We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mfangano Island Camp

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mfangano Island
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Mfangano Island Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 31: English reviews
Start your review of Mfangano Island Camp
 Click to rate
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Unfortunately, we had only 24 hours at this gorgeous location. There were four of us, and we stayed in a "cottage" with two bedrooms and a lovely living area which looked out on to the lake. The staff set up dinner for us on our private deck, and it was a magical evening. We had three meals during our 24...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karin K
Musiara, Manager at Mfangano Island Camp, responded to this review

Dear Karin, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us and that you would definitely recommend it to others. Miles is fantastic and we are so glad you had some time to hear all his stories...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 7 January 2016

A beautiful place on the island we were very luck to visit for 2 nights in December. Moses and his team are wonderful hosts. Our room was amazing. Food is delicious and the proposed excursions/activities were all a success. Fishing trip incl. bird watching is a MUST but also please do not forget the walk to the little fishermen village...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzannea971
Musiara, Manager at Mfangano Island Camp, responded to this review

Dear Suzannea, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us and that you were able to visit all 3 locations of ours, Mfangano is really special and we are so glad you got to experience that....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2014

We spent 2 nights here after spending 5 days on safari at Governors, so delighted our agent at Kuoni suggested this beautiful place. Fabulous trip from the Mara in a six seater plane and then by boat to the island. We were the only couple staying so were given the honeymoon suite which was out of this world. The view...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mark W
Musiara, Manager at Mfangano Island Camp, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us and that you had such a special time. We have passed your feedback onto Tom and the team who will very much appreciate your raving review....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This was the ultimate of our stay with the Governor's camp group. The location is breathtaking, never seen anything like it before despite my extensive traveling. Our cottage was nestled at the bottom of the mountain right into the lake. We used to wake up to bird song and soothing sound of the waves. We used to go to bed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SHERMINE54
Musiara, Manager at Mfangano Island Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Mfangano Island Camp, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again one day.

Suffolk, England
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We enjoyed stays at three Governor’s Lodges in Kenya and are very happy to review all of them individually, but at the outset would like to compliment the owners on three very different settings and styles. All shared in common the wonderful staff, magnificent settings, and excellent food. After our flight from the Mara, and then a half hour boat...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GeorgeMaybury
Musiara, Manager at Mfangano Island Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. Thank you again we have passed your comments onto the rest of the team and we look forward to seeing you back again soon. Best wishes, The Mfangano...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2013

After Loldia House and Little Governors, (our second visit to both and both part of the governors' Camp Group) we had three nights at the Mfangano Island Camp which we had not visited before. This is, in our view, a much better option than the hot and humid, touristy beach resorts around Mombasa with which to end a safari. Peter...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dmilner
Musiara, Manager at Mfangano Island Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. Thank you again we have passed your comments onto the rest of the team and we look forward to seeing you back again soon. Best wishes, The Mfangano...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at Mfangano for 3 nights after six at Little Governors - a perfect end to our lovely safari holiday. We can't recommend Mfangano enough.. its a beautiful serene and magical location made special with the outstanding hospitality from Peter and his team. The boat trips and fishing on the lake are very enjoyable - we caught Nile Perch,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank desousa58
Musiara, Manager at Mfangano Island Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. Thank you again we have passed your comments onto the rest of the team and we look forward to seeing you back again soon. Best wishes, The Mfangano...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed for three nights on Mfangano, after four at Little Governors - it was our honeymoon. Everything about the camp was perfect, from the location to the fabulous food and service. Peter and his team couldn't have made us more welcome, and we'll especially remember Michael who's knowledge of the local birdlife - shared on three boat trips with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Taj54
Musiara, Manager at Mfangano Island Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. Thank you again we have passed your comments onto the rest of the team and we look forward to seeing you back again soon. Best wishes, The Mfangano...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is one of the best secrets about Kenya. My husband and I visited Mfangano Island on our honeymoon in December 2012 and stayed for four nights. Our trip had previously included a stay at Little Governors Camp in the Masai Mara, and Loldia House, in Lake Naivasha. At Mfangano, we stayed in the honeymooner's cottage at the edge of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dalF_13
Musiara, Manager at Mfangano Island Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. Thank you again we have passed your comments onto the rest of the team and we look forward to seeing you back again soon. Best wishes, The Mfangano...

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Our pilot, Phillip, from the Maasai MaraGovernors' Camp gave us a wonderful flight to the island in the 5-seater plane, with commentary over the breathtaking sceneray. The island was an African paradise, private and secluded with stunning views and luxrious accomodation in a "rondavel" on the lake. Fabulous meals outside by the jetty, including our own catch of the day!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucy S
Musiara, Manager at Mfangano Island Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. Thank you again we have passed your comments onto the rest of the team and we look forward to seeing you back again soon. Best wishes, The Mfangano...

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge

Additional Information about Mfangano Island Camp

Address: Lake Victoria, Mfangano Island, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nyanza Province > Mfangano Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Mfangano Island Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mfangano Island Camp staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mfangano Island Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Honeymoon suite or cottage number 6 are the best.”
  • This is the view from cottage number 6.
dmilner, 21 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Each of the cottages has been designed individually.. Cottage 1 ( the honeymoon suite) and Cottage 6 are particularly special”
desousa58, 31 Aug 2013 | Read review
“If it's available, ask for the honeymooner's suite.”
dalF_13, 10 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Ask for the Honeymoon Suite. It was reportedly built for the Prince and Princess Michael of Kent.”
BrisbaneRob, 15 Jan 2013 | Read review
“All accommodation is well placed to overlook Lake Victoria”
wendylayzell, 30 Sep 2012 | Read review
5 of 5