spending your breakaway at Hawklee country House. The river is really pumping now after the rain so the sound is like a roar and just lulls one into a peaceful atmosphere. Dean and I hope we will see you at Hawklee in the future Regards Deana and Belinda

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Somewhat disappointing as fishing advertised on website. However no fly fishing at facility. Accommodation comfortable. Meals, dinner somewhat pricey. A entities outstanding. Lovely quiet accommodation.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny N
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review

Good day Jenny Thank you for your valued contribution on your stay at Hawklee. Yes we do offer fishing and do not charge for the use of the river. We do advertise to bring your own rods ect as we do not keep a supply and are sorry if you were disappointed. We apololgies if you felt a 3 course...

Darling, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay at Hawklee. Stayed in a lovely room with a beautiful view. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Explored the Midlands and was given some great tips by Dean and Belinda. The stay was just too short.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ulandi2017
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review

Good day Unlandi It was our pleasure to help you navigate your way around the Midlands and when you have such lovely guests it makes it so easy and we love it. Dean and I are glad you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you soon back in the Midlands at Hawklee country House Regards Dean and Belinda

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hawklee Country House is situated along the beautiful Lions River. The views are breathtaking, the hosts were super friendly and helpful. The setting was one of tranquility, harmonious and super peaceful. The birdlife was out of this world, with lush green surroundings that was home to beautiful old trees. The cascades were stunning. Lots to love here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank delaine c
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review

Good day Delaine Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Hawklee. It takes a very special person to sense the love and care of a place and you were that couple. You are so right with the Birdlife we are a birders paradise with a huge variety of birds. Dean and I loved hosting you...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Hawklee Country House sits on the banks of the Lions River in the Midlands of Kwazulunatal.Our chalet was overlooking the river and the view was soothing to the soul.An excellent stress free getaway from all the hustle and bustle of the city.The hosts are friendly and welcoming.Rooms very clean and tidy.Tea, coffee and milk at your disposal. You can take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doraty
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review

Good day Doraty Thank you for taking the time to share your delight with your time spent at Hawklee Country House. It is definitely the best place to be to get rid of the stress of life. We felt it when we walked through the doors onto the deck and saw the river. The peace enters your soul and uplifts...

Changwon, South Korea
Reviewed 16 January 2017

The property is wonderful and in a beautiful setting. I had no complaints about the room. On the downside there were no robes or slippers which are advertised on the website. They had run out of coffee and only had decaf on offer. I had also been looking forward to a bit of fishing in the river but the water...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marksD4298FP
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review

Good day MarksD4298FP Thank you for staying at Hawklee country house and your comments. You were on a reduced special tariff so no robes were supplied and booked Room only. If you had requested we would of supplied robes for your comfort. We did run out of Caffeinated Coffee, unfortunately our suppliers delivered de-caffeinated instead of caffeinated coffee. We supplied...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Brenda and Dean are very friendly and helpful hosts. Great food in a beautiful tranquil setting here. Highly recommended! I loved hearing the sounds of nature from our private cottage every morning and throughout the day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CelineOcallahan
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review

Good day Celine Dean and I love it when we receive guests from other countries. Thank you for sharing South Africa with us and making it so pleasant to host you. We hope you will visit again when you tour South Africa Regards Dean and Belinda

Empangeni, South Africa
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Our little holiday to nottingham road was excellent, the accomodation being one of the best parts the hosts were super friendly and the cottage was always clean and the view from ours in the morning was superb!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 885nikitah
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review

Good day Nikita Thank you for enjoying Hawklee to its best. The weather was superb for you and we were so happy you could explore the Midlands and enjoy all we have to offer. Dean and I loved hosting you and hope it is not too long before we see you at Hawklee again Regards Dean and Belinda @ Hawklee

Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Hawklee. The rooms have beautiful big windows that look out onto the river and the bird life is amazing! Dean and Belinda are super helpful about the area and things to do. The rooms are really nice and spacious and the breakfast was also really good! We will definitely stay there again and recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kearsney S
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review

Hi Kearsney Thank you for coming to stay at Hawklee Country House. It was great seeing you after all those years and great catching up about our Highland Dancing times. Lovely meeting your husband and you both felt like family so we really enjoyed hosting you both. Till next time Regards Dean and Belinda @ Hawklee

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 19 December 2016

We stayed at Hawklee for the weekend, and we were not disappointed! Great quality for an affordable price. Well located and beautiful surroundings. The food was just amazing, if you are staying a night, I would recommend including dinner, definitely worth it. It is an overall well run bnb, and we enjoyed our stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chadleya
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review

Good day Chadleya Thank you for taking the time to review Hawklee country House. Thank you for enjoying our food and for sharing your anniversary with us Till next time Regards Dean and Belinda

185 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (130)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
17.5 km away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
60 reviews
15.1 km away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
189 reviews
16.7 km away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#1 of 17 in Nottingham Road
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 km away
St Ives Lodge & Restaurant
St Ives Lodge & Restaurant
#4 of 13 in Nottingham Road
94 reviews
10.8 km away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#2 of 17 in Nottingham Road
318 reviews
11.3 km away
Notting Hill Lodge
Notting Hill Lodge
#4 of 8 in Balgowan
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hawklee Country house is situated 13 km outside Nottingham Road on the Fort Nottingham Road. We offer 5 individual thatched cottages with their own private spa baths. You can have a delightful spa bath in the privacy of your own room while overlooking the Lion's River with a magnificent view. Our 6th cottage is situated in the garden called "The Rose" cottage with a lovely view of the forest in the distance. En suite bathrooms with showers. The bedroom has either a queen or king bed and a small sitting room so you can enjoy the view while you read a book. Hawklee offers a fun 6 hole mashie golf course, fly fishing in the river, scenic walks, a wide variety of bird life and luxurious picnics along the river's edge. We have a lovely bar area called "The Leopard's Lair" with a sitting room that has a log fire for those cold winter days. We serve dinners in the evenings which is a 3 course menu with a choice on the menu. Come and enjoy the peace and serenity of Hawklee and relax. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hawklee Country House

Address: Nottingham Road, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Price Range: RM307 - RM471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawklee Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hawklee Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hawklee Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms seem to share the amazing views. Ive been told that the Rose Cottage is something else.”
 of 5 bubbles delainec, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Enchanting views”
 of 5 bubbles Doraty, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Discuss with host”
 of 5 bubbles ukangel2016, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Guinea fowl room”
 of 5 bubbles JillF312, 16 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Room with view of the river”
 of 5 bubbles 309louisa, 22 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5