We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bishops

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Bishops
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 148: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Staff really friendly . Study room excellent choice . Bed large comfy pillows great . Towels soft and actually dry you . Good water pressure and hot . Bar area nice and cosy as is the restaurant .Food superb . View to die for as is the location. Rebooked for march in the cove room can't wait to go back....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynda J
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointing experience. We reiterate the views expressed by MOCKO_2, John R and ciao2009Uk, as with MOCKOs reason for delay in submitting our review. Ours was the same we stayed 4 days in May in Cliff room, which is we believe is misleadingly advertised, as the entrance to the room backs onto bleak non decorated courtyard and the glass frontage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula N
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed as a couple for five nights (full price in the most expensive room) B&B at the end of September 2016. I've never posted a negative review on Trip Advisor before, and in fact when we got home we just wanted to forget the experience. Hence the delay. Sadly poor reports both before and since our stay echo our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MOCKO_2
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

I am sorry you have been holding back on your review also that you are so negative. Without specifics I cannot say more except that if you felt like this you should have said so at the time and given us a chance to improve your stay. .

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose Bishops to accommodate our dog so The Boat House was a great choice with simply the best sea and cove view from the bedroom. Our room was clean and comfortable but probably best you take your own toiletries as only very small bottles of shower gel & shampoo are provided. My partner booked The Lulworth Cove Inn for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John R
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

I am sorry we fell a bit short of your expectations. I know we got off to a dubious start as we had you booked in for our special New Years Eve dinner and you said you had booked elsewhere. Mistakes do happen but your name cannot have been in the dinner diary without it being booked. I deduce that...

UK
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Such a disappointment!wonderful location spoilt by sloppiness and lack of attention to detail. We stayed for 2 nights (mid week £169 for 2 nights) just as well one night was free as this hotel is definitely not worth £169 per night. We had a large room that we were happy with. Unfortunately there was a truly dreadful smell between the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ciao2009Uk
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

I am sorry you felt disappointed However, some of your comments are over critical. Yes, you did have a special deal which available at this time of year. One night was not free - the deal was 2 nights for £169 which included breakfast and a meal on one of the nights + a glass of wine each. The hole...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

The reviews for this hotel seem very mixed, but we had a great time. We got the room at a steal, as we got a very good deal with Groupon. We stayed 2 nights, had dinner in the restaurant both nights + breasfast, and all of it was great. 1. Location - the location is incredible, being a stones throw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E G
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

Love your review. Thank you

Bristol
Reviewed 6 November 2016

There's something very strange going on at this hotel/restaurant, and reading the reviews of the restaurant on here it seems we are not alone in our experience. The management just don't seem to want to be there. Sulky, moody, hard to track down, slamming plates of food down in front of you. Completely awkward on what was meant to be...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Sarah B
Philip R, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

It is clearly important to the reviewer to have written this review but it would have been more useful if he or she had got their facts correct first. I do not know who you are but have made inquiries of the staff. I am the Manager and I was away that weekend so any references to the Manager have...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Had a wonderful evening at Bishops last night. It's funny reading the reviews on TA, because we had such a warm welcome, and the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful! The location is absolutely perfect. There cannot be many more beautiful spots than Lulworth Cove in the UK- it's stunning! We ate at the restaurant and the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PF1973
Philip R, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

What a lovely review. It really makes all the efforts that we do put in together with the rest of the staff well worth while. We look forward to seeing you again at Bishops - and your friends. Thank you.

Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

This was mine and my partners 1st time visiting the area. We checked in with a rather cranky manager (I think his name was Tim) who remained less than hospitable for the duration. We were then shown our room which was the pool room. The website did say you would either love it or hate it....well it was definitely the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Nmoghadd
Philip R, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

It is difficult to find words to reply to this. I cannot accept that the sheets were not clean nor the bathmat. This is just not how we do things. I do not think that the paint was still wet but the fact that it was newly decorated is surely a fact to celebrate. I do not recall who you...

Amesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We ended up at Bishops after finding all other restaurants in West Lulworth fully booked. The bar was very cozy but the selection of drinks was very limited and uninspiring. Staff were friendly and attentive aside from forgetting to lay the table with cutlery! We had main meals which were disappointingly average considering the above average price. We all agreed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank _pbaileyassociate
Philip R, General Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

Your review is mixed but the main criticism seems to be price. We have recently put the price of lobster up from £20 to £22.50 because the general view was that it was too cheap for such quality and freshness straight from the Cove waters. The fish and chips is either battered jumbo cod or sea bass. The latter is...

133 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.7 km away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Lulworth
399 reviews
9.0 km away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
384 reviews
13.9 km away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
842 reviews
22.6 km away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#7 of 14 in Poole
1,300 reviews
29.2 km away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 69 in Bournemouth
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bishops, once the home of the Wordsworths (Bishops of Salisbury), stands on the edge of the Cove and is sheltered by Bindon Hill. Originally two cottages and dates back to 1650’s one of the oldest buildings in the village, the extensions and additions have been made with care and the building is one of the architectural features of Lulworth. The gardens overlook the beautiful Lulworth Cove and there is a large swimming pool for our guests. Bishops is on the cliff top of the world heritage Jurassic coastline at Lulworth Cove and the famous Durdle Door. Close by the stunning Studland Bay and shores of Sandbanks and Poole harbour. The countryside is ideally placed for exploring Thomas Hardy’s Wessex, The Isle of Purbeck, Corfe Castle, Swanage and Wareham a Saxon town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bishops

Address: Bishops Cottage Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Price Range: RM535 - RM803 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bishops 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Bishops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishops West Lulworth, United Kingdom - Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bishops staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Lake George, New York
5 months ago
Sunninghill, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bishops staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do yourself a favour stay somewhere else!!”
 of 5 bubbles paulan866, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stunning views from The Boathouse bedroom window.”
 of 5 bubbles Rudders65, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't book the Attic rooms... even youth hostels have better rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles Kelea2014, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose the back attic rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles AsherzSmith, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Study suite is very large and spacious”
 of 5 bubbles pennyb458, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay