We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers

PO Box 330, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Save
Best prices for your stay
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room
  • 1 room
    2 adults
    • 2 adults
      0 children
      • 0 children
        Traveller (13)
        Room & Suite (9)
        Hotel & Grounds (7)
        Overview
        • Excellent33%
        • Very good32%
        • Average19%
        • Poor12%
        • Terrible1%
        Travellers talk about
        “goat” (6 reviews)
        “one night” (5 reviews)
        “mid january” (2 reviews)
        Free Parking
        Pool
        Restaurant
        Family Rooms
        Bar/Lounge
        Kitchenette
        Pets Allowed
        All hotel details
        {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
        Traveller rating
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        Language
        Reviewed 2 April 2017

        We visited Kenton-on-Sea for the first time ever and booked at Woodlands for our anniversary. Although the bush cabins are really ideal for a romantic weekend away from the hustle-and-bustle, they are definitely more rustic than one would expect from the photo's and not as...More

        Review collected in partnership with this hotel
        Helpful?
        Reviewed 20 March 2017

        O where to begin. My husband booked this accommodation based on photo’s looking decent. Please see attached photo’s of how it really looks and I don’t even need to say anything further. I would not complain if the price was more realistic Not R475 p.p.p.n....More

        Helpful?
        Reviewed 14 March 2017

        Poor accommodation for a couple - especially one not young or backpacking. Had asked for twin beds - got an old small double - terrible mattress on bed and, frankly, just rather tatty in every respect. Manager was friendly and understanding when we cancelled our...More

        Review collected in partnership with this hotel
        Helpful?
        Response from WoodlandsCottages, Owner at Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers

        Dear Elderly Couple I am not sure of what your booking requirements were and apologize for not having followed through with this, and not having you in separate beds. We pride ourselves at Woodlands for being a special place of comfortable and loving surrounds. We...More

        Reviewed 5 February 2017

        Stayed 5 nights in Bush Cottage. Clean, well-equipped and private, with lovely outdoor bath. Heard and saw beautiful birds. Enjoyed braais at the cottage, and also meals at The Goat Shed. Staff efficient and friendly

        Review collected in partnership with this hotel
        Helpful?
        Response from WoodlandsCottages, Owner at Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers

        Dear Phil and Sue Woodlands is for you! It's your space and vibe. This is real eastern cape coastal bush, and the birds revel in it.Thank you for the great review. Please keep intouch. Kind regards, allen

        Reviewed 15 January 2017

        I stayed in Ngwenya. It is very run-down. It hasn't been painted in years, the bathroom is very old, the window latches are broken, the linen is very old. I love the location and the feeling of familyMore

        Review collected in partnership with this hotel
        Helpful?
        Response from WoodlandsCottages, Owner at Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers

        Dear Graceb529 Really sorry about that, we had such a rush of people at the beginning of the season we missed the gap to repaint the bathroom. If we had known your unhappiness during your stay, we would have made a quick plan for you....More

        About
        Awards & Recognition
        Certificate of Excellence
        Amenities
        • Top amenities
        • Pool
        • Free Parking
        • Bar/Lounge
        • Restaurant
        • Hotel Amenities
        • Free Parking
        • Room amenities
        • Microwave
        • Refrigerator in room
        • Things to do
        • Pool
        • Bar/Lounge
        • Restaurant
        Details
        • Room types
        • Kitchenette ,
        • Family Rooms
        • Number of rooms
        • 10
        • Location
        • South Africa >
        • Eastern Cape >
        • Greater Addo >
        • Kenton-on-Sea
        Add Photo Photos
        Traveller (13)
        Room & Suite (9)
        Hotel & Grounds (7)
        Bathroom (5)
        Questions & AnswersAsk a question
        Poppit2014
        I do know it well and find the reviews very helpful as I can then refer Woodlands to people who like this kind of relaxed and friendly place to stay, especially if they have pets. So glad they are getting good reviews as they work hard for it!
        29 April 2015|
        What is your answer?
        Posting guidelines
        Submit
        Room Tips
        "We stayed in the "Boma" cottage. There is a quaint path leading to the cute cottage, which has a..."
        Read review
        "All chalets are very good and well disguised in the surounding bush/vegetation"
        Read review
        "Ask for a cottage"
        Read review
        "The area by cottages is a bit overgrown; lots of spiders and wasps building or having nests."
        Read review
        Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
        Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing