We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

736 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 731: English reviews
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel has history to die for! A Norman castle, an Elizabethan mansion, a monastery and a maternity hospital! Take your pick! It's been them all and now it's a top notch hotel. It could not earn five stars, becaus there are steps and stairs galore, so if you are less than agil, take advantage of frequent offers of help....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin T
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Dear Colin T, Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. I will be sure to share this with all of the team. We are delighted you enjoyed the castle, its history and charms so much. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Hazlewood Castle. Your sincerely Heidi Venn-Wycherley Senior Assistant Manager

Guiseley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited Hazelwood Castle & Spa for my wife's birthday. We booked the "Retreat" offer which includes D,B&B, afternoon tea, treatments for 2 in the spa and a bottle of fizz in your room.From the outside, Hazelwood Castle is pretty amazing. Unfortunately the interior didn't match. We were "greeted" by perhaps the most unfriendly welcome ever! No hello or small talk....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew P
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Andrew P, I would firstly like to apologise that you did not enjoy your stay at Hazlewood Castle Hotel. I am disappointed that you did not find the room to your taste, we are currently in the process of updating the bedrooms. Our check in time at the hotel is 3pm and this is so that we can...

Pontefract
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for two nights for my son's wedding. My (four poster!) bed was comfortable and everything was clean, although it all seemed a little dated. The bathroom particularly had very old fittings and could have done with being modernised. On the morning of the wedding six other family members arrived quite early so came into my room, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Good Afternoon reviewbyclaire, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the relevant departments. Thank you for you feedback regarding your stay. We are in the process of updating all of the bedrooms at the moments. I am so glad that you enjoyed your sons wedding and your stay and...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped in after doing activities in the grounds for cake & coffee etc & one of our party was born at Hazelwood in the days it was a maternity hospital so a bit of a history lesson too. Very confusing lay out to know where to sit but eventually found staff who guided us. Service was slow today, waited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DellyYork
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Good Afternoon DellyYork, Thank you for the review on Tripadvisor. I am ever so sorry that we did not meet your expectations or our usual standards of service. I will be sure to review the points that you have raised. Your feedback is very useful for us to avoid this happening in the future. Kind regards Heidi Venn-Wycherley Senior Assistant...

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Husband and I stayed there last night for his birthday surprise. We had a great stay. The staff were really friendly and we experienced great customer service throughout our visit. We had an evening meal last night and breakfast this morning. The quality of food was excellent. We really enjoyed both of our meals. We stayed in the Mallow room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reviewbyclaire
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Good Afternoon reviewbyclaire, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the relevant departments. Thank you for you feedback regarding the Mallow bedroom. We are in the process of updating all of the bedrooms. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Tatty, tired and disorganised. Staff clearly not trained to a standard befitting the venue. Rooms spacious but lack high end promise. Basics not covered, seems to be run on few staff and on a shoe string. While the staff were friendly it was clear there had been no training and we were left feeling quite cheated as the price for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark B
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Dear Mr Bayley, Thank you for you review and please accept our most sincere apologies for the disappointment that you experienced whilst staying with us. We do genuinely care and are ordinarily proud of the service and facilities that we provide as reflected in many of our reviews. We were most concerned to read you comments and would very much...

Kissimmee
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 1 night last week, I am a regular visitor to Hazlewood and really like this hotel. It is in fantastic grounds and is an amazing building steeped in history. There is a church on site which you can visit at certain times. There are two types of rooms, traditional rooms in the upstairs of the property which are more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alitoon
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Good Afternoon alitoon, Thank you for you review on Tripadvisor. Thank you for bringing to our attention your issue with the shower, this has now been resolved. I am glad that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant. For future reference, if you prefer something lighter we do have a bar menu serving a variety of food which is available...

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent Christmas Eve night at the Hazlewood Castle, and it was a most memorable stay; from the oh, so knowledgeable Stephen who welcomed us, to the little dog that showed his appreciation during Midnight Mass in the chapel. I expected a castle to be cold and drafty in the winter, but there were lovely warm log fires everywhere; just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judith Elizabet... M
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Judith Elizabet... M, Thank you for you lovely review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hazlewood Castle on Christmas Eve. I will happily pass on your thanks to Steve the concierge, he prides himself on his knowledge of the castle and is personally interested in it. If you are interested in...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped at the castle for two nights between Christmas and New Year on a package deal of bed, breakfast and dinner. It really didn't disappoint and was a pleasure to enjoy such a great venue in lovely woodland. Our room was spotless and had all we needed for our stay. All the staff were very pleasant and from ordering...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Steve R, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the relevant departments. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon at Hazlewood Castle Hotel. Kind Regards Heidi Venn-Wycherley Senior Assistant Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a one night dinner package for New Years Day and decided to pay the extra £50 or for a Suite. The Suite bedroom (Cornflower) was fine although the furniture was a bit dated and shabby. The En-suite was described as "Luxury" on the website but was more like a basic Travelodge bathroom with a green mould infested shower head...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephen o
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Stephen o, I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal and service in the restaurant. Thank you for your feedback regarding Cornflower. I will be sure to address these issues with the housekeeping team. We are also in the process of refurbishing all of the bedrooms. Please could you email me your contact details to heidi.venn@hazlewood-castle.co.uk so that...

471 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (420)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (119)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (169)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazlewood
17.7 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,296 reviews
40.1 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
17.4 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
729 reviews
19.2 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
14.7 km away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in 77 acres of landscaped gardens & woodland, this former knight's residence is in an idyllic rural location only minutes from the historic city of York & the cosmopolitan city of Leeds. Dating back to 1086, Hazlewood Castle has been sensitively restored & converted into a fabulous destination offering a selection of elegant private function rooms, 32 luxury rooms & suites, an award-winning Vavasour Restaurant, & its very own chapel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Address: Paradise Lane, Hazlewood LS24 9NJ, England (Formerly Hazlewood Castle & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hazlewood
Price Range: RM424 - RM979 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlewood Castle Hotel Hazlewood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Halifax, United Kingdom
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
4 days ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the Elderflower room.”
 of 5 bubbles ColinT860, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I would imagine all rooms are of the same quality.”
 of 5 bubbles MaryT550, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs in the main castle are very traditional. St Leonards rooms are smaller but very modern. Courtyard rooms again more traditional.”
 of 5 bubbles alitoon, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try and choose a room with photos showing the actual bathrooms rather than using the hotels exaggerated descriptions”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay”
 of 5 bubbles jeffp589, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay