We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Strand Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Strand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 296: English reviews
Start your review of The Strand Hotel
 Click to rate
Ireland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent an overnight stay here with my daughter and am very pleased to say that all the staff were exceedingly polite and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The dinner was beautiful and the vegetable soup was delicious. The best I have ever tasted in all my 40 something years. My compliments to The chefs! Breakfast, disappointingly, was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline O
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A group of us stayed here over St Paddys weekend (Friday to Monday). Nice hotel with great food. Rooms where clean and tidy and staff really friendly. Was a little disappointed that the hotel had NO entertainment on Paddys night, however, we went to the hotel up the road and had a good night. Other than that, we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted that you enjoyed your weekend with us. Thank you for taking the time in review.

Muff, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Now a little gem of a family friendly hotel set in beautiful Inishowen. Well known for its good wholesome food with excellent friendly staff and is really clean. A lovely quiet setting for a break away. There is a lovely beach down the road past it about five minutes drive with a play area for children. Close to Ballyliffen golf...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donegaltourist5
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your time in review. With Doagh Famine Village now open for the season, the beach and eco friendly playground and Glenevin Waterfall all close by, it certainly makes Ballyliffin a family friendly location

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

It was easy to find this hotel. Located right on the corner of the road. Good size room with comfortable beds. It was in a quiet location with fish and chips takeaway across the street. The breakfast buffet was ok and the staff was friendly and helpful. The lounge was spacious and comfortable. If you're an early bird, go for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZaiOnTravels
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in review. The Hotel is centrally located in the Village, close to the beach and golf course and within a few minutes drive of Doagh Visitors and Famine Village.

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

We visited here on valentines evening and we were shocked at how quiet it was (all the better for us) we got to choose our own table and the barman arrived down with Menus & took our drinks order very swiftly. He came back and took our food order - we opted for the early bird menu with both of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne K
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Delighted to read that you enjoyed your Valentines Evening with us. The weekend had been busy and our Valentines Menu proved very popular. Thank you for your kind remarks and I look forward to your return.

Dundonald, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

This is a family run Hotel staff very friendly. Rooms are very spacious spotless beds are comfortable. Food and drinks reasonable price. It has quite relaxed surroundings. Their is 3 beaches within walking distance. Good clean fresh air. Local entertainment on Saturday nights. A good all round stay. Would highly recommend for a lazy relaxed weekend.. 👍👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spstky
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it.

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017

It's about 15 years at least since I went to the Strand hotel for Sunday carvery - and it will be double that time before I go again!! Egg mayonnaise, prawn salad or vol-au-vent for starters (all I needed was the poodle perm to feel right back in the day) - took the latter and it had plenty of ham...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suziequiq
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Our Traditional Irish Roast Carvery is very busy and offers our diners a tasty Sunday treat and great value with 5 courses at €17.95. Indeed our starters include Organic Egg salad, Mixed Seafood Salad, a very popular Chicken & Ham Vol au Vent and Fan of Melon all available with a wide selection of salads. We do season our soup...

County Donegal, Ireland
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Well where do I start. From the minute we entered the hotel, with three kids in tow it was terrible, staff were slow, restaurant was slower and I really did not enjoy my stay...we were in a family room which was clean by all accounts but definitely not a comfortable place, seeing it was Christmas season and we were there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alil2404
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay last December. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy it as we are a popular destination with families for Donegals Lapland. We offer families great value and complimentary selection boxes for the kids. As you can imagine Christmas is a busy time especially at weekends and The...

letterkenny
Reviewed 3 February 2017

My husband and I had a lovely break in the Strand hotel on the 27th and 28th of January. The staff were eally helpful and the food delicious. This is a very cosy, clean and well run hotel and we will definately stay there again. Many thanks to all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LetterkennyMary
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us for your break. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I thank you for taking the time to review it.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Ate here . Bar menu on 30/12. Family of 4. Service food all excellent pork ribs to die for. Old favourites. Chicken Maryland and roast beef. Perfect. Young bar man- Ned - so attentive. All in all a pure pleasure. Best hotel and staff in Ballyliffen. See you again. Hopeful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SEANPMC
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and the food. I will pass on your comments to the staff.

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
0.2 km away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
0.2 km away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
347 reviews
0.4 km away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Malin Hotel
Malin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malin
203 reviews
21.9 km away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,810 reviews
17.7 km away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 5 in Buncrana
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family run Hotel, near to Ballyliffin Golf Club and overlooking the beautiful Pollan beach. Ideal location for family holidays, a short break, your wedding or a conference. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: Strand Hotel Main Street, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Price Range: RM406 - RM545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Strand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Strand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 53 which a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles 977philipr, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Find out where the family rooms are and get as far away as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles Biawatch, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for room with views of Pollan beach”
 of 5 bubbles jamesdF5858VT, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay as hotel was full when we tried to book. Good sign.”
 of 5 bubbles 827frankd, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms overlooking the car park and above the main entrance, as these get a bit noisy late at night.”
 of 5 bubbles marting971, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5