We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalpitiya
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 68: English reviews
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Srilankakite is a great spot for kiters! It offers the best options for kiting with launching area just outside your bungalow for the experienced kiters and super easy launch just across the lagoon for beginners. I came with my family and the Srilnkakite took good care for all of our needs. The staff is super friendly and mingles with guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 211Axel
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

The site is amazing but the place almost only attracts people who just want to kitesurf, party and have little interest in sri lanka nor nature. The boss says it is called eco because it is economic (which is not even true with a bottle of water sold for 1,25€!) we could hardly sleep the only night we stayed because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skoolpool
Stefdec, Owner at Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Skoolpool, We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. As you said our place is mostly dedicated to kitesurfing, hence the name "Srilankakite". We are often having random parties but to avoid disturbing our guests we turn down the music at midnight. I think you misunderstood the eco term, it means that most of the...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 16 September 2015

My wife and I stayed 5 nights at the camp of Srilankakite. We had a very nice stay. We had the first bungalow located next to the kite school. It was great, it has a lot of space and several shelves in the main room, a very confortable bed with mosquito net. The bathroom was cleaned and large. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antoine F
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We stayed in the 'villa' which was made available after the terrible fire at the main camp. It is a private house now offered via Sri Lanka Kite / Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge. The house itself is quite spacious and has a large outdoor area with a pool and a cabana at the end of a private pier. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank josdevries0031
Stefdec, Owner at Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Dear josdevries0031, First of all thank you for staying with us and we are very sorry about that situation. As said in a previous review the place you stayed is not part of camp, it's a house we rent with the owner's staff. We reported to him the problems and will try our best to avoid this in the future....

Reviewed 12 August 2015

We are kiters and choose this place because of the best location directly in front of the lagoon. In fact, thats the only thing that justifies the relatively high price and we accepted this. However, we planned some trip for a few days across Sri Lanka in between our kiting and therefore packed some money in different currencies. First we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
Stefdec, Owner at Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Martin, First of all thank you for staying with us and we are very sorry about your loss. I'd like to clarify one point: the place you stayed is not part of camp, it's a house we rent with the owner's staff. We reported to him the money problem and shortly after safe boxes were installed in each room...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 January 2015 via mobile

Super friendly staff and very international. Very resourceful to find activities from kids to adults even when the wind is not blowing: jungle trek, dolphin watching (30mn ride to get to spot), bracelet weaving, kite repairing, as well as organizing sri-lanka wide explorations It is paradise on earth, except for the mosquitoes (bring repellent), i just wish the wind had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EricFeddal
minich
Reviewed 18 December 2014 via mobile

Nice Place at the beautiful lagoon, great food from different cooks (local, thai thanks to Tik, European), nice and helpful staff (Zohan and his collegue) and a friendly familiar atmosphere thanks to Chris, who can answer your questions in 6 languages and knows a lot of Great no-wind activities like digging fresh clams that will be served for dinner. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goasel1234567890
Kunduz
Reviewed 14 October 2014

I came to Kite surf and I did it. Good equipment, nice people and service. Downwinder to do, magic spot to discover, rescue boat if needed and beach boy always ready to help. The food is really good also. I ll come back for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eresar
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 13 October 2014

Learnt to kite here - very cool staff and great atmosphere and food. Super happy I chose the place and might come back next year to kite again. It is a little pricey compared to local but probably worth it. The rooms could have bigger mosquito nets . Overall stocked with my decision to stay here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
Reviewed 29 September 2014

For advanced kitesurfers: You can start kitesurfing directly from the Lodge (also depending on the wind, I guess). For beginners: A boat will take you to the other side of the lagoon and you can start kitesurfing there. Kitesurfing lessons were very professionel. I improved very much during my stay (5 days) and I also had a lot of fun...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Inga N

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalpitiya hotels
5.0 km away
Diyamba Beach Resort
Diyamba Beach Resort
#8 of 25 in Kalpitiya
125 reviews
1.7 km away
Ruuk Village
Ruuk Village
#4 of 45 in Kalpitiya
129 reviews
22.4 km away
Dolphin Village
Dolphin Village
#5 of 25 in Kalpitiya
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Kitesurfing Lanka
Kitesurfing Lanka
#1 of 45 in Kalpitiya
318 reviews
2.2 km away
Divyaa Lagoon
Divyaa Lagoon
#18 of 25 in Kalpitiya
108 reviews
4.1 km away
Welle Wadiya
Welle Wadiya
#6 of 25 in Kalpitiya
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled between the salt pans and the lagoon, our Sethawadiya property comprises four eco chalets with views of the ocean beyond picturesque sand bars. The chalets include a private sitting area and bedroom with attached bathroom. This is the perfect getaway for those looking for an experience beyond commercialized resorts. Just opened from 1st July 2011, Srilankakite located at Sethawadiya Dolphin view ecolodge. This kite centre is dedicated for beginners intermediate and advance lessons with the latest equipment available at the centre from north boarding that include rentals sale and repairs of all kiteboarding equipment. Get advise from world famous Fabio Ingrosso staying throughout the season at the centre testing the kites for north boarding again one of the most technically advanced reputable kite brands in the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge

Address: Off 40 Km Post Kalpitiya Road | 2 km towards the sea, Sethawadiya, Kalpitiya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Kalpitiya
Price Range: RM133 - RM355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Hotel Kalpitiya
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“with a gun to my head I would choose the master bedroom”
  • View from Comfort Chalet
  • View from Comfort Chalet
  • View from Comfort Chalet
 of 5 bubbles josdevries0031, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Magic spot boat trip is great but pricey at 45Euro, the rooms and food are good but basic, besides kitesurfing there is not much to do. At night it can be noisy from the music at the bar. No airconditioning and no 24/7 electricity.”
  • View from Comfort Chalet
  • View from Comfort Chalet
  • View from Comfort Chalet
 of 5 bubbles josdevries0031, 4 Sep 2014 | Read review
“no A/C in any room. But they all have fans which for me sufficed in making the room cool. Don't keep food (not even sealed) in the room to avoid attracting animals. the only rooms which have more noise privacy are the chalets. But we enjoyed our stay in both the eco room and the eco view room. Just mind that your neighbors can easily hear you ;)”
  • comfort chalet
 of 5 bubbles fedevit, 3 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Take the windy oriented rooms - no fan needed”
 of 5 bubbles herve_robic, 11 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Go for the Ecoview rooms if you like your private room at a good price and a view over the lagoon to check the wind in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles Hackles, 16 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5