We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Oak Barn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Clears
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Old Oak Barn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A pleasant stay for our family break in Wales. Beautiful and picturesque location with plenty of walks and wildlife outside the door. Children are welcomed and well provided for with books, DVDs, games and the rope swing in the woods. Good central location for visiting all areas of South and West Wales such as Tenby, Folly Farm, New Quay, Broad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_Emma
Charlotte R, Owner at Old Oak Barn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for writing a review of your holiday here over halfterm. We are glad you keep returning! And this time you had the most amazing weather too. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes Charlotte

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016

From the moment we first spoke to Charotte I felt confident that all was going to go well. Everything from the barn itself, its facilities (wi-fi was 1st class), to its location, to the friendly welcome we received on arrival further reinforced our confidence. Charlotte is a super host, friendly and chatty and was eager to ensure we had everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank infoJ7579PS
Charlotte R, Owner at Old Oak Barn, responded to this review

A really big thank you for leaving such kind words in your review! Even though you had to come and go a bit back and forth to Swansea to feed the cat, I know you both enjoyed the peace and quiet here at Old Oak Barn. Thank you for helping us eat the veg from the greenhouse! And for being...

Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

We spent a week in this self catering cottage and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. It's 20 minutes drive to the coast or mountains but you wouldn't even need to leave the barn as there is so much on the doorstep. We really enjoyed the outing around the land in Jerry's 4x4; seeing the woods, sheep and meeting the chickens....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joaffe
Charlotte R, Owner at Old Oak Barn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - great to hear you intend coming back to stay again. It was a pleasure meeting you and your parents who stayed with you both. Yes - the skys here are breathtaking on a clear night. Best wishes Charlotte

London
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We've just returned from Old Oak Barn where we had a fantastic holiday. Weather aside (it was gorgeous) our stay was perfect. The Barn is beautiful - spacious, clean, comfortable and equipped with everything you could possibly need (including lots of great toys for kids). Our friendly hosts Charlotte and Jerry took us on an exciting truck ride around the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alexandra2205
Charlotte R, Owner at Old Oak Barn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write a review. You were so lucky with the weather and that meant you got to see some lovely beaches and places in this part of Wales. It was fun meeting your family too and so good that you all enjoyed your holiday at Old Oak Barn so much,...

Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

We've just had a very relaxing week in this fantastic cottage, despite the wet Welsh weather. The barn was warm and cosy so we usually didn't leave until late in the morning. We had two teenage girls with us and they were well entertained with WiFi, DVD player and games, including swing ball when it was dry. They also enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
Charlotte R, Owner at Old Oak Barn, responded to this review

What a great review! Thank you for staying here with us at Old Oak Barn and I am very happy you all enjoyed yourselves. You are right there is so much to do within the area with lots of fantastic choices for eating out! Glad you all explored the woods too. It was a real pleasure meeting you all. Hope...

Reviewed 22 June 2016

Old Oak Barn is a fantastic get away for all ages. The owners Charlotte and Jerry were incredibly accomodating and friendly which made our time their even more special. From the moment we arrived until the minute that we left, our time at Old Oak Barn will not be forgotten and we will definetly be returning over and over agian....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
Charlotte R, Owner at Old Oak Barn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review of your stay here at Old Oak Barn. Only one rainy day which wasn't bad! So glad you enjoyed walking in the woods so much and having a fire outside most evenings. It was great your friends could join you too. Look forward to seeing you both again one day. Charlotte :)

Sale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2016

We have now been to the old oak barn 5 or 6 times. We keep being drawn back to this tranquil spot as it is SO idyllic. Absolutely everything suits us perfectly...the barn itself is beautifully designed and kitted out and perfect for the 4 of us, we love sitting out on the patio on a warm summer's evening, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
Charlotte R, Owner at Old Oak Barn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us once again! We love it when you come to stay! So pleased once again you had perfect weather too. Thank you for writing another review of your holiday and we look forward very much to seeing you again over Whitsun in 2017. Diolch!

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

Old Oak barn is a fantastic hideaway. Set in a beautiful valley, with the back drop of Jerry's wood. The bird life will keep you busy for days. Charlotte was a generous and welcoming host. Helping us get onto Skomer for another great day out. The truck ride to check on the sheep and then guided tour of the wood...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chazylou
Charlotte R, Owner at Old Oak Barn, responded to this review

Thank yo so much for coming to stay here at Old Oak Barn and for taking the time to submit a review. I am pleased you got to go to Skomer too! We always offer visitors a spin in the truck around the farm and you made it especially fun for us because you were so interested in everything! The...

Surbiton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

We all had a great time at the Old Oak Barn. Charlotte was a fantastic host and the barn was well kitted out, well presented and with loads of space for us and our one year old. The area offers lots to do and some great beaches to explore. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MikeLavey
Charlotte R, Owner at Old Oak Barn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving such a great review of your holiday even though it was some weeks ago!! We hope you will come back soon to explore this amazing part of Wales! Your little one is always welcome too! Charlotte :)

Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

Wow!!! What can I say....except beautiful beautiful beautiful....if you are looking for anywhere to stay in Carnarthen then look no further than Old Oak Barn....beautiful setting, beautiful renovated barn and Charlotte & Jerry were very welcoming we will definitely be visiting again 😀😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharonsaunder
Charlotte R, Owner at Old Oak Barn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a great review of your short break here in Wales! And also ... thank you for booking again for another stay in April! Spring is just around the corner!! Warm regards from Charlotte

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:16
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Clears hotels
3.0 km away
Travelodge St Clears Camarthen
0.9 km away
Llety Cynin
Llety Cynin
#1 of 6 in St Clears
309 reviews
2.6 km away
Coedllys Country House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
The Savoy Country Inn
The Savoy Country Inn
#5 of 6 in St Clears
117 reviews
3.9 km away
Manordaf B&B
Manordaf B&B
#4 of 6 in St Clears
21 reviews
3.0 km away
The Forge Restaurant & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Old Oak Barn offers unique self catering holiday accommodation in a beautiful woodland valley in West Wales 5 minutes from Laugharne and St Clears. Very well equipped - suitable for children. Open all year. WiFi free of charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Oak Barn

Address: Cwmpalis, St Clears SA33 4DS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > St Clears
Price Range: RM283 - RM509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Oak Barn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Old Oak Barn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is a lovely cottage not a hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Oakes_Family4, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
“You can't choose a room as it's a self catering barn conversion! Trip Advisor get your act together!”
 of 5 bubbles RadlettCricket_Fan, 9 Jun 2015 | Read review
“We have stayed in a cottage so there wasn't swimming pool or housekeeping. That's why I didn't give any vote to them. I suggest guests to rent the whole cottage not separate any rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles sinemp2014, 2 Jan 2014 | Read review
“All rooms lovely”
 of 5 bubbles lsjaboard, 29 Nov 2011 | Read review
4 of 4