We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Frogwell

Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Management photos
Frogwell
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Frogwell
See the most recent reviews
Showing 70: English reviews
Binsted, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We booked late for 2 nights and were really lucky to get a cancellation. Location is great if you want to visit Dartmouth, which is a short drive or bus ride away. Derek and Linda were lovely hosts, with fresh coffee offered in their beautiful garden on arrival. The optional breakfast was excellent. Access from garden to SW Coast path...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andyf101
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Accommodation excellent, breakfast first class, area lovely. Hosts Derek and Linda very nice and friendly. Could not have asked for more. Would definitely stay there again. Grounds were beautiful. Dartmouth is close by with lots to offer. We did a boat trip up the river Dart.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeanF1203
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2015

A last minute mid week break in Devon. Service was excellent. Offer of breakfast was taken up on two of the mornings and proved to be outstanding. Choice was excellent with a freshly made good olde full English `fry up`. We didn't need to eat the rest of the day. Room was compact but immaculate. Situated in between Dartmouth and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rollo3778
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

The studio flat we stayed in was excellent, exceptionally clean and and beautifully decorated and had a view from the balcony to die for. We could not fault the accommodation or the welcome we received at all. We would certainly return when we are next in the area

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill T
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2015

Stayed in the Garden Room which was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. There were lovely views over open fields to the sea. Derek & Linda were the perfect hosts. Book with confidence. We would definitely return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Polly C
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Delightful stay in everyway. Very clean , comfortable , well equipped , tasteful, and a lovely welcome. Good position for exploring South Hams , coastal walk . Owners have lots of good friendly advice

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank susielou2015
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Clean tidy and great view over the fields and coast. Apartment snug but plenty of storage and a small balcony to have breakfast if weather is good. My only complaint is that the bed was quite small so we had to sleep top and toe. Be careful pulling or reversing out the location is on a hazardous bend in the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
frogwell12, Owner at Frogwell, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast on and the views from the balcony. However we are very sorry to hear you had a problem sleeping in the bed. The bed is described on our web/booking site as a double which means that the mattress is a standard double UK size i.e. 4 ft...

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

The location is idyllic,the owners felt like friends. The Garden room was so comfortable sweet and immaculate.Breakfast delicious, defiantly revisit. 15 min walk on coast path to great beach. 5 min walk to Laughing Monk Restaurant.(superb food).

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sijo2015
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

We recently stayed in the studio self catering apartment and it was everything we had wished for. Clean and modern, bathrobes to relax in and it even had a balcony where we ate our breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and walks to the nearby beaches, would certainly recommend to others and will definitely be returning

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne H
ANDOVER
Reviewed 24 June 2015

We recently spent a few days near Dartmouth in Devon at a fantastic cottage called Frogwell. Our hosts Linda and Derek couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating and their wealth of local knowledge was invaluable. Their cottage and rooms were exquisite and the gardens delightful. We will be returning for a longer stay in the future and would fully...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulp2475

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strete
5.4 km away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
291 reviews
5.5 km away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
934 reviews
6.1 km away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
177 reviews
6.1 km away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.3 km away
Strete Barton House
Strete Barton House
#1 of 3 in Strete
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Frogwell self catering accommodationis situated approximately 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of Dartmouth, Devon and is one of the oldest houses in Strete dating back to the 16th century. It is within walking distance of the famous award winning Blackpool Sands beach . We are ideally placed to explore many of the fabulous local attractions The Self Catering Studio is a luxury and superbly appointed large private studio with panoramic views over the beautiful local Devon coastline. Situated separate to the main house with its own access and parking this is a spacious, light, airy, vaulted, centrally heated room with its own private en-suite facilities including balcony and patio. The kitchen contains a oven/grill, ceramic hobs and large fridge with freezer compartment This studio is very well suited to couples seeking some privacy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Frogwell

Address: Frogwell Frogwell, Strete, Dartmouth TQ6 0RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Strete
Price Range: RM461 - RM500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frogwell 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Frogwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Frogwell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room with kitchenette above the garage has an amazing view!”
chlandm, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Studio is self-catering but also set apart from the main house - great for those going about their own plans!”
SamPhripp, 1 Nov 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are situated off the garden, two form part of the main cottage but both have their own private door and the studio is situated across the garden as part of the garage annexe with its own private stairs up to the front door.”
TonySallyN, 27 Aug 2013 | Read review
“The Studio room is on its own and therefore very quiet and private.”
JackyC8, 17 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Studio is raised above a detached garage giving better views of the sea through the patio windows and that additional privacy. But I bet you can't go wrong.”
NKGofHOT, 28 Oct 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Expedia.com
* /night
View Deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Toprooms.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates