We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Laxnes

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,041 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Laxnes
See the most recent reviews
Showing 984: English reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Picked this place because the TripAdvisor reviews were really positive and the location met our needs, as we were driving back toward the airport from the Westfjords. The first impression of the place is that it's a dark sports bar, with a hotel attached -- which put me off a little. But we checked in without a problem and were...

Thank MassTraveller78
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Let me begin with the positives: the room was clean and spacious. The location is great for traveling to Reykjavik or the attractions nearby with easy access to the highway. Unfortunately the negatives simply outweighed the few positives. The breakfast was barely adequate. On the first day, the coffee tasted like it had been brewed hours ago. There was a...

5Thank Frank Y
Harrisville, Rhode Island
Reviewed 11 August 2016

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Laxnes, located in the capital region of Reykjavik. It was a lovely stay in a location accessible to many attractions. Many attractions like hiking, horseback riding, sight seeing and a wonderful water park for the children are readily available.

1Thank rgarlo
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We had a lovely stay at the Hotel Laxnes for 4 nights and found both the bar and reception staff very helpful and friendly to us during our stay .The location of the hotel was the most special feature for us and the bar and pool table was useful to keep our children busy .The rooms were clean ,simply ,warm...

Thank mikepatton88
San Mateo, California
Reviewed 10 August 2016

This was an adequate hotel in a decent location just outside Reykjavic. The room was clean and did the job, but I was kind of underwhelmed by the hotel. In addition the reception that I got was decidedly unfriendly. I think this just may be the Icelandic demeanor. I encountered this in a number of places in Iceland. I think...

1Thank ndb9000
Richmond, Texas
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We reserved an apartment for three nights with refrig and small range. There were two burners on the range, but no pots or pans; don't expect to do any cooking. The room was hot so we did open the bathroom window but it did not help very much. The pillows were awful. On a positive note, we were able to...

1Thank jabdab
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review

Hello Glad you found our Hotel clean however you could have requested some pans from the reception if you were going to be cooking .Will look at replacing the pillows asap .

arizona, british columbia
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Sorry to downgrade, but this is not worth the cost and not more than 3 stars. Dated motel with no appeal. Clean but tacky, cheap skimpy furniture and linens. Bathtub extremely slippery and no bath mat except the rubber one for the tub. Small things do add up. Pros: clean, close to drive from Kef airport, and breakfast quite decent....

2Thank elderlyones
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review

Yes its a shame you have given us only 3 stars ,with the linen in Iceland we do not have an under linen sheet which goes over the main sheet .The bath tub is standard like anywhere else and furniture cheap but working . This is a hotel not a motel .

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Stayed at this hotel again following our 2011 visit. Great location and excellent staff. Shaun was an absolute star, very welcoming and full of information! Side note - excellent breakfast selection :-)

1Thank Paul7671
Excelsior, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 August 2016

This hotel is charming and the staff are great. My family of four stayed in a room that was quite small (and granted, a little outdated), but it was all that was available at the time of our booking, and it was fine for us because it forced us to get outside! The bathroom was perfect, large and updated, and...

Thank GorillaMommy
Maitland, Australia
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for several nights after driving around the island and found it to be a warm, quiet, friendly , family run hotel with wonderful rooms large enough for our family of 4 to sleep comfortably and relax with a queen, 2 singles and large corner sofa. Our room also opened onto a verandah for some extra fresh air....

Thank Michelle2320

805 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (559)
Hotel & Grounds (147)
View from Room (96)
Room/Suite (71)
Dining (17)
Family/Play Areas (8)
Bathroom (9)
Videos (3)
Other (208)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (222)
Amenities (24)
Large Double Room (30)
Dining (27)
Standard Double Room (37)
Suite (41)
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (24)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Room/Suite (2)
Other (17)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
973 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,518 reviews
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Price Range: RM669 - RM1,357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Laxnes staff and other travellers.
48 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (48)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Laxnes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room to north”
Ztonee, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room facing the mountains”
355seanw, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“If you are sensitive, ask for a room father away from the bar's back door (where the smokers hang out).”
SuzanneDinSF, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“if you're lucky, you might be upgraded to a room with a balcony. The view is excellent.”
nigeln2014, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Balcony rooms are larger and have views.”
642denises, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
US$240* /night
View Deal
View all 13 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates