We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maliba Mountain Lodge

TripAdvisorUS$104*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$104*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Maliba Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Maliba Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 498: English reviews
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 20 January 2016

Our family of 6 adults spent two nights right after Christmas. The acommodations were quite nice - in room wifi, fine dining, well stocked mini-bar, pitcher of drinking water in room. Service was painfully slow for breakfast and lunch on the terrace. Hiking trails were not well marked or described, but we enjoyed a pleasant hike. Staff were helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mmchurchman
Lancashire, England
Reviewed 19 January 2016

This hotel is quite a drive to get to being some way from anything else. However, it is worth the effort and views are great. The room was very high quality with a king size bed, fridge and pretty much anything you need. The meals served were of very good quality and the staff friendly and helpful. The only black...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rodski
MalibaFox, Public Relations Manager at Maliba Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We sincerely regret that your wife sustained an injury at the lodge and hope that her hand will heal swiftly. Since the incident we have reviewed the lighting situation and improved visibility in the area. Our staff do attend regular first aid training and we will be scheduling refresher courses and training for...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Maliba is incredibly special. Most of the staff comes from the area, and their level of training and sophistication is simply superb. The huts are perfect and really cozy, the decoration is fantastic. The fireplace makes it ideal and we chose to have dinner in the room every night, which was exquisitely prepared and served. We also had nice massages....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jgr83
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 January 2016

A unique experience you can't get in very many places in the world. Very luxurious by African standards. The staff mostly come from the local villages, so remember that. They try their best and do a good job considering there's nothing else of this level in the country. I stayed in one of the cabins, which are just beautiful. While...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank snowcactus
Mbabane, Swaziland
Reviewed 15 January 2016

We, me and my family, enjoyed our stay in Lesotho Maliba Lodge. The tranquility of the lodge is priceless. Our only wish is that the facility can add more activities, especially fun games for kids. Otherwise the place is good. Unfortunately for us, we traveled during the drought period, so the river was dry. But we could tell that it...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank K2983YAfrankm
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 12 January 2016

absolutely hospitable accommodation with absolutely amazing services and serene environment, could maybe improve on the overall sound proofing of the rooms for absolute guest comforts from adjusting rooms/. otherwise very much appreciated and enjoyed the stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L9070WIjohnb
Sydney
Reviewed 12 January 2016

The accommodation and service was very good but the evening meal was below average. The roast beef was tough & dry, very disappointing for a lodge of this standard. The food needs to be improved as it is not even on a par with some of the much cheaper hotels in the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell P
MalibaFox, Public Relations Manager at Maliba Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We regret that your meal did not meet our usual standard. Due to unforeseen circumstances during the December period, we were required to source a temporary chef. Our Kitchen staffing has since returned to our normal standard of high quality and we trust that this will no longer be a concern. Regards Maliba...

Reviewed 11 January 2016

We had a fabulous time staying at the river lodge at Maliba for a week over New Year. The people are friendly and willing to help, the location is idyllic and quiet and overall we had a great experience. You can go on walks, pony rides, hikes, swim in the rock pool or just relax. We also went on the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TeeDeeVee
Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 11 January 2016

The Lodge beautifully located, the Chalets a good size. The plumbing didnt work too great, either had not hot water upstairs or only hot water downstairs! The food bill was horrendous! overpriced and not all that appetizing or filling.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank natalies932
MalibaFox, Public Relations Manager at Maliba Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and advising us of your concerns. We regret that the water pressure was problematic during your stay. Due to our high location in the mountains and the current drought in Lesotho and South Africa, we are experiencing minor water shortages. We are managing the situation by regularly transporting additional water to the lodge,...

Salzburg Region, Austria
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Wonderfullly decorated lodge, the rooms are stylish. Staff in the Restaurant ist helpfiul and friendly, they are however not very professionsl (which is claer due to the Location of the lodge). It The luxorious place is a contrast to the life in Lesotho.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ulli1313

410 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (378)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsehlanyane National Park
0.0 km away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
4 reviews
39.4 km away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
61 reviews
0.0 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 9 in Maseru
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Hotel Mount Maluti
#1 of 1 in Mohale's Hoek
5 reviews
25.0 km away
Motlejoa Guest House
Motlejoa Guest House
#2 of 3 in Butha-Buthe
5 reviews
0.0 km away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 28 in Maseru
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Deep in the North of Lesotho's breathtaking Maluti / Drakensburg Mountains, the 5 Star Maliba Mountain Lodge offers a luxurious tranquil retreat set in a pristine national park. Guests can relax in one of the 6 spacious Basotho-style suites, enjoy scenic mountain vistas from private balconies and enjoy the pampering service of the friendly staff. The main lodge features a Gourmet restaurant and bar with quiet discreet areas to relax in front of the fire places and discuss the day’s events. Guests have a unique opportunity to explore the beauty of the landscape from horseback, hiking along the various mountain trails, visiting the cultural village or enjoying a massage from your private deck. Join us for an unforgettable adventure and experience the “Kingdom in the sky”. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maliba Mountain Lodge

Address: Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho
Region: Lesotho > Butha-Buthe District > Tsehlanyane National Park
Price Range: RM423 - RM1,311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maliba Mountain Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Maliba Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maliba Mountain Hotel Tsehlanyane National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maliba Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Maliba Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Views are great, and nice sound of waterfall. % start is the best.”
, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We have Chalet number 4 and loved it - no complaints!”
345DavidK345, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book chalet #6 if you can, it's very secluded”
  • View from room #6
ericdZ6815UQ, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“According to the staff, lodges 6 and 7 are the best, and lodge 6 has been stayed in by Their Royal Majesty the King of Lesotho!”
JaneShorney, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rondavels have superlative views”
petaprkr, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$104* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates