We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oyster Island Resort

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Oyster Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

369 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Oyster Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 354: English reviews
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Oyster Island Resort in August and found it to be absolutely delightful. This is a small resort about a half hour’s drive from Luganville airport and set on its own small island amid beautifully maintained gardens. A little private ferry connects you to the mainland in minutes. We had a very comfortable deluxe bungalow with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jayne R
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had 10 days on Oyster Island in July 2013. It was fabulous. There was lots to do if you wanted to (the snorkelling was fab) and also lots of space and time \to do nothing but relax.. The staff we all really helpful and interested . Nothing was too much of a problem. Would recommend highly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Review of Oyster Island Resort, Espírito Santo, Vanuatu My husband and I took a flight from Auckland to Port Vila (3hrs) and then an internal flight (50 mins) to Santo. Upon arriving at Santo we were met by the sound of music, happy faces and our minibus driver and driven to the ramp (about 45 mins) where the driver hit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bynny
Tauranga
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week in this fabulous location.Our over the water room (Bungalow 7) complete with hammock was exactly as I expected it to be, adequate and serviced daily by happy housegirls. Lovely piping hot showers with high pressure. We had the odd Gekko come to visit but given the territory, that was to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue D
Reviewed 13 August 2013

A totally relaxing oasis and wonderful location. Small and personal. Rooms were all clean and well looked after but basic. Activities are expensive, and actually we found the food expensive. It would be great if they offered a half board option so you weren't worrying about the cost of dinner. Rates include a buffet breakfast but it is so super...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie L
Eden, Australia
Reviewed 8 August 2013

In fairness and justice to the management of this resort, I wrote to them personally and asked for an explanation as to the issues we experienced there. I gave them an adequate time for response, but nothing has come back (with the exception of an acknowledgement of my email) so given that courtesy and with the lack of response, I...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank SharonJB
OysterIsland, Owner at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you did not have a great time at Oyster Island and we apologise for that. As with every review, we will use your comments to continually improve our resort. We have investigated your criticism of our local duty manager and as a result there is no basis to those allegations, we support all our staff 150%....

melbourne
Reviewed 7 August 2013

my husband and i spent 7 nights in deluxe bungalow 11 in late july.i dont really know how to review this place because while i would highly recommend staying here, its definatley not a 5 star resort and there were alot of things that let it down so i guess ill just start by saying we had a great week...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sunlover76Melbourne
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We have read this in great detail and made s point by point list of the items which you found disappointing. We are genuinely working through this list with our team to address the issues and we will be seeing definite improvements over the days to come. For some items, ie furniture and...

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 August 2013

A perfect place to meet with family from England, covering many age groups, 10 of us in all ranging in a age from 6, 8, 15, 19, 21, 24 to 58 years young! We had a fab 7 days here, other family stayed 2 weeks! The food was amazing, varied enough we didn't get bored. Only improvement here could have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skier2874
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we do our best to provide a wonderful place for our guests to relax and enjoy their holidays. We noted that you did not like the mattress and have swapped it for a spare we have to see if that helps the next guest...

nsw
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed at Oyster Island late July for 4 nights amazingly beautiful place, gardens and layout were also perfect. The deluxe bungalows were nice but we had no expectations, just needed some refreshing with minor things like new toilet seats and more storage, we thought our bed was extremely hard but we are used to very soft one at home, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seashellsNsw
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. Don't expect a 5 star tropical new resort, because its not. We did not expect this but it was still probably below expectations. Don't get me wrong we enjoyed our stay, but.... the rooms are basic. We had a deluxe bamboo bungalow, enough room with great balcony. Outdoor shower was cool, but bathroom did...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank szkut

535 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (494)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (263)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luganville hotels
7.1 km away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 10 in Luganville
287 reviews
16.6 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#6 of 10 in Luganville
111 reviews
7.0 km away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
15.5 km away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
167 reviews
2.0 km away
Turtle Bay Lodge
Turtle Bay Lodge
#1 of 13 in Luganville
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on a private 25 hectare island just 2 minutes crossing from the mainland. Oyster Island Resort resides within a Marine Reserve, abundant in marine and wild life. Sandy beaches, tropical rainforest, coral reefs and war plane wrecks make for fantastic snorkelling. Bungalows line the waters edge, each with private decks or patio's, enjoying stunning views out over the calm lagoon waters. Family Vila allow room for parents and children to enjoy the large grounds and gardens and are set off the water for safety. Skilled Chefs serve the very best of local and western cuisine from our waterfront restaurant. Only 20 minutes from the airport and township. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oyster Island Resort

Address: PO Box 183, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Price Range: RM338 - RM628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oyster Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Oyster Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Island Hotel Luganville
Oyster Island Resort Vanuatu/Luganville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oyster Island Resort staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
over a year ago
Melbourne, Australia

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Oyster Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Enclosed shower and toilet for us....no bugs!!”
344aileenh, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Definitely splurge for the waterfront Bures!”
alexanderr838, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all bungalows have a fantastic view, mine was the number four perfect situation”
sergewolf, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for the Delux rooms on the water. The normal ones are tiny!”
MikeHolford, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The waterfront budget rooms are blissfull!”
adean66, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Travelocity
* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates