We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
03/12/2017 04/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Castle Inn

    Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RN, England
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    03/12/2017 04/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Traveller (80)
    Room & Suite (12)
    Dining (9)
    Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
    1,020 reviews
    #7 of 22 hotels in Weymouth
    14.7 km
     
    Mortons House Hotel
    974 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Corfe Castle
    13.5 km
     
    Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
    946 reviews
    #1 of 6 hotels in Dorchester
    16.4 km
     
    Limestone Hotel
    478 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in West Lulworth
    0.3 km
     
    Overview
    • Excellent26%
    • Very good29%
    • Average15%
    • Poor16%
    • Terrible14%
    Travellers talk about
    “sausage” (104 reviews)
    “dog owners” (22 reviews)
    “love dogs” (12 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Pets Allowed
    Pool
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (529)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 528 reviews

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    I have just spent the weekend here and was pleasantly surprised. It's a very old pub with lots of little quirks that you'd expect from a place as old as it is, but it's warm and cosy with a real friendly atmosphere. The room was...More

    Thank Cattrina W
    Response from Graham I, General Manager at The Castle InnResponded 1 week ago

    Dear Cattrina, thank you so much for your feedback which I have shared with the whole team. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your breakfast which is always really popular. We all hope that you will return to see...More

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    Great service from lovely people, nice selection of different beers and largers. Rooms were supplied with lots of niceties, very clean and comfortable bed which was warm and cosy. I only rated a 3 as average purely because it needs refurbishing which the landlord explained...More

    Thank Louise J
    Response from Graham I, General Manager at The Castle InnResponded 3 weeks ago

    Dear Louise, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you revisit us once the refurb has been completed. We look forward to seeing you again.

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

    I visited here with my Dad and Sister who were visiting from North Yorkshire for the weekend (they know a good country pub when they see one!), we stumbled upon this gem on our way down the jurassic coast, the pub is thatched and in...More

    Thank Mrandmrsmcb
    Response from Graham I, General Manager at The Castle InnResponded 3 weeks ago

    Dear Mrandmrsmcb, thank you so much for your lovely feedback. The whole team have read your review and are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that the next time you are in the area you call in to see us again.

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

    Called in on a dinnertime for a spot of early lunch. Now before I complain the guy behind the bar was great so not levelling my moan at him. Right onto my moan the whole pub looks grubby and tired the seats we sat on...More

    Thank Telfordmon
    Response from Graham I, General Manager at The Castle InnResponded 3 weeks ago

    Dear Telfordmon, I am sorry that your visit to us was obviously a disappointing one. We have only very recently taken over at the Castle and are still very much operating with what we inherited at that time. We are due to close for a...More

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

    Saw this place having spent a day walking, we just intended having a quick drink as we had our dog with us but ended up staying for dinner. Our dog was made very welcome. Had a really lovely veggie curry and also free sweets as...More

    Thank 7wonderss
    Response from Graham I, General Manager at The Castle InnResponded 3 weeks ago

    Dear 7 wonders, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, I have passed your comments back to the team and also informed chef of the kind feedback which you have provided. We hope to see you again soon.

    Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
    1,020 reviews
    #7 of 22 hotels in Weymouth
    14.7 km
     
    Mortons House Hotel
    974 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Corfe Castle
    13.5 km
     
    Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
    946 reviews
    #1 of 6 hotels in Dorchester
    16.4 km
     
    Limestone Hotel
    478 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in West Lulworth
    0.3 km
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$84 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 12
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Dorset >
    • West Lulworth
    • Also Known As
    • The Castle Hotel West Lulworth ,
    • The Castle Inn West Lulworth, United Kingdom - Dorset
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (80)
    Room & Suite (12)
    Dining (9)
    Pool & Beach (5)
    Hotel & Grounds (52)
    Bathroom (2)
    Nearby
    Limestone Hotel
    478 reviews
    .29 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Limestone
    413 reviews
    .29 km away
    Lulworth Cove Inn Restaurant
    915 reviews
    .84 km away
    The Boat Shed Cafe
    148 reviews
    .90 km away
    Brody's
    120 reviews
    .85 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Jurassic Coast Activities
    481 reviews
    .41 km away
    Stair Hole
    55 reviews
    .98 km away
    Lulworth Outdoors
    35 reviews
    .89 km away
    South West Coast Path- Lulworth Cove & The Fossil Forest Walk
    106 reviews
    .41 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    jenny9827687290292
    26 October 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Nicola B | Reviewed this property |
    12pm I think
    1
    Vote
    Nicola B
    5 September 2017|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from owain12 | Reviewed this property |
    I was told it was sold, let's hope the new owners spend some much needed money on the place. It was very bad & in need of total refurbish & modernization. Can't even begin to describe how bad the place had become.
    1
    Vote
    Nicola B
    22 July 2017|
    AnswerShow all 11 answers
    Response from Pete M | Reviewed this property |
    No. I don,t think so.
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "No.2A is the best room."
    Read review
    "avoid room 16"
    Read review
    "Choose a room in another establishment."
    Read review
    "Rooms tend to be dark because of the location (in a valley) so ask when booking"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing