We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ndlovu Camp

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hlane Royal National Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of Ndlovu Camp
 Click to rate
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What an awesome camp. I wish we had stayed several more nights, specially looking back after three weeks of travel in South Africa A great , clean camp ground. Excellent clean hot water showers and bathrooms, lit by the parafin lanterns at night. A clean, covered kitchen area with running water In the morning we saw a water hole across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Badmedicine
Naples, FL
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a cool place and we were the only ones staying there. It was so relaxing and the food was good and inexpensive. The rooms were clean and lamps so romantic. Guides were good, beers too and we loved the animals. We did not see anything the next morning on our walk so in hindsight I would have preferred another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ceg51
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After a very bad night sleep we went out on a safari, 05:15 in the Morning and of we go.. we where exited!! Our first safari ever.. but maxwell was a guide wich looks affraid.. it was not a relaxed safari drive.. maybe it comes with the years and more experience. When we were back at the camp we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r_torsing
Toulouse, France
Reviewed 26 February 2017

A peaceful place to rest one or 2 nights (watching hippos, rhinos or elephants on the water hole for example)! We had a very nice rondavel as accomodation, without electricity, which was very romantic thanks to the petrol lights... Low wifi available on restaurant and very nice and helpful employees. Restaurant is cheap, with a beautiful view on the waterhole....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pierre R
Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 9 February 2017

A real bush experience but with some home comforts. If you are looking for hot rocks and massage then I suggest you go elsewhere. This is a Rest Camp in developing country that gets you close to nature, safely. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. There's no electricity so the hurricane lamps (and the paraffin fridge) add to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23DaveG
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Ndlovu Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review! Our roads are usually fine for all sedans, but with the recent rains, they become tricky. We look forward to your return!

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2017

With no electricity in my rondavel, Ndlovu Camp was authentic. But there was no escape from the heat - no air conditioner of course, not even a fan because there was no power. As I drove up, the temp was 34 degrees. Inside the rondavel it was at least 10 degrees hotter and the heat stayed all night. I got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianmK6021UT
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Ndlovu Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and sorry the heat was so unbearable! No electricity does mean no fans or aircon. Luckily it was not a crazy hot day - Hlane can reach well over 40 degrees!

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

The accommodation at Ndlovu camp is very good - we stayed in No 1 Wisteria, one of a group of rondevals set amongst trees. There is no power, lighting is by paraffin lamps and candles so don't forget a torch and go with camera batteries fully charged. The whole camp is very peaceful. Food at the camp restaurant is good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poppyslane
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Ndlovu Camp, responded to this review

A wonderful review, thank you!

Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 30 November 2016

This place is poorly managed. The assistant manager Rudi should not be exposed to the public. The foolishness started at arrival. They clearly need money because they are constantly chipping away. The manager wanted to charge the taxi driver an entrance fee. The staff said he didn't have to pay, then once bullied by Rudi, he had to pay R30....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AuntieAnne22
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Ndlovu Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are saddened by your experience. Your comments are not the norm for Hlane at all! We have a Taxi Policy due to our historic experiences. The food is a matter of concern, especially when this is an area that has improved enormously under our current managers. Your check-in experience sounds like an unfortunate misunderstanding...

Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Awesome camp with nice staff The waterhole next to the camp allows sunrise and view on hippos, kudus and more wildlife We took a walking tour with well done explanations. Seeing lions and leopards is highly likely on their game drives The cleaning facilities were very good considering that at night there is no electricity. The bar offers everything you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Ndlovu Camp, responded to this review

We love your review, thank you! Just a note for future readers ... lions are seen often, leopards seldom ;O)

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 28 October 2016

The good: The bed was comfortable. The bathroom is fully functional. The bad: little weaver birds start chirping at dawn, even before the sun rises The odd: there is no electricity so light comes from candles and oil lamps - and this is wonderfully relaxing and a perfect chance to go un-digital and read / catch up on sleep /...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimmyMTL
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Ndlovu Camp, responded to this review

What a fabulous review - thank you! We look forward to your return!

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (127)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hlane Royal National Park
0.0 km away
Shewula Mountain Camp
Shewula Mountain Camp
#2 of 4 in Hlane Royal National Park
32 reviews
0.0 km away
Hlane Royal National Park - Caravan Park
Hlane Royal National Park - Cara...
#4 of 4 in Hlane Royal National Park
13 reviews
6.7 km away
Simunye Country Club
Simunye Country Club
#1 of 1 in Simunye
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 km away
Mabuda Farms
Mabuda Farms
#1 of 1 in Siteki
44 reviews
0.0 km away
Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Ndlovu Camp

Address: Hlane Royal National Park, Swaziland
Region: Swaziland > Lubombo District > Hlane Royal National Park
Number of rooms: 21
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ndlovu Camp staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ndlovu Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can camp, backpack or rondawel.”
23DaveG, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not arrive late”
ianmK6021UT, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Skip the overnight stay. Go for the day--8:30am or ther 1:30pm game drive, then leave.”
AuntieAnne22, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bring earplugs if you don't like the sound birds at dawn.”
JimmyMTL, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We loved the Big Hut!”
434tinat, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5