We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Bakehousei

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Old Bakehousei
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 173: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Bakehousei
 Click to rate
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Frances took us in after we found we had been over booked elsewhere. The best B&B we had all holiday by far. Very comfortable room, great breakfast, great staff and warm friendly hostess Frances. From a welcoming cup of tea and biscuits to arranging a nice meal at The Cobblers, and Easter eggs at the breakfast table. ( my granddaughter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anneandbobjohns
Mackiemac55, Owner at The Old Bakehousei, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We were delighted we could help! Thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves so much. The team are so encouraged by the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon. Many thanks, best wishes, Frances.

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped here for a couple of nights whilst visiting friends. The Guest House was recommended to us and it did not disappoint. Frances greeted us when we arrived and helped us carry our luggage up to the room. Our room was lovely, clean and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was delicious all cooked fresh and from local produce. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
Mackiemac55, Owner at The Old Bakehousei, responded to this review

Thank you. We are all delighted you were so pleased with your stay here. We did enjoy having you, and are thrilled you loved the breakfasts too. Our aim is to give you the best possible experience we can, so glad that we achieved that did you. I hope we may be able to welcome you back here again sometime....

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was not my first visit nor will it be my last. Frances is a wonderful, warm, friendly hostess who offers great hospitality from tea on arrival to the nice little touches in your room. Breakfast sets you up for the day and nothing seems too much for her. If I could rate better than excellent then I would. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miranda82017
Mackiemac55, Owner at The Old Bakehousei, responded to this review

Thank you. It is always so lovely to see you and all your appreciation of what we offer here. A great boost to the staff who help me and work so hard to keep these high standards. It is reassuring to see we seem to be on the right track in doing the best we can for our guests. We...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a gem! Our first time visiting this beautiful part of England. Arrived a rainy day to The Old Bakehouse and this B&B was the total opposite; warm and inviting with cozy bedroom, comfortable lounge and dining area, and the nicest hostess you could ever ask for! Every morning, my son looked forward to having one of the delicious hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HNordlund
Mackiemac55, Owner at The Old Bakehousei, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, we really appreciate it. We loved meeting you and welcoming you here. We are all delighted your stay was such a positive experience and we really hope we can welcome you back here again soon. Many thanks, Frances.

England
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Our third trip to Seaton for The Grizzly and our third stay with Frances at The Bakehouse. Once again we were warmly welcomed with tea and biscuits in the lounge, and a lovely cosy bedroom with a newly refurbished en suite. We love the choice of drinks in the room and fresh milk is an added treat. Frances and her...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
Mackiemac55, Owner at The Old Bakehousei, responded to this review

Thank you. So lovely to be able to welcome you all back here. We love having you and are proud of your stamina and motivation fir the Grizzly runs. We really do appreciate the comments and are delighted you enjoyed all the new touches. See you next year. Best wishes, Frances.

Wokingham
Reviewed 13 March 2017

I don't think our weekends in Devon would be complete without staying at The Old Bakehouse. As always, Frances you provide fantastic accommodation, amazing breakfasts,such a warm welcome and all the extra special touches that make us come back year after year, nothing is too much trouble. It is lovely staying with our friends too and the young ladies who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJacksWokingham
Mackiemac55, Owner at The Old Bakehousei, responded to this review

We always love welcoming you all back each year! And love that you want to stay here. Thank you, we are so fortunate that our guests are all so appreciative of our efforts. It is all so encouraging. We look forward to welcoming you back next year. Regards, Frances and team.

Enfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We really love this bed and breakfast and our girls do too, (aged 6 and 4). Frances welcomes us with open arms, it really feels like a home from home. The family room has had a makeover and there is now a slightly smaller bed for the fourth person (in addition to a double and a singe) which is more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
Mackiemac55, Owner at The Old Bakehousei, responded to this review

Thank you, we thoroughly enjoyed having you all here again. A delightful family so pleased you enjoyed all the upgrades here. So grateful got the feedback, such a help for future customers to see comments and get a feel of this b&b. Glad you had a good time and look forward to welcoming you back here again. Regards, Frances and...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

What a great place to stay. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The hospitality was top notch. Well done Frances and thank you for making us feel welcome We'll definitely be staying there again in the near future

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimmy010147
Mackiemac55, Owner at The Old Bakehousei, responded to this review

Thank you! It was great to meet you and your lovely family. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much and are grateful for all the feedback. We are fortunate to be able to welcome a great deal of our customers back again.. and are so pleased you would like to return here. We will look forward to welcoming...

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

This is our second weekend break at this quant delightful Bed and Breakfast. It was so relaxing and without fault. Frances the owner makes your stay amazing with truly five star service without being intrusive. On arrival we ordered a cheese Board for two, so wonderfully presented and a complimentary bottle of prosseco for valentines. The breakfast has a vast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diana190727
Mackiemac55, Owner at The Old Bakehousei, responded to this review

Thank you. We are all absolutely delighted you had such a great stay and thrilled you were happy with all we offer. We really appreciate all the feedback and loved welcoming you back here again. Look forward to the next time.... Best wishes, Frances.

Reviewed 11 February 2017

Such an amazing place to stay. Warm, friendly and inviting. Clean, comfortable rooms with everything you need to make your stay 5 star. Brilliant food and Francis is the best owner/hostess I have ever met. Nothing is too much trouble and she is so friendly, informative and helpful. Given the choice I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The accomadation here is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
Mackiemac55, Owner at The Old Bakehousei, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your kind review. Nothing delights us more than for guests to leave following a happy, quality stay here. And if we can exceed expectations that is even better! It was lovely to welcome you back here again. I hope you had a safe journey back. Thank you for supporting our business. Regards, Frances and team.

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (33)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyton
6.8 km away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
598 reviews
1.7 km away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
271 reviews
5.1 km away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beer
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
149 reviews
0.1 km away
Colyton Holiday Cottages - White Cottage
2.6 km away
Spillers Farm
Spillers Farm
#1 of 4 in Musbury
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 300 year old characterful Grade II Listed Building with some original features. The Old Bakehouse is a 4star silver rated B&B housing twin, double or family ensuite rooms. Single occupancy rooms are available, and we offer group self catering breaks.Situated in the Saxon town of Colyton, nestling in the Axe Valley, and 3 miles from the World Heritage Jurassic Coast at Seaton.The Old Bakehouse is ideally located near Lyme Bay and between the coastal towns of Lyme Regis and Sidmouth , on the borders of East Devon and West Dorset.We offer a warm welcome with a friendly, personalised service to all our guests, with free on site secure parking, use of our guest lounge and free wifi. Facilities are in place and graded for walkers and cyclists.Breakfast is freshly cooked to order using local produce wherever possible.Room service, packed lunches, afternoon tea and buffet functions/ parties are available to order.Iron, hair dryer , tumble drier, drying room and fridge for guest use are also in situ.We pride ourselves on offering high quality accommodation and facilities , and short breaks are a speciality.Open all year round , The Old Bakehouse is a great base for exploring the area by car, bicycle, on foot or by the local Seaton Tramway. Ideal for antique hunters,bird watchers,tram/ train enthusiasts, beach goers, fishing,golfing, horse riding or just walking on the East Devon Way or South West Coast path or cycling on the many routes around us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Bakehousei

Address: Lower Church Street, Colyton, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyton
Price Range: RM479 - RM535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Bakehousei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Bakehousei staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 4 was very comfortable”
anneandbobjohns, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are comfortable.”
bettybull, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just inform of any requirements upon booking”
amandabQ8572NN, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are fantastic”
mikeh862, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The church bell chines every quarter of an hour. If your room is at the front and a light sleeper you are advised to close your window.”
karllamb, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Priceline
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates