We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ragged Cot Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Ragged Cot Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 273: English reviews
Start your review of The Ragged Cot Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

A classic mix of pub and Inn. No real welcome as we came in. But sweetly shown to our lovely room by one of the staff. A well refurbished, ok sized room and great ensuite with walk in shower. The bed was comfy but the pillows were really not. The main issue with the room was the thin walls and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Explorer_Jacob
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked a table for 6 for Mother's Day. Rang to check the time it was booked on the morning of Mother's Day and they did not have my booking. Manager did not care and was really unhelpful. Poor customer service. They were fully booked so did not care that our Mothers Day was ruined. They have lost my custom. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
stuarthanson, General Manager at The Ragged Cot Inn, responded to this review

Hello Sarah, while it is correct that we did not have a booking for you recorded in our diary when you called on Sunday morning, we took your number and called you back within half an hour offering you two alternative times, both of which were only 30 minutes either side of the original booking you claim to have made....

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at the Ragged Cot before and, as expected, our room was comfortable and warm. Breakfast was good and making your own toast at least ensures that you get it when you want it. Coffee less good - decaffeinated came in a cup rather than a cafetière as the regular coffee did. Sunday lunch was mixed - good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LizzyCR
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a couple of nights for my fiancée's birthday and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. Great food, beer and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. The room was nice and tidy, had everything you needed. The breakfast was amazing! and enough coffee to keep me going for a week! The hotel is in a great location as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siml87
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights midweek for a leisure break. On arrival we received a very warm welcome and were shown to our room. The room and hotel generally is very nicely styled and a lot of thought has been put into the rooms. The breakfasts we had were excellent - lovely fresh ingredients which were nicely cooked. Very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobvCarr
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Been coming for a few years on and off as we have links in the area, recent years have seen a huge improvement in decor, food, and staff. Nice quirky touches, good food. It had become harder to use it just for drinks/bar food (it IS a pub..or it was!) as it grew a good rep' for food so tables...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CreamTea77
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

I enjoyed my Wiltshire gammon with tomatoes and green beans very much. Service is pleasant but slow as they are under staffed and we get the impression that the management is panicking. The conservatory is a lovely room and looks out onto the terrace and garden which blooms in the summer. The loyalty card is random and I'm still waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
stuarthanson, General Manager at The Ragged Cot Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visits to The Ragged Cot and I am please that you enjoyed your food with us, I am sorry if you caught us at a time when we were busy but we are a very popular venue in the area for lunch and dinner. With regards to your voucher, as we explained on your first...

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

A lovely Sunday lunch with friends. The main course menu was a fairly traditional choice of roasts or similar. The starters and desserts were a more exciting and different selection. All was delicious but the vegetables with the main course were so 'al dente' that some were hardly cooked!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Booked for a Saturday evening to celebrate a birthday. Excellent choice on menu and wine. Friendly staff, good service, food well presented. . We are glad we booked early as it got very busy and noisy later.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrissy p
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Nice combination of old world pub and modern refurbishment. Varied lunchtime menus with hot sandwiches, lighter snacks and main meal options. Nice and warm on a bitter winter's day - will definitely return and try again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul N

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minchinhampton
3.6 km away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
2.2 km away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
236 reviews
9.6 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
5.9 km away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
5.4 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 AA GOLD STAR 17TH CENTURY COACHING INN ,OFFERING 9 EN SUITE CONTEMPORARY BEDROOMS , RESTAURANT OPEN 7 DAYS ,LARGE CAR PARK AND PRIVATE GARDENS. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ragged Cot Inn

Address: Cirencester Road, Minchinhampton, Stroud GL6 8PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Minchinhampton
Price Range: RM340 - RM781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ragged Cot Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Ragged Cot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragged Cot Hotel Minchinhampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ragged Cot Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Ragged Cot Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1st floor rooms probably quieter than the ground floor..”
 of 5 bubbles RobvCarr, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are in a separate block with the corridor facing the road, so relatively undisturbed.”
  • Spotless bedroom, comfy bed and duvet, spot on
 of 5 bubbles UKDiver2007, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I think the rooms downstairs are super kings.”
 of 5 bubbles Coolkoala, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Fairly quiet upstairs...lovely views of cows and fields, could hear white noise from expel air, with window open..”
 of 5 bubbles Lochie581, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 was lovely but light sleepers might be disturbed by early morning traffic. It didn't disturbed us.”
 of 5 bubbles Nipper60, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5