We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tuatapere
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 17: English reviews
Toowoomba
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This has to be one of our best B&B finds ever! We stayed here the night before and after walking the Humpridge Track and it was perfect. Comfy bed, heaps of toiletries to choose from, home baked treats on arrival, a sweet little kitchen, sewing kit and nurofen to repair gear and bodies post walking..... And the breakfast was huge,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scc749
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this review

Holy! We can't thank you both enough for your review, with all of those complements. It is such a relief to hear back from people saying they have felt comfortable while staying at the Dump. Very tidy guests!!! Loved having you stay Hope you enjoyed your catch up with your friend in Queenstown. Thank you again Janice and P.Nut (Trevor)...

Moncton, Canada
Reviewed 18 May 2016

I had such a wonderful stay, I'm a bit late reviewing as my stay was 6 months ago now, but the experience is still fresh in my mind, it was soo wonderfull! Janice and P.nut were so gracious and friendly, felt at home right away. Such a warm welcome, without being invasive in the least. the perfect hosts!! such a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophielofytab
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this review

Wow Sophie, What a blast from the past from the little Canadian girl called Sophie [ our granddaughters name] with boyfriend Blair [our sons name] and hairy dog buddy [Jack our cute hairy dog buddy] . So exciting to receive your awesome review and hear that NZ memories are fresh in your mind. Thank you. It was a pleasure having...

Alexandra, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 January 2016

We loved this wicked wee dump. We came for one night and stayed for two. You receive very special service from Janice. Loved the home baking and additional treats from her kitchen. The cabin had a very homely feel with lots of little luxuries for you to try. The decor is befitting of a house magazine. It has a great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jen214
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this review

Happy that you picked The Dump to end up at on Kevin's mystery night away. The golf coarse is nice, even if its just to go for a walk . The day you went home our daughters partner and our son enjoyed a days fishing just up the river from where you went Kevin. They did a bit of catching...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 7 November 2015

There is nothing dump-ish about this super special small place - it has absolutely everything your heart desires in a tiny space! We stayed here both before and after our hike on the Hump Ridge Track, and so glad we did. Janice and P.Nut are so friendly and welcoming, and with lovely baked goods on arrival, and a fantastic breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MichelleC42
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this review

"We loved our stay" those words are great to see. Thank you for that amazing review. Sorry that I wasn't here to greet you when you arrived back from the track. P.Nut rang and told me you were back, settled in and had taken advantage of the bath. I have never walked the track but if I did there is...

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

An amazing stay on this little cozy cabin. Janice is brilliant at making you feel at home.!try the outdoor bath if you feel brave enough. The only suggestion I would make is to place a sign outside in the road as it can be difficult to find at night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smackinlay
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us and our Wee Dump. Thank you also for choosing to stay with us. I like your heading, after going up and down the road a couple of times I guess it was a Real find. Hope the rest of your holiday went well. Janice W.W.D

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 March 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights after doing the Humpridge Track, what a find it was just so amazing ,I fell out of the car into the glorious outdoor bath that Janice filled to the top with radox for me after Stumping the Hump! The Wee cottage is gorgeous and Janice has thought of everything you could want, it is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donna578
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this review

Stump the Hump sounds like heaps of fun ( something I will never experience) . You both looked tired when you came home, but didn't take long to bounce back. After I have posted this response I am going to email the recipe for the cake. Not to horrible is it ! A couple of pieces have slipped through my...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 March 2015

We recently stayed here after doing the Humpridge Track, what a find it was just amazing ,The out door bath is awesome for those tired limbs.The Wee cabin is so cute and the breakfast was delicious!!!!! Thank you so much Janice we loved it all ,and hope to return. Debbie and Chris

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank debbie438
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this review

Debbie and Chris, Great to receive your review on trip adviser. Would be great if you were able to come back at some time. I thought after you left that you may have liked to go up the Lillburn Valley, that might be part of the next trip. Loved our talk in the morning (think we could do well in...

jasper
Reviewed 7 February 2015

This is a must stay for any couple doing the Humpridge or just visiting in the area. The hosts are very friendly without being imposing providing spectacular hospitality. The Wee cabins is a perfect self contained unit meeting every need. The breakfast was a feast of delicious goodies to fill us before the tramp. All in all if you miss...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank warp1
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this review

Our first review for 2015 and so worth waiting for. We love when people like yourselves write such cool comments about there experience staying with us, and visiting our wee town. Interesting people with great smiling faces. Thank you

Franz Josef, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We arrived very tired late afternoon after a long drive. Within minutes of meeting Janice and being shown our cute accommodation, we felt refreshed. She was helpful and informative as well as a great advocate for that wonderful Southern hospitality! We went to walk the track and couldn't bear to drive past on the way back so we stayed a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jules068
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this review

To two busy people, thank you for taking some of you valuable time to post a wonderful review about the Dump.I gather you will be teaching now Julie and Jo running the ship at home.Your Hump Track walk was well timed for the winter season . Weather was really good . Hope you both have the best season with your...

Province of Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Only one room here and it's a charmer. Small, but adequate. Windows open to farm land and views of sheep. Front porch with chairs and a bathtub with privacy outside to soak under the milky way. Has microwave, stove top, all pans, pots and cutlery. Great shower with towels, lotions, soaps, you name it! Great comfortable bed with small bedside...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Worldttravel A
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this review

Thank you for your very detailed review.There isn't to much that you have missed.Pleased you enjoyed the breakfast.I remember places by the food (how bad is that) or good!!! The Dumps name is always a bit of a talking point, it was relocated from Arrowtown on the back of a truck, dumped on the lawn,and given some T.L.C. Hence the...

3 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tuatapere hotels
0.0 km away
Last Light Lodge
Last Light Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tuatapere
40 reviews
0.0 km away
Tuatapere Motel, Backpackers and Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Visit us for the ultimate cosy B&B experience. We have a self contained studio unit, suitable for a couple or one person. Continental breakfast included in the tariff. Kitchen, shower, toilet, alfresco bath, queen-sized bed & all linen provided. Nearest accommodation to Bluecliffs beach & the Hump Ridge track. Just 2km from Tuatapere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump

Address: Papatotara Road | RD1, Tuatapere 9691, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Tuatapere
Price Range: RM364 - RM383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is only one unit so book early as this place gets booked out quickly.”
 of 5 bubbles debbie438, 4 Mar 2015 | Read review
1 of 1