We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carnarvon National Park
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 130: English reviews
Sydney
Reviewed 27 September 2016

My wife & I recently stayed for 5 nights at the Lodge, which is in a very handy location a short drive from the National Park. The area around the accommodation has plenty of local wildlife, & even the early morning amazingly loud Kookaburra chorus was something to admire & enjoy. The 'cabins' are set on timber platforms with canvas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sydneysider34
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, I am so glad to hear you and your wife had a great time whilst visiting us. Yes, not too many people know what expect when told it is Safari Style cabins, but they are very comfortable and relaxing. Thank you for your feedback on the meals. We are extremely proud of our head chef Matt, he has been...

Ipswich, Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

The drive to the gorge is nearly as spectacular as the walks. Not really, but it is great as long drives go! The lodge "glamping" accom was good. Comfortable and had everything you really need. No mobile, tv or computers required-this is a place to get away to natural beauty. The restaurant is low key, but the food was first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt-mcleish
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Matt, Thank you so much for such a lovely kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and your meals. Yes we are extremely proud of our Chefs. They do a fantastic job given such a remote location and logistics involved. Michelle is fantastic and the Night Safari is absolutely worth it. We hope you continue to...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2016

My Son and I have just returned from a three night stay at the Lodge. It was disappointing in so much for the lack of interest by staff. There was no feeling of welcome, or flexibility of there systems such as breakfast at 10.00am, not till 10.00am, then when ordering meals, no sooner than the orders made it appeared the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 311Jane
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for your review. I hope you can understand being in such a remote location and relying just on our guests our restaurant hours aren't as flexible as being in a city. Our cafe opens at 10am however we offer a continental balcony breakfast you can organise the night prior to have in the morning at a...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Carnarvon Gorge is one of the best national parks I've experienced in Australia. It is however a distance from anywhere so your accommodation options are limited. The Lodge's location is perfect and the cabins are not crowded next to each other. For the cost I wasnt expecting a glamping tent but a solid cottage. Perhaps I should have read the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanielOUTexploring
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind words. The staff and management team work hard at providing high quality service and experiences for our guests so I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you another time. - Management

Queensland
Reviewed 19 August 2016

I have not stayed in many more beautiful settings. Carnarvon Gorge itself is absolutely stunning, and we had stunning weather, which made it perfect. However, the rooms, in a permanent "tent" structure, are old, there are broken boards on the deck, the deck chairs are uncomfortable and the tents themselves need maintenance and upgrading e.g. blinds are broken or held...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rushie02
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge. Yes the biggest feedback we get is about the decking, as the new general manager here that is one of my highest priorities in getting fixed. As I am sure you can understand the struggles of accessibility in supplies we will be waiting until our...

Nundah
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We stayed 2 nights here. You can't fault the location, 5km from the entrance to the national park. And it wonderful to wake up and have kangaroos outside your room. You really do feel like you are in the middle of no where. The grounds are very well kept. The rooms were neat and tidy, bed was very comfortable, however...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank marktravel2000
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and thank you for choosing to stay at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge. We have just purchased NEW lighting for all of the cabins. We are very excited to receive these hopefully next week. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 August 2016

This wilderness lodge conforms exactly to one one Australia's travel dictums; if you stay in remote places expect to pay more. The layout and atmosphere of the Wilderness Lodge is exceptional, a nice blend of comfort set amid the untrammeled environment of the Carnarvon Gorge National Park. You accept that you must eat in their restaurant at prices that, yes,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roger C
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We booked into the Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge by default as the nearby Takkaranka camping ground was booked out. The Wilderness Lodge is expensive by any measure - not as good value as the camping option up the road. However the location is superb. Closer to the Gorge park with beautiful, restful surroundings and kangaroos and other wildlife abounding. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bruce U
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you so much for your review. Yes we do offer a different style of accommodation than the more budget style of accommodation at other locations. The Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge has NEW MANAGERS, and we are currently in the process of updating all of our cabins. We are very excited for this re-vamp and it is well...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Accommodation is in permanent "tent" cabins with heating, air-conditioning and en suite facilities. Very comfortable. All have a porch/verandah for relaxing after a day's trekking. Beds are comfortable. Cabin 19 overlooked the creek where numerous birds came morning and evening as well as kangaroos and wallabies. On site restaurant offers good choice of menu delivered by friendly, helpful staff. You...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Noela R
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad to hear you had a pleasant stay. Yes, there are definitely no need for alarms out here when you have the gorgeous wildlife at your door. 2 nights is the most recommended number of nights as suggested as it gives you enough time to explore the Gorge....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 August 2016

I had a 4 night stay here due to being unable to escape due to flooding. If there is any forecast of rain,dont go,as even a small amount floods the river which stops you from doing ANY walking. Anita ,the manager,was lovely as was the cleaning staff and bar staff but thats all. Your accomodation is warm but boring, in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 557jill557
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you so much for your feedback. During your stay we received over 120mm of rain which is rare for this time of year but much needed. With this amount of rain it was inevitable that the creek crossings would flood and the park would close. It does take quiet a lot, and 120mm is a lot, for...

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Near Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge

Address: 4043 O'Briens Road, Carnarvon National Park, Queensland 4702, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Carnarvon National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Hotel Springsure
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Port Macquarie, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They all have great views and have plenty of quiet wildlife nearby early morning and at sunset.”
  • Moss Gardens
  • Moss Gardens
PUKAirlines, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Cabin "Dooloogarah" was close to main area overlooking landscape”
  • View from entrance
  • View from within the cabin
judyt642, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No, it's all tent style cabins”
311Jane, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a cabin closer to the reception area - it's quite a walk otherwise and you do enough walking on the treks!”
Rushie02, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are well located”
707bruceu, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5