We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Big Meadows Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Big Meadows Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,084 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Big Meadows Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,057: English reviews
Rochester, United States
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Being in a National Park is always a good thing. Met my daughter and son-in-law from Washington DC since it was a convenient location for them. The rooms were very big and it was very nice to be able to have 2 bedrooms with a Jack and Jill bathroom. The furnishings are dated and could use some upgrading. Our bedspread...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William F
Walter K, General Manager at Big Meadows Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us at Big Meadows Lodge. We are truly appreciative of your feedback and comments. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our room and your stay with us. We will definitely check and replace the bedspread. Please come back and see us again very soon

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 2 October 2015

We went on this trip for fall colors and beautiful scenery but were met by Tropical Storm Joaquin, rain and dense fog! Unfortunate, but the setting at Big Meadows was still wonderful. Will try again and hope for better weather! The Dining Room food was delicious!! Warning, we found the pillows and mattress in our cabin to be very uncomfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne P
Walter K, General Manager at Big Meadows Lodge, responded to this review

Hello JeanneP Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us at Big Meadows Lodge. Tropical Storm Joaquin definitely blanketed this area with fog and rain, 16” in a 10 day period. We are truly appreciative of your feedback and comments. We will take a look at the pillows and replace all our box springs and mattress before...

Narragansett, Rhode Island
Reviewed 1 October 2015 via mobile

I must say that the folks working at the lodge are the best---hands down! We received great service and felt very welcomed! The main building is rustic, charming and in great shape considering it is an older building. We stayed in a preferred room. It was clean and had a TV with limited viewing. The decor needs to be updated....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michelewave04
Walter K, General Manager at Big Meadows Lodge, responded to this review

Hello michelewave04 Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us at Big Meadows Lodge. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay. Our rooms do need some help and a plan is in place to help bring the standards up to where they need to be. I’m happy to hear you were...

Leominster, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 October 2015

We stayed at Big Meadow Lodge while visiting Shenandoah National Park. For the most part our experience was enjoyable. The lodge is located perfectly for a two day visit to the park. We saw deer both coming and leaving the lodge. I’m sure the view from the lodge is excellent; however, we arrived in the pouring rain and were unable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdavi
Walter K, General Manager at Big Meadows Lodge, responded to this review

Hello sdavi Thank you for your positive review and choosing to stay with us at Big Meadows Lodge. We are very pleased to hear that your stay at Shenandoah National Park was enjoyable, and that your room was clean and comfortable. I apologize for the poor picnic we provided for you. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope...

Nottingham, Maryland
Reviewed 29 September 2015

We arrived after 20 miles of mountain "crawling" through rain and dense fog in the dark of night. Not only was the lodge warm and cozy looking the staff were equally accommodating. Our stay was great and the lodge will become a stop on our way to parts and adventures unknown. ~Dan

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
Walter K, General Manager at Big Meadows Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Dan S Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us at Big Meadows Lodge. We are truly appreciative of your feedback and comments. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our room and your stay with us. Please come back and see us again very soon

London
Reviewed 29 September 2015

My wife and I stayed in one of the oldest cabins dating from when the lodge was first built. It is showing it's age certainly, but that is all part of the charm. It was quite clean and everything worked, but the double bed was small and wouldn't suit everyone. Breakfast was good, dinner was OK, but some of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Newburyboy
Walter K, General Manager at Big Meadows Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you had a good stay and enjoyed the beautiful area. We have made note of your comments regarding the restaurant service. We will see where we can work with our staff to make valuable improvements. Coming face to face with a bear will...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Although I had reserved a standard room with 2 queen beds. we were given an ADA king room (Room 95), so I assume our room was more spacious than a standard room would be. We were quite pleased with the room - could tell that it had been renovated within the past year or two, very clean, very firm mattress....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MamaGrumpy
Walter K, General Manager at Big Meadows Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us at Big Meadows Lodge. We are truly appreciative of your feedback and comments. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on to the kitchen staff that the food was enjoyable, especially the butternut squash. Unfortunately the start of October has...

Philadelphia
Reviewed 29 September 2015

I loved our stay at Big Meadow. We had a preferred room overlooking the valley. No it's not the Hilton but it is warm, cozy and comfortable. The scenery is absolutely gorgeous, the ambience incredible especially if you love the outdoors. The food in the dining room is wonderful and I thought extremely reasonable. I wish we had more time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janlud
Walter K, General Manager at Big Meadows Lodge, responded to this review

Hello janlud Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at Big Meadows Lodge. We are truly appreciative of your feedback and comments. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Big Meadows Lodge and to Shenandoah National Park. You are correct that the scenery is gorgeous and the ambience is incredible. We...

Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

Went to celebrate husband's 60th. I understand that at $165 you are paying for the view but considering we were fogged in there wasn't much viewing going on except at the condition of the room. The carpet was not cleaned, spider in my shower, rusted door bathroom door knob but the worst was the termite fresh shavings in the bathroom!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fourbufs
Walter K, General Manager at Big Meadows Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Fourbufs Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate your feedback. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. I have taken your comments to our staff for discussion. The reply you received in the dining room was unacceptable. We have taken your review to our wait staff and shared it with...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Big Meadows is an excellent place to stay when traversing the Skyline Drive. The rooms are a bit "retro" as is the style of the lodges but the beds are soft and the food is excellent if a bit heavy. I have stayed three times and recommend the cabins and the lodge rooms that ARE NOT ABOVE THE KITCHEN unless...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank srbphoto
Walter K, General Manager at Big Meadows Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us at Big Meadows Lodge. We are truly appreciative of your feedback and comments. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our room and our food. The kitchen does start early and end late, and the banging of pots and pans can get loud at times, and I...

474 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (462)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (226)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
15.2 km away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
935 reviews
15.3 km away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
31 reviews
15.4 km away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
38.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
15.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Big Meadows Lodge

Address: Mile 51.2, Skyline Dr, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22849
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Price Range: RM629 - RM907 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Meadows Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Big Meadows Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Meadows Hotel Shenandoah National Park
Big Meadows Virginia
Big Meadow Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge Virginia
Big Meadows Shenandoah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Big Meadows Lodge staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Big Meadows Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms in the lodge have best views, but the cabins are closer to the wildlife”
thesticks, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Hawksbill is across the parking lot from lodge/restaurant. It's not a far walk but not easily accessible for those with mobility issues.”
CarolineJones531, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Topmost floor of the lodge looks the best. If you are "below," you will hear every footstep. Pick a terrace room with a view.”
mabill0n, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A fireplace might be preferable, but as we had our dog along, fireplace & dog don't mix.”
williammA643BL, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on back side of Lodge have best views. Patio rooms are great.”
rouselbj, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5