We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Kings Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Kings Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Kings Arms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 208: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Very nice pub, good atmosphere in the front part of the pub. Pleasing and tempting menu. I had a very good roast beef and children both had a creamy chicken and mushroom pasta. Children both disappointed with the pasta which was dull and not what they expected. Worst of all was the service. Served by a young girl who did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff174
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

We do apologies that you weren't satisfied with the level of service you received from us for Sunday lunch. We strive for a higher level of service, including silver service where you would have the waitress serve you the horseradish sauce, instead of leaving it on the table for you to serve yourself, or just thrusting it before you, for...

Honiton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2016

We were a group of eight and all loved their starters. The mains were good but the general view was that the sauces/gravies and jus were not quite of the same standard. For example the asiastic pork had a hint too much soy in it, the hake was slightly overpowered by the sauce and duck just slightly overpowered in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CustomerConsultant
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments. We are always striving for perfection so your feed back is most useful. All of our sauces and stock are made fresh in house, and are individual to each dish on the menu. I hope we can welcome you back to The Kings Arms soon

Kingsclere, Hampshire
Reviewed 10 February 2016

This is the second time that we have hosted our family and friends for a celebration lunch after a confirmation in Sherborne Abbey. Both times the Kings Arms have produced a delicious lunch , at a very busy time which our guests have thoroughly enjoyed. It was organised so well in advance and all ran so smoothly on both days....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melprater
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to host the confirmation lunches. We look forward to welcome you and your family back to The Kings Arms in the near future.

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2016

To mark my goddaughter's confirmation we had a celebratory lunch at The Kings Arms. The restaurant was incredibly busy but we were looked after and the service was prompt and friendly. We had a quasi fixed menu (given the number of people involved that made a lot of sense) but there was enough choice to suit everybody and each option...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew050665
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hello, many thanks for your review. I am glad you all enjoyed your lunch, and congratulations to your goddaughter on her confirmation. Regards, The Kings Arms Team

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2016

Over the last couple of years, the Kings Arms has proved to be a very reliable refuge with the valuable assurance of good food and service, most recently shortly before Christmas 2015. It is well organised, the menu is traditional in style, but with some interesting twists, and meals are both well prepared and well served. Most recently we enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scliff68
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi 'scliff68' I'm glad you enjoyed your lunch once again, and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Many thanks for the review The Kings Arms Team

Somerset
Reviewed 16 January 2016

We stopped off at 2pm today (Saturday) by chance ... and what a nice surprise. I'd heard it had undergone a big renovation project and what I saw of the pub didn't disappoint. Its main bar and eating area is large, spacious and very well presented with a log burner going which was welcome. Think flagstones and pale Farrow &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank somersetsunlover
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi 'somersetsunlover' We are really pleased you enjoyed your lunch on Saturday, and thank you for your review. We all look forward to welcome you back to The Kings Arms in the near future. Best regards, The Kings Arms Team

Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Sometimes a recommendation fails to live up to expectations. This one exceed our expectations. We were recommended to try the Kings Arms for Lunch and it was just great.. The manager and staff were first class. Warm welcome, Friendly, Attentive etc. King pawns were presented well and tasted even better. Kedgeree was superb! House wine was quality We will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trevor1905
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi ' trevor1905' Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your lunch last week. We look forward to welcome you back to The kings Arms in the near future. Warm regards, The Kings Arms Team

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Enjoyed 2 nights at this lovely Hotel. Super location, in a pretty, quiet and historic village but still handy for all local attractions. Room was very nice, with really comfy bed, fluffy towels and lots of nice little touches. The restaurant was outstanding and good value too. We had 2 dinners and 2 super breakfasts. The staff are well-trained, cheerful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
Bracknell
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Stayed one night in this delightful hotel. Amazing to find such a lovely place in rural location. Very good bedroom with en suite.Whole building has been given a very thorough make-over. Excellent dinner and breakfast and very warm reception from gentleman owner. Would be very happy to return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rjg4321
Birchington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

Typically we had failed to book a table for dinner on a Saturday night whilst we were staying in Sherbourne but this accommodating establishment came to our rescue and managed to book us in for dinner. We were not disappointed. The atmosphere was freind,y, the bar staff and waiting staff were great, food was excellent and the price was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave J

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Horethorne
5.9 km away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
583 reviews
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
31.4 km away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
213 reviews
7.0 km away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
650 reviews
9.5 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kings Arms, with its original facade, stylishly chic interior, picturesque garden and beautiful bedrooms is the ideal venue for both social and business alike. Situated in the pretty village of Charlton Horethorne, near Sherborne close to the Somerset and Dorset border, this 5 star Inn has been totally renovated and restored by its owners, Sarah and Tony Lethbridge, and now offers a chic Dorset Country Pub and Hotel with 10 luxury en-suite bedrooms, a modern restaurant, bar and terrace area and staff ready to offer you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: North Street, Charlton Horethorne DT9 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Charlton Horethorne
Price Range: RM536 - RM798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kings Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Charlton Horethorne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Arms staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 7 was fine and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 296laurenceh, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay in the hotel, ate in restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles teresaa219, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Had the room overlooking the front of the hotel which is on the main road, but traffic noise was not a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles Guitartech, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the side and rear have the better outlooks.”
 of 5 bubbles 667viviennec, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The room we had (number 1) had great views but was a little noisy but not obtrusive”
 of 5 bubbles chemics27, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5