We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Palm Grove

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Palm Grove
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

528 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Palm Grove
See the most recent reviews
Showing 481: English reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have just returned from 7 days at Palm Grove and we had a brilliant time. The resort is located on what must be the best beach in Rarotonga -it is pristine with few people on the beach. The staff couldn't have been more helpful in settling us in (14 of us) and getting us set up with car and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happynzers
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We only spent one night at the Palm Grove and were quite disappointed. Admittedly, we arrived on Good Friday (a holiday) but the reception was closed and the other staff were not helpful or welcoming. They couldn't assist with getting us enough towels or phone service or a quieter bungalow. Then at 4pm, the happy hour at the bar began....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nitpicker101
PalmGrove, Owner at Palm Grove, responded to this review

Kia Orana nitpicker101, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Palm Grove. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your bungalow and especially our premium mattresses! But I’m sorry that you were disappointed with your 1 night stay and I’d like to take this opportunity to respond to your comments. I’m sorry that you were unhappy...

Reviewed 4 April 2013

Thank you to everyone at Palm Grove for making our stay magical, especially Joanne for organising all the details for our wedding so we didn't have to think about a thing and we could just sit back and relax for the week before it. Our room on the beach B1 was just perfect....our little piece of paradise with the water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathyalder
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We spent 7 days at the Palm Grove (our first visit to Rarotonga). We had a Matenga bungalow, which are set a bit off to the west of the resort which is great as they have their own beach front which was extremely quiet. We did spent one day in the regular beach front bungalows and they have spectacular beach...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Brian M
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 3 April 2013

It was our first time in the Cook Islands and Palm Grove was a perfect place to be introduced to the hospitality and cultural experiences of Rarotonga. The hospitality, the food, the accommodation, the service, the really personable staff, ... All were really wonderful. There were several "little touches" that made it a special time for us - Joanne's very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RonM669
Port Stephens, Australia
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Palm Grove Resort Rarotonga in the Cook Islands would be one of the best locations on Rarotonga. The bungalow we had on the beach was fantastic, amazing sunsets, friendly locals and staff. Plenty to see and do. Just 5000klm from Sydney, 6 hour flight with Air New Zealand who do 2 flights direct to the cook islands, Fri and Sat....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank glenn_thorley
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We have just returned from our 3rd stay at Palm Grove (4th to 14th March) and we would never consider staying anywhere elseon the island. The resort is gorgeous and would definately recommend staying in the beach front bungalows as they have the perfect view and are so private. Also the way they are decorated with the wall coverings makes...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah B
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Our second trip to Rarotonga on Feb 2013 couldn't be dampened by the jaded and less than enthusiastic management and staff at Palm Grove. We travelled with our family to Rarotonga the week prior and stayed at Natura, a beautiful holiday house next door to Palm Grove. After the family left, we rolled our bags a couple of houses down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
PalmGrove, Owner at Palm Grove, responded to this review

Kia Orana Victoria, Thanks so much for taking the time to post your second review of Palm Grove! We’re so pleased you again loved our location on one of the absolute best beaches on Rarotonga. But I am very sorry to hear that your second stay with us was not as enjoyable as your first. I'd like to take this...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed for 8 days over Christmas. Bungalow right on the beach and was probably the premier location on Raratonga. Fantastic beach and snorkelling right at your back door. Not the best appointed resort but just perfect in so many ways. Easy, simple relaxing living. Hibiscus Restaurant on site, with pool and best of all scooters to hire and see...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cookster56
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Palm Grove is like a holiday home rental except someone else makes the bed and gives you clean towels every day! It is by no means a luxury resort but that makes it super relaxing. No need to worry about sandy feet in the room, dressing up or putting cups down on the furniture. Just fling on your cossie in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank nora s

455 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (447)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
View from Room (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (99)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
1:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (133)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaimaanga
5.3 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
6.1 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.0 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
7.0 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
3.0 km away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the enchanting area of Vaimaanga on the stunning southern coast, Palm Grove enjoys the tranquility of one of the best locations on Rarotonga. 26 individual bungalows are scattered over 5 acres of landscaped beachfront and garden property. Bungalows are available in studio to 3-bedroom layout and feature kingsize beds, kitchen facilities, aircon, flatscreen TV, and private patio/balcony. Property amenities include our onsite restaurant and bar, swimming pool, guest BBQ, laundry facility, tour desk, and motorbike rentals. All guests receive complimentary daily tropical breakfast buffet and use of kayaks, snorkel equipment, beach chairs and beach towels. Welcome to Palm Grove, your private piece of paradise! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Palm Grove

Address: P.O. Box 23, Vaimaanga, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Vaimaanga
Price Range: RM652 - RM1,141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palm Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Grove Hotel Vaimaanga
Palm Grove Rarotonga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Palm Grove staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Palm Grove staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beach houses or beachfront however pool area bungalows excellent value and really close to beach”
Barb15, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Although the bungalows are not "ocean view" they are the "best"!”
AudreyK469, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best Value - Garden Studio Best View - Beachfront Studio Best for Families - 1 Bedroom Studio or 3 Bedroom Villa”
GinnyK350, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Chalet 5 - perfect distance from road noise!!!!!!!! There really is none though”
nikkib5050, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beachfront B2”
348gails, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5